We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everybody loved Ted”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aspen Haus Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Healy
Certificate of Excellence
Ct
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Everybody loved Ted”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Ann Marie was under the weather so Ted was the boss. He gave us great information on Denali....told us about the 49th State restaurant {where I had the Tabletop, possibly the best burger in the world }..he even baked the scones! Our family stayed in the Adler cabin, which had ample room and was a great place to end the day and watch a classic movie from the in cabin collection. We even saw a moose fifty feet from the front door at dusk the second night there! A great base for all Denali adventures. There is laundry facilities available..$5 a load which includes soap and dryer sheet..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottECt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    31
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
59
73
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We only had about a week from the time we decided to visit Denali to our actual arrival, so we were very pleased when Ann-Marie told us she had the perfect cabin available for us. We didn't spend too much time at the cabin as we spent most of our time at the park; however the time we did spend at our cabin was wonderful. It was just what we needed and very well priced. The breakfast was wonderful and at the end of the day we had a wonderful bed and hot shower. Ann-Marie was so kind and had lots of wonderful tips about visiting the park. We have already recommended it to a friend of ours and we would love to stay there again if we come back to Denali. Overall, a wonderful find in the little town of Healy!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My father and I spent four nights at the Aspen Haus in July and had a great experience! Ann Marie was very helpful and even helped us to find a flightseeing trip that left out of the Healy area so we did not have to drive down to Talkeetna. She also helped us find the best restaurants in the area. The fresh-baked pastries were great! Our room was clean and comfortable and quiet. The only thing that surprised me was that the roads are all gravel, but Healy is a mining town and all the roads are like this. I want to come back soon and stay in a cabin next time. I'd recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Reserve early! We had a great room but I wish we had reserved while the cabins were still available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCal_Rider390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed in the Birch Cabin in August, 2011. The cabin is spacious and comfortable with one Queen sized bed and one Double Bed in a large communal area. It is solid & well built with an "in the woods" feel even though other cabins & the main house are nearby.
Birch cabin has beautiful log walls, a small kitchenette with full sized refrigerator, a small (4 cup) coffee pot & microwave. The kitchen is stocked with hot and cold instant breakfast cereals, coffee and tea, cream, milk, juice and Ann Marie's daily offering of two freshly made baked goods. Their flavor and quality is truly superb & she made something different each of the three days we were there. (For example, blueberry crumb cake made with the blueberries her children picked the day before.)
The cabin also has laminated sheets Ann Marie made up with information, directions to and reviews of local restaurants and attractions. The TV is tiny, but there is only 1 channel (hey - you're in the woods of Alaska!) so it doesn't really matter. There were a wide variety of DVD's provided to watch.
As others have said, Ann Marie herself is truly friendly & helpful even before you arrive. She emailed me information about the area, restaurants and Denali National Park when I made my reservations. From her info I realized I needed to make shuttle reservations at Denali in advance & was able to do so. When we arrived, she couldn't have been friendlier. I really had a great time visiting with her.
The property is well laid out with parking for each cabin labeled and close enough to walk down your own path without difficulty, but far enough that I never heard cars, car doors or other people.
We really enjoyed our stay at Aspen Haus & I can see how it maintains such a high rating on Trip Advisor. The breakfast is Continental & the only suggestion I could make to improve would be to add a hair dryer to the ammenities provided. I'm not sure why Tripadvisor classifies this as a hotel - to me it is more of a B & B with separate cabins. Overall, it was warm, comfortable and a bargain for the area.

Room Tip: Birch Cabin could sleep four. Ann Marie showed us another cabin that had two bedrooms for a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkdbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We are a family of three, with an 11 years old daughter. We have found that staying here was very satisfactory from start to finish. Ann Marie was very flexible and informative on the phone. We originally had more people but they later changed their mind. Cancellation was not a problem at all. She always returned the calls or email. Her instruction sheet was very helpful (has direction, where to get food etc).

Once we got there we were very impressed. This place is further away from the main traffic, on a dirt road (which we love- not that difficult to get to as it was only 0.5 mile dirt) and surrounded by the mountains. Our stuite was clean and comfortable. It was well equipped, just enough - not too much or too little. It has everything we need. I used the gally kitchen to prepare several meals and it worked well.

Her home baked goodies, as said in other reviews, were wonderful. We had it for breakfast, together with some friuts we bought, and had ahd enough left to bring on the hikes with us. She usualy gives two kinds, bread and other bakery (like scones, muffins etc). My daughter LOVED this part very much.

We walked around the small streets around the neighborhood and my husband went for a nice run every morning. People are very friendly.

Ann Marie is very friendly and we really enjoyed talking to her. If you are looking for 5 stars hotel, then look somewhere else. But if a simple,clean and charming place with a local feels suits you well, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluebear_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I don't have much more to add to the glowing recommendations of others except to say, that if you are a family of five, this is the perfect place to stay to visit Denali. It's perfect for others, too, it's just hard to find space for five sometimes. The family cabin has two bedrooms with a queen and then a double/2 twin room. Just right for us. Breakfast was delicious and ample,location very good, restaurant recommendations very good. Lovely family!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We really liked this place. It is much more than your regular B&B! You get a great guest house with comfort and privacy! The location is great: close enough to the Park and far from all the tourists. Breakfast is simple, but it was ok for us, we were on diet anyway.
The host is nice and friendly. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwithfun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
2.1 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
336 reviews
9.9 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
484 reviews
9.9 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel Nord Haven
Motel Nord Haven
#1 of 4 in Healy
292 reviews
3.9 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aspen Haus Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Haus Bed and Breakfast

Property: Aspen Haus Bed and Breakfast
Address: 18 Hematite Place, Healy, AK 99743
Region: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Aspen Haus b&b
Aspen Haus Hotel Healy
Hotel Aspen Haus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing