We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and get away from the tourists at the park!”
Review of White Moose Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Moose Lodge
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and get away from the tourists at the park!”
Reviewed 30 September 2008

We stayed in mid-August for one night to stage for an extended backcountry trip into Denali NP. We found the White Moose on-line and figured it would be worth driving an extra ten miles to Healy to save lots of money. We were right. Healy is a lovely, if lonely little community beyond the hustle and bustle and grab every dollar "community" that exists just outside the national park. We paid less than $100 dollars to stay here for a night at a time when rooms outside the park were going for much more than that. Well worth the extra few miles drive. Moreover, the place is lovely. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable, the shower and bath much appreciated after a long flight to Anchorage and a longer drive north to Healy.

Breakfast is what is it is, some cold pastries and hot coffee. Remember where you are, far from grocery stores, in the middle of the biggest state in America, and in the midst of terrific beauty. No complaints. We'd go back in a heartbeat and really liked the White Moose Lodge.

  • Liked — Great deal not far from Denali National Park
  • Disliked — We mever saw the white moose!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mypeeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    54
    24
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
38
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Best deal in the area. The walls were a little thin for inconsiderate people talking at midnight outside. But if you're just sleeping there and grabbing the free breakfast before your daily outing/adventure it's fine.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 4family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Plaines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

The cheapest place in area.Absolutely worth a price /$ 75.00 in September/.Very clean ,nice view,very friendly staff.The heating worked very well in a room and a bathroom ,the same with satellite TV, even excess to Internet ..It was a nicer place with $10 tables and better lamps /sic! / but cost twice more.So I was happy to stay in this one.
I recommend it to every one who comes for an area activities . .

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank danusiaDesPlaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
appleton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2008

If your looking for a clean, quiet place to sleep this is it. Very friendly staff. Awesome cafe' nearby.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank tdogg54136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harbor gateway, ca
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2008

Good place nice view great people.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank barbaraovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
decatur, tx
Level Contributor
177 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2007

Very plain, cheap and quiet, last week of season. This "is"
Alaska of course. Coffee was fair and the danish needed to be microwaved first, (still a bit cold from the freezer) The owner waspleasant, the girl who cleans rooms also is on wait staff at the local (best) cafe. Was OK for the price.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank jojogo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2007

Not the best we've stayed in. It was billed as "The White Moose Bed & Breakfast" which is close to false advertising. Yes, there was a bed, but the "breakfast" was little more than really horrible (and weak) coffee and danishes that had been thawed the night before from Sam's Club. And the sign by the box? "Please only take one per person."

The only think this place had going for itself was the location and the price. Yes, you get what you pay for and given that it was about $40/night less than the nice lodge nearer the national park, I guess it wasn't a total loss.

Like other reports, we had very limited TV reception . . . I think like CBS or ABC, but not both.

  • Liked — Location and cheap price
  • Disliked — The cheap "breakfast" and lousey TV reception
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeshareVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
0.8 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
350 reviews
8.9 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
505 reviews
8.3 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
715 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
4.7 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Moose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Moose Lodge

Property: White Moose Lodge
Address: Mile 248 Parks Hwy, Box 68, Healy, AK 99743
Region: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated best value in-area. We are located 11 miles North of the Denali National Park entrance, in Healy. Our rooms have a wilderness view of Mt. Healy and spruce forest. All rooms have 2 double beds, full bath, free satellite TV, coffee maker and free high speed Wi-Fi. Our cozy, family-style lodge is worlds away from the congested Park entrance. All rooms are ground level and are clean, quiet and comfortable. $95 - $115 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Moose Hotel Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing