We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE THIS RELAXING CABIN” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Healy Heights Family Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Healy Heights Family Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS RELAXING CABIN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

If you would like a relaxing stay while in Healy,make reservations for the Healy Height Cabins. We stayed in the "Willow", the room was very clean, & very spacious with 2 queen beds, table & chairs for 4, small kitchen (no stove), it is equiped with a apt size refrigerator, microwave, they have tea, coffee & chocolate. The room has a large picture window over-looking the forest, it is a beautiful setting. it has a deck with chairs & bar-be-que, the grounds around the cabins were beautiful & very quiet. The owners were friendly & helpful. If we ever return to Healy, this is where we will stay. The owners recommended the 49th State for dinner the cod & chips are excellent. We had a excellent breakfast at Rose's, don't expect small portions, I ordered one pancake & it covered the whole plate, my husband ordered bacon, eggs hashbrowns & toast, they brought him 5 pieces of the best bacon we have ever eaten, 3 scrambled eggs, hashbrowns & 2 thick pieces of sour dough toast.

Room Tip: we stayed in the "Willow", it has plenty of room to move around, even though we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimisue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    30
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
44
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

My three friends and I stayed at the Healy Heights Family Cabins for 3 nights last week. We spent the first two nights in the "Chalet" and split up the last night because the Chalet was no longer available. The last night I stayed in the "Willow" with one friend and my other two friends stayed in "Northridge." There are pluses and minuses to the Healy Heights Cabins. Pluses: It is located in the middle of a beautiful area. It feels like an authentic cabin with a porch and grill. The owner was very nice and stayed up late to wait for us to arrive even though we forgot to call. The Chalet has a full kitchen and both the Willow and Chalet have a nice table to sit at. (The Willow has a microwave, sink, and mini-fridge.) The Willow has a pretty window/bench with a vista of the woods. Now for the Minuses: In the Chalet there is one bathroom and the shower ceiling is low. I'm 5'1" and I felt tall. In the Chalet, there was mold on the ceiling of the shower. Housekeeping did not make one of the beds one morning. In the Willow, the shower was tiny (this time I felt fat) and flooded the bathroom floor. In the Chalet, there is little luggage space in the smaller of the two bedrooms. I ended up leaving my luggage in the hallway, and my friend opened her suitcase in the large closet. All in all, the rooms themselves were cozy and the price fair; I would consider staying there again if the bathrooms were redone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chanybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed three nights in the Aspen View and really liked It. The cabin was clean, comfortable and roomy enough for two. I would advise, like other reviewers, to stock up in Anchorage or Fairbanks. There is a small grocery/liquor store in Healy and although prices do run a bit high, we found enough "fresh" produce and other items to make a few meals. The cabin is also close enough to Denali, yet faepr enough away from all the commotion at the tourist area near the park entrance. If you want to stay in a peaceful, quiet and very pleasant setting, Healy Family Cabins are a good bet. The owners are very friendly and helpfu if you do need anything. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We recently stayed in the Aspen View cabin, and throughly enjoyed our two night stay!

The cabin(s) and grounds are meticulously maintained, well appointed and very comfortable. Healy is about 10 miles from Denali National Park, and it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the Glitter Gulch area just outside the park. We enjoyed being able to prepare our own meals and save some money. Just be aware that if you want to save money, you will need to shop in Anchorage, Wasilla or Fairbanks before you arrive. Stores aren't well stocked or economical near Denali.

Be sure to bring bug spray! We enjoyed grilling on the deck, but the mosquitos are thick!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethegreatland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay here - a bit of a drive from Denali but wasn't a problem at all - the short drive was well worth the $$$ we saved and it was nice to get away from the tourist areas and the "cruisers". Like most of Alaska, no air conditioning, though - normally not an issue, but there was a heat wave when we were there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay near Denali. Far from the hustle bustle of the park and the trafic but near the park enough that it did not become a chore to go back and forth. We could easily go get grocery or dinner.
The property is very well situated on the side of the mountain overlooking Healy. It is very well maintained. Rod and Marylou Johnson were most gracious and welcoming. The cabin was very pretty, very well and lovingly built. The interior design and the amenities were very well thought out....the best planned cabin we have ever stayed, in fact. A big plus is the number of electrical outlets for our battery chargers. Lol. I could find 12 of them on every wall in the main room and in the bathroom! There might be more that I couldn't see. Never seen anyplace with so many!

All in all the best place to stay near Denali. Will not hesitate to go back and highly recommend it to anyone.
Thank you very much, Rod and Marylou.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
141 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed two nights in the North Ridge cabin. It is described by the owners as the "smallest and most secluded". We loved it! The cabin is immaculate both inside and out, and is located a bit away from the other cabins so you do have that wilderness feeling (if that is what you are looking for) and many conveniences. There is a deck with a grill that overlooks the beautiful valley (being new to AK we didn't anticipate that there is really nowhere to shop in Denali, so if you are thinking about grilling, stop in Anchorage and get your meat/fish beforehand). One of the best memories of our trip to AK was the sun "setting" directly in front of the cabin windows, where we sat on the rustic four-post bed and watched at midnight-just beautiful. If you haven't been to AK in the summer, the sun never really goes completely away, but kind of fades out during the hours of midnight to about 3am or so depending on where you are. I was concerned about not being able to sleep, etc., but you tend to love the fact that you can stay up late and continue hiking, siteseeing, etc. This cabin had great blinds that covered the windows nicely so sleeping was no problem. The cabin also included a microwave, a small refrigerator, cups, plates, and coffee/tea and fixings which was great. The bathroom was a little worn as were the linens, but everything was very clean. The cabin is about 10 miles beyond Denali, but easy to get to and from. Overall this is a great place to stay at a reasonable cost.

Room Tip: We loved the North Ridge cabin. It is very small, but a bit away from the other cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
1.4 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
9.6 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
4.1 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
7.2 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healy Heights Family Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healy Heights Family Cabins

Property: Healy Heights Family Cabins
Address: 1.5 Hilltop Lane, Healy, AK 99743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private cabins located 12 miles North of Denali National Park. Each cabin offers stunning views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. Relax away from the tourist center of Denali and enjoy peace and quiet surrounded by nature. Each cabin each tastefully decorated and offers their own private bath. If your headed to Alaska to see the sites, view wildlife or catch a glimpse of the northern lights give us a call and see if we have any availability for your vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Healy Heights Family Cabins Hotel Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing