We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very Alaskan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alaskan Chateau B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alaskan Chateau B&B
Ranked #7 of 8 Healy B&B and Inns
Fairbanks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Alaskan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2008

If you are after an experience closer to the true "Alaskan", then this is the place for you. Sure, it may not be all prim and proper, and you won't get pampered like a cruise guest, and the driveway is even gravel, but the atmosphere is very friendly, and the people much truer to the "Real" Alaska that I know. The entire experence more closely matches the Alaskan spirit than most places and Teresa can rival the best of Princess and Holland America with her advice on things to do and see.

  • Liked — The Alaskan Atmosphere and access to the backcountry.
  • Disliked — The winter.
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mtcaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2008

The Chateau was referred to us by a friend. We were very happy when we pulled up and saw how quiet and wooded the area was. We loved the rustic look of the cabins. Teresa was very friendly and helpful in her suggestions of places to go and sights to see. Our room was very spacious and the breakfast items were plentiful with a variety of choices. We'll definitely recommend it to any of our friends that are traveling up in Alaska. Loved the dog!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The bed was small, but we were told beforehand.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MarysAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, AK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

I have stayed at the Alaskan Chateau many times with my visitors from the "lower 48 " I have stayed in four different rooms in three of the houses. I have found the accomodations to be nicely furnished and always clean . The bed linens and towels are clean and well taken care of as well. There is a TV available in each room and a nice bathroom and hot shower. The beds are very comfortable as well. The breakfast is provided in each room which has a little refrig and microwave with the food for breakfast as well as other snacks. The owner is most hospitable and solicitous for all the visitors. If you need something she will get it for you , all you have to do is ask. I have been there when she goes out of her way to assist the visitors.
So I personally would highly recommend the Alaskan Chateau.

  • Liked — Location and accommodations
  • Disliked — you do need a car to travel to Denali PArk
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2008

They take your money before they show you the room, but because it's in The Rough Guide, we stupidly coughed up before we saw it. It was cramped, with a low, sloping ceiling, we had to walk about bent double. An unlocked door led to another room. We locked the door but the following day it was unlocked again, and a child wandered into our room ! We had to ask him to leave, and after that were concerned about the security of our belongings. You could either hang your clothes up or sit at the table - not both - because the clothes rail (there was no wardrobe) was directly over the table. The microwave and toaster were on the floor - we had to kneel to use them. The TV did not work most of the time. The electrics were a dodgy collection of wires behind the TV. The ceiling was so low we could not sit up in bed. The "breakfast" was instant coffee (no kettle) and packets of junk food. There was a plastic table of filthy junk outside the door of our room, sea shells, dried grass and some old plastic fabric. The blinds did not keep the light out (Alaska in June, you need good curtains against the constant light) We solved the hanging clothes problem by draping some of our clothes over the blinds to block some of the light.

To be fair, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was OK. But she already had our money - what could we do ? We'd booked and paid for 3 nights, but left after 2. The most unpleasant accommodation I have ever stayed in. We felt really gullible for allowing ourselves to be ripped off like this, and have vowed never again to pay before we see the room.

  • Liked — the bathroom was clean
  • Disliked — taking the money before you see the room, the room itself, the junk food breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank daisyrootsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arkansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

Dust was very thick under the bed. The sheets were torn. Payment was collected immediately upon arrival. So there was no backing out after seeing the place. Large pet defecation surrounded the entry door to our room. The supposedly hot breakfast consisted of stale crackers sitting on top of the rerigerator.. I was very disappointed for the price we had to pay. I would not recommend this bed and breakfast inn.
Just had an all around bad experience!

  • Disliked — All around not satisfied. Pet defecation laying everywhere!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ArkansasSnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

Our room was very dark and looked very shabby for 145 dollars a night, a very small continental breakfast was supplied in the room.
The owner was nice and room was clean but rooms really need to be updated and a better breakfast provided to justify the price. It was 30 minutes drive to park entrance. I would not recommend this accommodation.

  • Liked — Klondike the family dog
  • Disliked — The prefab dropped ceiling in the room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluesky2004sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2007

Owner Teresa was very helpful and gave us all the particulars on how to navigate the next day at Denali Nat'l Park. She was very hospitable and the place was more than adequate. We enjoyed our stay very much. The dog was very cute.

  • Liked — The beauty of the Alaskan woods surrounding the private cabin.
  • Disliked — The old built-in radio that didn't work, though it did look cool. The place was rustic and quaint.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healy hotels
0.0 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.0 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alaskan Spruce Cabins
0.0 mi away
Motel Nord Haven
Motel Nord Haven
#1 of 4 in Healy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaskan Chateau B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaskan Chateau B&B

Property: Alaskan Chateau B&B
Address: P.O. Box 187, Healy, AK 99743-0187
Region: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Healy
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing