We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Into the wild! Or in a movie...”
Review of Denali Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Denali Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Healy
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

It's more a motel than a hotel, because you can park your car in front of your room. The reception is situated in a hold train wagon. The room was clean and spacious, the receptionist was very kind giving good and appropriate information (we asked a lot of questions).

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Lenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Staff was very pleasant. Room was clean and comfortable but clearly a budget hotel - nothing fancy. I appreciated that the refrigerator and microwave were unplugged with signs clearly indicating that they could be plugged in if we wanted to use the equipment...but otherwise they were unplugged to save electricity. The main negative was the visible gap around the door; in colder weather, the room would have been uncomfortable OR lots of energy would be used trying to keep it warm! Also, wifi did not work well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CindyC8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This motel is just a landmark of its own. The reception is literally a train carriage, one of those used during the war bearing the same colors , blue and yellow and the big Alaska sign on it.
It is located 11 miles north of Denali Park on the Parks Highway and very close to the small city of Healy! It is literally into the wild nature. The apartment is equipped with a fridge, kitchen and microwave. The interiors are dated and old style but they perfectly convey the genuine atmosphere of the place.
Since it is a motel , you can park your car right in front of your door. Convenient and good value for money

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LellaSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We visited Denali NP in the first week of July 2014. It was one of the cheapest options we found. we stayed for 3 nights. Room was comfortable, clean and big with 2 queen beds. We stayed couple of building away from the office area, so wifi signal was not good enough but the network coverage was good. It was just 10 miles from the park entrance and quite a few eating options between the park entrance and hotel. It was comfortable for a place to rest before heading into the park. The front desk people were friendly and helped us when there was some problem with our online reservation and made sure our reservation was confirmed for the dates we'd selected.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ms_b183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

So glad that we chose to stay in this place! Very pleasantly surprised at the spacious and freshly clean accommodations. We appreciated the locale away from the "touristy" commercialism close to the park''s entrance. The vistas of the mountains and the deep gorge of the Nanana was amazing. The peace of staying here was worth the drive in to the park. Breakfast and snack items for purchase and to take to room were available in the Train Car "office". We would stay here again! Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Scheduled a last minute stop in Denali during a business/pleasure trip to Alaska and this was only room available that wasn't insanely expensive. So glad we found this place! Only 10 miles from park entrance (although bridge construction with one lane roads made it slower) and away from the crowds and commercialism outside the park. Old buildings that were originally owned by National Park Service. Nothing fancy but clean and quite comfortable with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Motel style with parking right outside the room door. Ice, water and snacks in Alaska Railroad car office. Will definitely stay here again when we return to Denali..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 281susans71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Room was clean, check in was easy and location was great. If your looking for a place to just crash this would be a great choice. Especially compared to the large lodges in town. Staff was very friendly and room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SarahDetruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
8.2 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
596 reviews
7.6 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,116 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
20.4 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
689 reviews
4.6 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Park Hotel

Address: Mile Marker 247 Parks Highway, at Otto Lake Rd. 10 miles N of Denali Nat. Park, Healy, AK 99743
Region: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Healy
Price Range: £92 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Denali Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Denali Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Denali Park
Denali Park Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing