We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, clean and comfortable lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming, clean and comfortable lodge!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Before we even made our reservation to stay in this charming lodge, Jon took quite a bit of time with me on the phone telling me about Denali National Park and what the area has to offer. We booked a cabin for two nights and he made sure our family of five had comfortable accommodations. The quaint lodge is located in a tundra area of Denali and is about 20-30 minutes from the entrance of the park (depending on traffic). The rooms were very clean and comfortable and we really enjoyed touring the kennels. We also ate dinner at Henry's next door and watched a great slide show of Alaskan photos. Our visit was perfect, we would recommend this lodge to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bltholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    41
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
93
93
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

At Earthsong the owners allow guests to share in part of their lives as homesteaders here. They are skilled, informed and charming people. John's a musher, so if you don't care for dogs or dogs barking (there's a 9:30 a.m. show of the sled dogs), this might not suit you. But if you want a true Alaskan experience, this is it. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom cabins give more space and privacy if that is desired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leland A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We struck lucky with our choice. This is a delightful hotel / lodge right away from the tourist trappings of the Denali Park entrance. We had travelled through torrential rain to get to EarthSong but as soon as we arrived the rain had stopped - if it had ever started as EarthSong and Healy are on the dry side of the mountains - a significant benefit. The sun's colours and the scenery in early evening were just stunning and you really feel away from civilisation - even though you still have the very comfortable accommodation. Then when you hear the family's story about how they got from nothing when they arrived to today's well appointed lodge it just adds to the atmosphere of the place.
I can only add my endorsement to all the other excellent reviews - accommodation is good, the new cafe perfect for breakfast or late evening dinner - which suited our late arrival, and the family couldn't have been more welcoming, helpful and informative.
Our greatest regret was we didn't have time to meet the extended family of dogs - they offer morning tours of the kennels which unfortunately didn't fit our schedule - never mind we'll have to return for the winter dog sled safari in deepest, darkest winter.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was a great location (great breakfast at Rosie's and dinner at 49th State). We had a two room cabin which was cozy for the four of us (we should have booked the largest cabin they have but I waited too long and it wasn't available). Jon and Karin were very helpful and informative. The cabin was tidy and well-maintained. The mosquitoes were terrible but that's not their fault. We stayed 3 nights; the fans were wonderful since there was a heat wave. We loved seeing the dogs and learning from Jon all the mushing information.
Our only problem was that we locked ourselves out during the summer solstice and had to awaken Jon after midnight to let us in. He was very nice!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MathGeek_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The owner, Jon, was very friendly and helpful right from booking the hotel to after leaving the hotel. He was patient and gave great recommendations on things to do, tours to book and restaurants to try out in and around Denali NP.

Each cabin is well maintained and uniquely decorated/styled. The rooms were on the smaller side and minimalist, but appealing in their own way. It was fun taking pictures after midnight!

Of course, be prepared for the bugs and mosquitos in the evenings and keep your cabins closed. Some cabins have nice patios with cute chairs to sit on and hang out. But with the mosquitos it isn't practical enjoy that experience.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank A4TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is probably the perfect place to stay at in Denali. The cabins are cute and tastefully decorated. Extremely comfortable as well. The location is absolutely beautiful. Far way from the crowd at glitter gulch, yet at a drivable distance.
People who own this place are very nice people. We had a short chat with Jon and he is very kind and a knowledgeable person. We got a chance to talk to Karin, a very friendly and kind lady!
Henry's coffee shop is where we packed our lunch for National Park visit next day. Delicious and fresh food, very conveniently packed! We had our morning coffee sitting on the porch outside the coffee shop. Every minute spent there was so relaxing!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Srikar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place! The cabins are cute and comfortable, all built by the owners. The coffee shop / restaurant is really stunning with amazing views.

It was a great pleasure talking with Jon in the mornings. He's a local expert, very friendly, and very willing to share his knowledge and love of the area.

The park is not far -- 20 minute drive. Much preferable to staying in a big resort closer to the park (which are more expensive and less unique).

Sadly, we did not have a chance to meet the dogs or have dinner in the restaurant. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonm1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
5.1 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
352 reviews
12.9 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
718 reviews
12.8 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,022 reviews
1.1 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
4.2 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat

Property: EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
Address: Mile 4.0 Stampede Road, PO Box 89, Healy, AK 99743-0089
Region: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free daily sled dog kennel tours to guests. Evening slide programs. Divas of Denali Gift Shop, local crafts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earthsong Lodge - Denali`s Natural Retreat Hotel Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing