We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Healy Heights Family Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were very happy we chose to stay at these cabins for our 3 night stay.
Before arriving I was concerned that the cabin may be too small as we were staying in the North Ridge cabin which was described as their smallest and most secluded cabin but it was a good size for the two of us, the main room had a double bed, single bed, and a table and chairs by the window for eating which had lovely views over the valley below (loved the windows). It also had micowave, small fridge and the kitchen cupboard was stocked with everything you needed for self catering. The ensuite bathroom which included a shower and toilet was small but clean and OK for our needs with the vanity basin being situated in the main area.
The deck was large and included a BBQ and the mossies were not too bad.The grounds around the cabin were immaculate and we had a nice little private driveway leading up to our cabin with 2 exit points. There was no TV or WIFI but we knew this before we booked. It was an enjoyable 15 minute drive to Denali National Park and the cost of the cabin was very reasonable. Thankyou to Marilou who welcomed us on arrival.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aus_Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

If you would like a relaxing stay while in Healy,make reservations for the Healy Height Cabins. We stayed in the "Willow", the room was very clean, & very spacious with 2 queen beds, table & chairs for 4, small kitchen (no stove), it is equiped with a apt size refrigerator, microwave, they have tea, coffee & chocolate. The room has a large picture window over-looking the forest, it is a beautiful setting. it has a deck with chairs & bar-be-que, the grounds around the cabins were beautiful & very quiet. The owners were friendly & helpful. If we ever return to Healy, this is where we will stay. The owners recommended the 49th State for dinner the cod & chips are excellent. We had a excellent breakfast at Rose's, don't expect small portions, I ordered one pancake & it covered the whole plate, my husband ordered bacon, eggs hashbrowns & toast, they brought him 5 pieces of the best bacon we have ever eaten, 3 scrambled eggs, hashbrowns & 2 thick pieces of sour dough toast.

Room Tip: we stayed in the "Willow", it has plenty of room to move around, even though we didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimisue50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My three friends and I stayed at the Healy Heights Family Cabins for 3 nights last week. We spent the first two nights in the "Chalet" and split up the last night because the Chalet was no longer available. The last night I stayed in the "Willow" with one friend and my other two friends stayed in "Northridge." There are pluses and minuses to the Healy Heights Cabins. Pluses: It is located in the middle of a beautiful area. It feels like an authentic cabin with a porch and grill. The owner was very nice and stayed up late to wait for us to arrive even though we forgot to call. The Chalet has a full kitchen and both the Willow and Chalet have a nice table to sit at. (The Willow has a microwave, sink, and mini-fridge.) The Willow has a pretty window/bench with a vista of the woods. Now for the Minuses: In the Chalet there is one bathroom and the shower ceiling is low. I'm 5'1" and I felt tall. In the Chalet, there was mold on the ceiling of the shower. Housekeeping did not make one of the beds one morning. In the Willow, the shower was tiny (this time I felt fat) and flooded the bathroom floor. In the Chalet, there is little luggage space in the smaller of the two bedrooms. I ended up leaving my luggage in the hallway, and my friend opened her suitcase in the large closet. All in all, the rooms themselves were cozy and the price fair; I would consider staying there again if the bathrooms were redone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chanybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed three nights in the Aspen View and really liked It. The cabin was clean, comfortable and roomy enough for two. I would advise, like other reviewers, to stock up in Anchorage or Fairbanks. There is a small grocery/liquor store in Healy and although prices do run a bit high, we found enough "fresh" produce and other items to make a few meals. The cabin is also close enough to Denali, yet faepr enough away from all the commotion at the tourist area near the park entrance. If you want to stay in a peaceful, quiet and very pleasant setting, Healy Family Cabins are a good bet. The owners are very friendly and helpfu if you do need anything. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We recently stayed in the Aspen View cabin, and throughly enjoyed our two night stay!

The cabin(s) and grounds are meticulously maintained, well appointed and very comfortable. Healy is about 10 miles from Denali National Park, and it was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the Glitter Gulch area just outside the park. We enjoyed being able to prepare our own meals and save some money. Just be aware that if you want to save money, you will need to shop in Anchorage, Wasilla or Fairbanks before you arrive. Stores aren't well stocked or economical near Denali.

Be sure to bring bug spray! We enjoyed grilling on the deck, but the mosquitos are thick!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethegreatland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay here - a bit of a drive from Denali but wasn't a problem at all - the short drive was well worth the $$$ we saved and it was nice to get away from the tourist areas and the "cruisers". Like most of Alaska, no air conditioning, though - normally not an issue, but there was a heat wave when we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay near Denali. Far from the hustle bustle of the park and the trafic but near the park enough that it did not become a chore to go back and forth. We could easily go get grocery or dinner.
The property is very well situated on the side of the mountain overlooking Healy. It is very well maintained. Rod and Marylou Johnson were most gracious and welcoming. The cabin was very pretty, very well and lovingly built. The interior design and the amenities were very well thought out....the best planned cabin we have ever stayed, in fact. A big plus is the number of electrical outlets for our battery chargers. Lol. I could find 12 of them on every wall in the main room and in the bathroom! There might be more that I couldn't see. Never seen anyplace with so many!

All in all the best place to stay near Denali. Will not hesitate to go back and highly recommend it to anyone.
Thank you very much, Rod and Marylou.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
1.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Healy
395 reviews
9 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
21.8 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 5 in McKinley Village
690 reviews
3.4 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healy Heights Family Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healy Heights Family Cabins

Address: 1.5 Hilltop Lane, Healy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve > Healy
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Healy
Price Range: £82 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private cabins located 12 miles North of Denali National Park. Each cabin offers stunning views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. Relax away from the tourist center of Denali and enjoy peace and quiet surrounded by nature. Each cabin each tastefully decorated and offers their own private bath. If your headed to Alaska to see the sites, view wildlife or catch a glimpse of the northern lights give us a call and see if we have any availability for your vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Healy Heights Family Cabins Hotel Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing