We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value in Denali area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Healy Heights Family Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2007

This place is a great value in the expensive Denali area. The cabins are spotless, quiet and ours had a great view. I second the most recent comment on this establishment. I don't see why this isn't listed in the guidebooks but we were glad it isn't!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gerrysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2007

We found these fabulous cabins only because other locations I called were full -- and I am SO glad we did! Nothing compared -- and all for such a reasonable price. Our desire was to stay clear of the large commercial hotels near the entrance to Denali National Park and focused on finding a nearby cabin. And as you know, it's so hard to know what you're going to find based on limited pictures on websites (they all look great). But boy were we surprised at what we found! The location is about 2 files off the main road. Therefore, the nights were so peaceful - away from the swooshing of cars. At the same time, they're not so far away that you feel out of touch. We stayed in the Guest House which had a living room/dining area/kitchen and bath on the main floor and a bedroom up a sloped ladder. The cabin was spotless, well maintained, and fully stocked for our stay -- a bag of ice in the freezer, coffee/tea/hot cocoa ready for use, paper towels, napkins, and even detergent under the bathroom sink if you needed to hand wash some items. The owners, Rod and Marylou were wonderful and so helpful. But wait . . .It gets even better ! ! ! The VIEW we had from our cabin was amazing -- and they are tucked away in the trees so you don't really see any other cabins. Meanwhile, you can pull your car right up and feel at home. The deck had 2 chairs and a grill for cooking. Oh -- one more thing... the bedroom upstairs also had a fabulous view and a comfortable chair to sit and read if you need a little space from your guests downstairs. The cabins are about a 10 minute ride to the Denali Park entrance where there are approx 3 larger hotels and some other cabin locations. About a mile from our Healy cabin was a restaurant called Black Diamond where we had an excellent meal, without having to take the ride to the Denali area. There's also a general store/liquor store right down the hill where you can stock up with food if you want to cook in your cabin (not a great variety, though - but it will do). Must add one more thing . . . our last night driving back to the cabin, we spotted 2 moose just grazing on the side of the road. Amazing site!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank optimism8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2007

We stayed at Healy Heights for three nights during the Denali Park portion of our trip. We had been staying in B&Bs for the rest of the trip so having the cabin all to ourselves was nice. The cabins are close to the park, about a 10 minute drive and in a great location with beautiful views from the garden area. We stayed in the Aspen View cabin and found it to be very quiet and clean but it was very small. It had a double bed and twin bed, kitchen table, kitchen sink with a mini fridge, and a bathroom sink all in one room. The bathroom had a toilet and a very small shower. There is a small porch with chairs and a grill outside. The cabin is supposed to sleep three people but we were running over each other with only two. We enjoyed our stay but if we decided to stay here again then we would choose a larger cabin.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank dedepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2007

When the sun finally came out on the day we were to leave the Denali area, we decided to stay an extra day, and found ourselves at Healy Heights. This was a sweet, quaint, picturesque little setting with spacious private cabins and a very nice host. A great place to stay if you're looking for privacy and quiet away from all the development around the entrance to Denali.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angelasseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sabina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaBaKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hobbescb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
1.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Healy
394 reviews
9.0 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,115 reviews
9.7 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
3.4 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
4.1 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healy Heights Family Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healy Heights Family Cabins

Address: 1.5 Hilltop Lane, Healy, AK 99743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Healy
Price Range: £87 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private cabins located 12 miles North of Denali National Park. Each cabin offers stunning views of the surrounding mountains and valleys. Relax away from the tourist center of Denali and enjoy peace and quiet surrounded by nature. Each cabin each tastefully decorated and offers their own private bath. If your headed to Alaska to see the sites, view wildlife or catch a glimpse of the northern lights give us a call and see if we have any availability for your vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Healy Heights Family Cabins Hotel Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing