We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basement rooms may happen”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Healy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pulheim, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Basement rooms may happen”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We received a basement room after arrival without notice before. In their lodging description basement rooms are not mentioned. No ventilation or window in bathroom. 190 US-$ for such a room is not worth doing it. Clarify the room situation when booking.
And host Terry pretends to be a tough guy which looks pretty strange.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knuddel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    37
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
72
183
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Our group was my daugter and her son-in-law, a family friend and myself. We only could stay one night due to our schedule and their availability, but we were so glad we got to stay atleast one night. The hosts were awesome. The room was great, the bathroom was a great size. But....the breakfast was the best we had at any place we stayed. We will definately stay here again if we visit Denali again!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

My wife & I stayed at the Dome for 3 nights during our recent trip to Alaska. Ann & Terry are great hosts, they do an excellent job of giving great information but also giving guests appropriate space and privacy. The home is impeccably clean, and decorated with great Alaskan art and hunting trophies. There are many extra touches like books about
Alaska left on beds, and plenty of movies/reading material/etc all over the B&B.
Neither I or my wife are huge breakfast eaters, but there was a very nice spread every morning including cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, muffins, juices and then cooked to order breakfasts (I believe the choices were eggs, pancakes, or french toast). Other guests seemed very happy with the full breakfast.
Terry must have taken a mental note of my interest in the local wildlife as he went out of his way to tell me when there were moose sighted in the neighborhood, and also knocked on our door one morning when the resident red fox was sighted in his backyard. That was a nice touch that was truly appreciated.
Lastly, as an idea of how thoughtful Terry & Ann are...my wife left behind a pair of socks (the extra fluffy slipper socks type), and The Millers arranged to have it brought up to Fairbanks, as they knew were we were staying on our next stop. That was above and beyond!
We would surely stay with the Millers again if we're lucky enough to be back in the Denali area in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yojosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Terri and Ann have been in the B&B business for 20 years and they have it down!
They have a great space with large comfortable common areas, bedrooms are plush with extra touches like books on Alaska, toiletries you may have forgotten. They also have cars to rent and will pick you up at the Denali train station if needed. Home is large and beautiful with beautiful grounds. Saw 2 fox at the salt lick. Great experience!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2010

I was looking for a place to stay outside Denali. I didn't want to stay in the hotels owned by the cruise lines.. Ann and Terry own a beautiful B&B just 15 minutes from the park. The property sits back from the road on many acres of wooded land. We came with our 3 adult children and booked 2 rooms for the 5 of us for 2 nights Prices were reasonable compared to the rest of Alaska where everything is very expensive. (remember breakfast is included)
The rooms are clean, cozy and with every amenity you would need.

Ann and Terry have a wealth of information about Alaska and are more then willing to give guidance on where, what ,when and how to get somewhere.

I give it 5 stars!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldnurse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed 5 nights at the elegant 'Dome'. It's the perfect get-a-way for a trip to Denali park. We loved that Healy is a short drive, yet far-away from the Park entrance's 'glitter gulch'. Every suggestion for our stay from taking the park shuttle service to restaurants was excellent from Terry & Anne. (Our favorite restaurant was 229 Parks, at the 229.5 mile marker south of the Park) They want your stay to be unique for your desires and comfortable. Anne has the gift of hospitality and she makes you feel special, like you're talking with a mother or sister you haven't seen in a while. They keep their home and the grounds immaculate. Terry is a hunter and they have beautiful Alaskan artifacts to share the Alaskan adventure. There are two public 'living rooms' to relax in, one with a piano, the other with a big beautiful stone fireplace. The cookie jar is always 'open'. They have a very extensive library about Alaska and were very happy to loan us books of interest. There are many movies to loan. Our bedroom was #7 at the top of the dome. It was spacious with a private bath, refrigerator and TV/DVD. Our only mild criticism of the room was that it was a bit warm during the day and due to the inside window overlooking the living areas below, the couple mornings we wanted to sleep-in a bit, we could not due to noise from breakfast at 7:30AM.
They provide many personal touches, such as placing treats or Alaskan books/mementos on your pillow at night. This was a great place to relax during our Alaskan vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LVioletD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boulder, colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2010

What a welcoming and warm place to stay while visiting Alaska. Ann and Terry make you feel right at home with their gorgeous property and cute dogs that welcome you upon arrival. Terry is a mean chef and will cook you the best breakfast before you head out and explore their beautiful state. I highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelicious13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
1.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
9.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
9.4 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
4.1 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.9 mi away
Motel Nord Haven
Motel Nord Haven
#1 of 4 in Healy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast

Property: Denali Dome Home Bed and Breakfast
Address: 137 Healy Spur Road, Healy, AK 99743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have you ever stayed in a beautiful dome? Denali Dome Home is 12 miles north of Denali National Park and is oldest established B&B in the Denali Area. It has 7 bedrooms with seven private baths (some with a jacuzzi or sauna), Wifi, refrigerators, and free, full, cooked to order breakfast served in our dining room each morning. Free, off-street parking on a paved lot and drive, 7 private acres, woods, lawns and gardens, decks and privacy. It has received high ratings and is listed in Lonely Planet as the best B&B in Healy. The Denali Dome Home also has Keys to Denali, LLC,a car rental in the Denali area with a free pick up and delivery in Denali. Denali Dome Home starts its 26th season in Denali this year. Get a package deal for accommodations, rental cars and AK railroad tickets. Alaskan hosts offer excellent personalized tour desk help ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Dome Home Hotel Healy
Denali Dome Home b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing