We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Spyglass Inn B&B
Ranked #11 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Garrison, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it pretty nice. . I thought the bedrooms, kitchen and dining area were all very inviting. The breakfasts we had were filling and Pat offered a variety of options. Her homemade granola was so wonderful I had to get the recipe (and I am not a big granola fan!) We were in the Fireweed Room and thought it was very nice. The bed was comfortable too. The only complaint I would make is that our sleep was disrupted in the morning by floor noises from the dining room above. If you have sleep issues you may want to stay in the Captain's Quarters where I would think it would be quieter. Pat was very accommodating when our niece needed a place to stay for Saturday night. Even though Pat was booked solid she offered an airbed to use in our room and didn't charge us anything extra even though our niece ate the same breakfast as us. . All in all we had a lovely stay and I would recommend this place highly if you heed my suggestion about the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
28
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our stay at the B&B was less than expected. The directions to find the location were poor, but Pat gave clear directions on the phone. Once we arrived it was dismaying to enter their house into an extremely messy and cluttered "living room". We were given the house rules and shown to our room. The house rules were staunch, breakfast at 0800 sharp, not 0810! Our room was in the basement, so much for majestic views. We had wanted separate beds, one was a king and the other a murphy type bed. Once down, you could only climb on the beds to navigate the tiny room. The king bed howeveer was very comfortable. No help or offer of help with luggage.
A huge deficit is that the room was not cleaned or entered during our two night stay. We never got clean towels and the cups in the room were disgusting. A sign at all the doors indicated you MUST remove your shoes. A hopeful sign that this was an uber clean property. However, this was not the case.
All in all, not a good value and could not in clear conscience recommend the property to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawmsmirh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Our hosts, Arden and Pat, made our stay in Homer very comfortable. They are full of information and good advice. We had the Fireweed Room downstairs. The breakfast in the morning is a wonderful homemade bounty of delicious food. I loved the pepper blackberry jam. Pat makes the most exquisite quilts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Jones, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Pat and Arden are welcoming hosts and we felt at home the two nights we stayed with them. Breakfasts were excellent, and our request for gluten free was met without any negative reaction. We stayed in the room right off the kitchen, and it was clean and comfy. I'd stay with them again next time I am in Homer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niravalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our hosts at The Spyglass Inn, Pat and Arden, are warm and loveable and they put out a breakfast to die for you will have to discipline yourself not to eat so much that you will feel like staggering back to your room for a nap. We were in the downstairs room under the dinning room and we did get startled from time to time when someone upstairs pushed themselves away from the table. It might be better to get the other room if you can and I'm betting that the large "Captain's Quarters" is really nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This B&B is a must! We had reservations for 2 nights but missed a flight and had to call to cancel our first night. Somehow we lost a day traveling and still made it to Homer on our anticipated day. We decided we would head over anyway and see if we could still get our room. We were greeted out front by Pat and as luck would have it, she still had our room! She was very gracious and showed us around their home. There are 2 rooms downstairs and I believe another guest house not attached to the house. The rooms were wonderful, comfortable, and the quilts were beautiful! Pat and Arden were outstanding hosts! Pat cooked up a great breakfast both mornings which we shared with another couple staying here. She has a garden and was showing us her rhubarb. My companion mentioned loving rhubarb pie as a child. Pat made him a rhubarb pie and a rhubarb crumble for breakfast the next day. Our first night we spent the day exploring, came back to take a nap and slept too long, too late to go out to dinner. She was kind enough to send down some blueberry cake to hold us over till morning. I can't say enough about Pat and Arden. They are such interesting people and seem to love having company in their home. If you plan a trip to Homer, staying at the Spyglass Inn is a must! Arden will keep you entertained with stories and Pat will lead you in the right direction on things to do and see. Thank you Pat and Arden for a wonderful stay in Homer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatordebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights. The room was comfortable with the private bathroom across the hall way. the room was small but adequate, clean & tidy with TV. Pat & Arden are good hosts producing excellent breakfasts of home cooked food. The only minor drawback was, having the room downstairs, access for the luggage. A minor gripe really.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.1 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
142 reviews
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
6.5 mi away
Crane's Rest B&B
Crane's Rest B&B
#2 of 40 in Homer
115 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spyglass Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spyglass Inn B&B

Property: The Spyglass Inn B&B
Address: 385 E Fairview Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7612
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spyglass Inn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Spyglass Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spyglass Inn B&B Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing