We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in Alaska”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Spyglass Inn B&B
Ranked #11 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Fremont, CA
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Alaska”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

The breakfasts and hospitality make up for any quirks in the layout of the inn (the downstairs rooms are cozy, but you will be taking your luggage down a gravel path about 50 yards). The rooms feature gorgeous handmade quilts, and Arden & Pat are interesting and gracious hosts. Breakfast is served family style & consisted of eggs, bacon, waffles, homemade rhubarb raspberry syrup, granola, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee or tea. Her homemade granola is to die for as are our cinnamon rolls. We'd love to return.

Room Tip: Stay in the Captain's Quarters if accessibility or mobility are an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrnrMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarver, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Debated about traveling down to Homer and then having to back track back up to Girdwood. Loved Homer, and our B&B. Pat was a great host, with a yummy breakfast. Our room was neat and clean, comfy bed. Pat advised a restaurant for dinner, and it was a great suggestion. Definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nursedeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed at the Spyglass in this August and recommend it highly. Pat, the owner, is among the most gracious hosts you could meet. She is warm, outgoing, and knows everything that is going on in Homer. She is a phenomenal cook. Pat is a card-carry member of Slow Food, meaning she cooks with local, natural foods. Her breakfasts are delicious! While we were there she made (its never store bought with Pat) sticky buns, fruit cobbler, granola, and cheese souffles. The rooms are comfortable, clean, and each decorated with Pat's lovely homemade quilts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laneydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

My 15 year old daughter and I stayed in the Fireweed Room for three nights on a mom and daughter's mini-getaway. The B and B was spic and span, well appointed, and our own room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the fireweed quilt very lovely.

The food was absolutely delicious, wth lovely, comfortable service. It was so nice to be waited on in such a relaxing atmosphere. My daughter and I both loved conversations with Pat and Arden. Arden has many interesting Santa Claus stories which he tells with his deep, radio announcer's voice. Pat is humorous and has a quick, problem-solving mind.

My daughter wants to know when we can go back! And when will I cook up the recipes Pat gave me to take home?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKVeronica60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2011

...and not just because the food is appealing; Pat and Arden are the sort of folks with whom conversation at the table comes easily. Their home is a haven of elements comprised of family, well-lived and dynamic lives, community activism, arts, culture, and of course food that both wows and satisfies. We recommend letting your Homer agenda allow time for the warm, welcome Spyglass experience that is best captured by sharing with Pat and Arden.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CChamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Entertainment, good food, hospitality, memories, comfort, knowledge of area -- nothing more required.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne20191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This B&B is attractive and welcoming. Our room had a view of the garden but we weren't lucky enough to catch sight of the local moose and her calf. Every room was decorated witha different and beautiful quilt, hand made by Pat . Breakfast was generous with home made granola and a different cake every morning as star attractions.
Pat and Arden were excellent hosts with lots of information and suggestions. They are interesting and interested people. They added a lot to our stay.
And yes, Arden does look like Santa Claus.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alix48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.1 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
828 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spyglass Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spyglass Inn B&B

Property: The Spyglass Inn B&B
Address: 385 E Fairview Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7612
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spyglass Inn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Spyglass Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spyglass Inn B&B Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing