We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deserving of #1 ranking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Healy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Deserving of #1 ranking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

My wife & I stayed at the Dome for 3 nights during our recent trip to Alaska. Ann & Terry are great hosts, they do an excellent job of giving great information but also giving guests appropriate space and privacy. The home is impeccably clean, and decorated with great Alaskan art and hunting trophies. There are many extra touches like books about
Alaska left on beds, and plenty of movies/reading material/etc all over the B&B.
Neither I or my wife are huge breakfast eaters, but there was a very nice spread every morning including cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, juices and then cooked to order breakfasts (I believe the choices were eggs, pancakes, or french toast). Other guests seemed very happy with the full breakfast.
Terry must have taken a mental note of my interest in the local wildlife as he went out of his way to tell me when there were moose sighted in the neighborhood, and also knocked on our door one morning when the resident red fox was sighted in his backyard. That was a nice touch that was truly appreciated.
Lastly, as an idea of how thoughtful Terry & Ann are...my wife left behind a pair of socks (the extra fluffy slipper socks type), and The Millers arranged to have it brought up to Fairbanks, as they knew were we were staying on our next stop. That was above and beyond!
We would surely stay with the Millers again if we're lucky enough to be back in the Denali area in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yojosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    37
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
72
182
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

Terri and Ann have been in the B&B business for 20 years and they have it down!
They have a great space with large comfortable common areas, bedrooms are plush with extra touches like books on Alaska, toiletries you may have forgotten. They also have cars to rent and will pick you up at the Denali train station if needed. Home is large and beautiful with beautiful grounds. Saw 2 fox at the salt lick. Great experience!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

I was looking for a place to stay outside Denali. I didn't want to stay in the hotels owned by the cruise lines.. Ann and Terry own a beautiful B&B just 15 minutes from the park. The property sits back from the road on many acres of wooded land. We came with our 3 adult children and booked 2 rooms for the 5 of us for 2 nights Prices were reasonable compared to the rest of Alaska where everything is very expensive. (remember breakfast is included)
The rooms are clean, cozy and with every amenity you would need.

Ann and Terry have a wealth of information about Alaska and are more then willing to give guidance on where, what ,when and how to get somewhere.

I give it 5 stars!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldnurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed 5 nights at the elegant 'Dome'. It's the perfect get-a-way for a trip to Denali park. We loved that Healy is a short drive, yet far-away from the Park entrance's 'glitter gulch'. Every suggestion for our stay from taking the park shuttle service to restaurants was excellent from Terry & Anne. (Our favorite restaurant was 229 Parks, at the 229.5 mile marker south of the Park) They want your stay to be unique for your desires and comfortable. Anne has the gift of hospitality and she makes you feel special, like you're talking with a mother or sister you haven't seen in a while. They keep their home and the grounds immaculate. Terry is a hunter and they have beautiful Alaskan artifacts to share the Alaskan adventure. There are two public 'living rooms' to relax in, one with a piano, the other with a big beautiful stone fireplace. The cookie jar is always 'open'. They have a very extensive library about Alaska and were very happy to loan us books of interest. There are many movies to loan. Our bedroom was #7 at the top of the dome. It was spacious with a private bath, refrigerator and TV/DVD. Our only mild criticism of the room was that it was a bit warm during the day and due to the inside window overlooking the living areas below, the couple mornings we wanted to sleep-in a bit, we could not due to noise from breakfast at 7:30AM.
They provide many personal touches, such as placing treats or Alaskan books/mementos on your pillow at night. This was a great place to relax during our Alaskan vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVioletD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder, colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

What a welcoming and warm place to stay while visiting Alaska. Ann and Terry make you feel right at home with their gorgeous property and cute dogs that welcome you upon arrival. Terry is a mean chef and will cook you the best breakfast before you head out and explore their beautiful state. I highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelicious13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

I stayed at this property for one night in July 2010 with my husband. We are both in our 30's and have lots of travel experience. During our travels we stayed at properties with varied levels of comfort ranging from simple pensions to five stars resorts. I've selected Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast based on the rave reviews this property has received from other travelers on Trip Advisor. The place is very nice and comfortable. It's clean, spacious, and decorated with Alaskan artifacts. It also has a good location. I was happy with our room however I cannot say the same about breakfast. Terry served the standard American breakfast fare like fruit, muffing, dry cereal, pancakes, eggs, ham, coffee. However, the quality of these items leaves much to be desired. Muffins are store bought (not freshly baked like at many other bed and breakfasts we stayed in), eggs are fried with I-can't-believe-it-is-not-butter, bread is store bough and full of preservatives. Pancake mix is also store bought and instead of real maple syrup you get the imitation version. Also, by the time we arrived for breakfast (about 8:30 in the morning) the coffee was already cold, and so was the water for the tea. If your idea of a good breakfast is to stuff yourself with cheap ingredients, this is a place for you. After reading all the rave reviews at Trip Advisor I expected more for the $190/night we ended up paying. In summary, the place is nice and Anne and Terry will help you with the logistics of your trip to the Denali park, but Terry is no culinary artist. We spent three weeks in Alaska and stayed at many bed and breakfasts and this was the worst breakfast we had.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelGirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We selected the Dome Home because of its geometric shape, its proximity to the entrance of Denali NP, and comments from previous guests. Ann and Jerry were wonderful. The first evening was spent talking with other guests in front of a warm fireplace on a cold night. It was like a gathering of a large family.

Ann was one of the most helpful people we met in Alaska. She shared many of the little secrets to enjoying Denali and to seeing more of the park. We shared many interests in our love of flowers.

Breakfast was a combination buffet and special order. Jerry prepared the eggs, French toast, and pancakes to order. The plate of meats and juice were on the table and a buffet bar included muffins, croissants, fruit, yogurt, and other things.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
1.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
9.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
9.4 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
8.0 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
4.9 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast

Property: Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast
Address: 137 Healy Spur Road, Healy, AK 99743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever stayed in a beautiful dome? Denali Dome Home is 12 miles north of Denali National Park and is oldest established B&B in the Denali Area. It has 7 bedrooms with seven private baths (some with a jacuzzi or sauna), Wifi, refrigerators, and free, full, cooked to order breakfast served in our dining room each morning. Free, off-street parking on a paved lot and drive, 7 private acres, woods, lawns and gardens, decks and privacy. It has received high ratings and is listed in Lonely Planet as the best B&B in Healy. The Denali Dome Home also has Keys to Denali, LLC,a car rental in the Denali area with a free pick up and delivery in Denali. Denali Dome Home starts its 26th season in Denali this year. Get a package deal for accommodations, rental cars and AK railroad tickets. Alaskan hosts offer excellent personalized tour desk help ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Dome Home b&b
Denali Dome Home Hotel Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing