We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable vacation rental suite in eclectic Homer”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mermaid B&B

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mermaid B&B
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable vacation rental suite in eclectic Homer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We were debating between staying at the Mermaid B&B or the Kenai Peninsula Suites a couple of miles away, and ended up choosing this location (mostly due to the private rooftop hot tub). While the suite above the cafe and bookshop served our needs (and we are pretty low maintenance), there were some drawbacks as well.

Firstly, the suite is spacious, bright, and well kept. We were charmed by the dining nook and fresh flowers on the table, and appreciated the space to move and spread out within the kitchen, living area, and separate bedroom. The suite was extremely clean, including a spotless bathroom, and was comfortable - from the cozy bed to the welcoming futon and oversized love seat. The location was beneficial in that we were only a couple minutes walk from Bishop's Beach, and we were right above the Mermaid Cafe which served delicious midday meals that we took full advantage of. Additionally, we had the pleasure of fast, functional internet which can be a rarity in boutique and non-chain lodging in Alaska - we are usually happy to trade internet for "off the beaten path" experiences, but thankfully this suite melded both! The suite's owner was pleasant, friendly, and welcoming when we ran into him at the bookstore downstairs.

Now, the drawbacks. There were a couple of minor things that may not bother some travelers, but that stood out to us. We would have appreciated a few more towels, and some sort of blinds or light-blocking window shade on the windows in the living room/dining area (there were curtains over the small windows in the bedroom so light was not a problem there, but if any guests desire to sleep on the futon on the main room, they are faced with near perpetual daylight as there are only gauzy decorative curtains that do not block any light). Additionally, the kitchen was reasonably outfitted but lacked a pot big enough to boil pasta for dinner or any number of tools beyond knives and wooden spoons (which was surprising because all three other cabins or boutique lodgings where we stayed in Alaska were quite well outfitted in their kitchens). Beyond these minor bothers, I would highlight two problems that reduced the experience for us from top notch to simply adequate. Firstly, the hot tub reeked of mildew or mold, to the point where we considered it unusable (disappointing for us, because it was one of the main draws of the suite). Also, while the cafe closes at 8 pm, we were kept awake by noise well past 10 pm. I don't know if it was staff hanging out after closing or something else, but there was fairly loud music and loud talking right above us that lasted for at least an hour and probably more, and was difficult to drown out, even with the windows shut (couple this with the location being right on the corner next to the highway so you could hear cars passing regularly, and it was more of a bustling, noisy location than we had hoped).

Overall we were generally pleased with the accommodations, but based on the drawbacks noted above, we probably would not stay there again. However, if you're looking for apartment-style lodging where you value a full kitchen and a location that's close to everything in town (instead of a more isolated place with views), this is a decent choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKG1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
138 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Beautiful place, great location, loved to have stayed there longer. Hot tub was great. Nice living room, plenty of space, great view. Only issue was breakfast. We never received a coupon nor was it mentioned. ??

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCraig7001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Positive: An attractive, comfortable, relatively new apartment above a quaint used bookstore.

A previous reviewer mentioned no wifi, but when we were there June 2013 they DID have wifi and it worked fast and flawlessly.

The table in the cupola next to the kitchen was a fabulous place to hang out, enjoy the view and relax after a day of exploring. The location is a short walk to the beach. The kitchen was fully equipped, the bed was comfortable.

Negative: More towels would make a lot of sense. There was one towel per person to use for both hot tubbing and showering. I'm sure the landlord would give you more if you asked.

Regarding the TV, we noticed that it was old, but it didn't matter because we didn't even turn it on.

They do offer a $10 voucher for the great restaurant downstairs but unfortunately the restaurant was closed during two of the three days we stayed at the B&B so we lost out on that.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam_On_The_Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

The B&B was very nice with a well stocked kitchen for preparing meals. The hot tub was wonderful to relax in and watch the summer solstice sunset over the water.

The resteraunt below provided a little noise but not during early morning or late evening.

Service was very casual as we just went to the bookstore and got the key from the girl behind the counter. We never saw anyone else. On checkout I had to find someone that was preparing the resturaunt for opening to return the keys. Not good or bad, just laid back.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank amwstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights in April. The apartment was clean and had everything we needed. The view from the hot tub is excellent and the wireless internet worked great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wlcable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
249 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

This place is great in all respects. The location is perfect, close to all attractions with a wonderful cafe ( lunch and dinner ) below the flat, a little noisy upon opening and closing but not terribly disturbing. The view of the spit and bay is good and there is a clean, not over clorinated, full size hot tub outside the door with a nice view of the bay and mountains.There is a wonderful antique bookstore downstairs too. The flat has a medium sized living room, galley kitchen, wonderful cupola dining room with windows everywhere. It is light and well ventilated nicely appointed kitchen with new appliances and OK furniture in the living room. The rooms are nicely trimmed with wood mouldings , nice lighting, light beige paint, and composite wood floors and carpet. The bedroom is small but very adequate, the bed comfortable with plenty of blankets and a nice closet and chest of drawers. Very few towels and NO WASHER and DRYER. The AT&T wireless phone reception was fine. TV's in both the living room and bedroom with plenty of channels. There is NO INTERNET which is inconvenient to say the least. There is a local Homer WI FI that costs $20.00 a week which the owner reimbursed us for but it was sketchy at best, maybe worked 20% of the time. You get a $10.00 per day credit in the cafe downstairs, which serves terrific food and are great folks. In closing we would say this place is one of the nicest small flats we have rented, the people, like most of the folks in Homer are very nice, but it would be perfect with more towels, linen, and a wireless Internet router. If it had those items we would have rated it 5 star !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzo1317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

Homer, Alaska is an eclectic and special place and the Mermaid B & B is special too. It has just a single one bedroom suite that can sleep four. It has a completely equipped kitchen. The separate bedroom is nestled in the trees and the living room/dining room has a wonderful view of the bay and the mountains that overlooks the roofs of Old Town. Did I mention there is an outdoor Jacuzzi on the porch with the same great view? Located in Old Town Homer, the Mermaid is convenient to Bishop's Beach, banks, the post office, Two Sisters Bakery, the Islands & Oceans Visitor Center, art galleries and the Ring of Fire Meadery. It is clean, comfortable, attractive and well worth the two easy flights of stairs. Guests get coupons for breakfast at the attached Mermaid Cafe which has fabulous food if they don't want to use the kitchen.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brokeoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.1 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.1 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
0.9 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#5 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid B&B

Property: Mermaid B&B
Address: 3487 Main St, Homer, AK 99603-7812
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Mermaid B&B Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing