We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Spyglass Inn B&B
Ranked #11 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Pat was very helpful about what to see and do in Homer, and her cooking is outstanding. We had the room with a king bed and private deck and bathroom. Very comfortable and quiet. My wife and I enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DavidFawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Nice stay, Great food, beautiful quilts, and Pat was very informative and helpful as we discovered what we wanted to do in the area.

Pat decorated the rooms with her creative and colorful quilts. Sadly, the moose did not visit while we were there.

I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank luhland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Pat's place is warm, clean, friendly, in a convenient and quiet location. Beds are comfy. She's a great cook and the breakfast choices were many. Stll, she paid special attention to those with dietary needs, offering a delicious gluten-free jelly roll one day and a nut-free peach tart the next. There is a graet deck and patio and a grill. I would readily return to the Spyglass Inn and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in a lower-priced downstairs room, which fit our needs perfectly. Upstairs is more expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Pat , the owner, was very helpful and accommodating. providing lovely breakfasts in her home or "to go". Unfortunately she had had a flood a few days before we were there and needed to have a very noisy fan on 24 hours day to help with the damp, however when we complained after a sleepless night she did turn it off in the night and moved us to a different room for our last night there.

Room Tip: we were moved to "the captains quarters" room on our last night. much the better in terms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOBOsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at the Spyglass Inn for 4 nights and it was a great place to stay. The Captain's room was very spacious and well-kept. Pat fixed a wonderful feast for breakfast, and she fixed us breakfast to go on our fishing days, that was also a delicious feast. Pat and Arden were very friendly, and made us feel like part of their family. We would love to be able to go back to Alaska, and when we do, we will stay at the Spyglass Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it pretty nice. . I thought the bedrooms, kitchen and dining area were all very inviting. The breakfasts we had were filling and Pat offered a variety of options. Her homemade granola was so wonderful I had to get the recipe (and I am not a big granola fan!) We were in the Fireweed Room and thought it was very nice. The bed was comfortable too. The only complaint I would make is that our sleep was disrupted in the morning by floor noises from the dining room above. If you have sleep issues you may want to stay in the Captain's Quarters where I would think it would be quieter. Pat was very accommodating when our niece needed a place to stay for Saturday night. Even though Pat was booked solid she offered an airbed to use in our room and didn't charge us anything extra even though our niece ate the same breakfast as us. . All in all we had a lovely stay and I would recommend this place highly if you heed my suggestion about the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Our stay at the B&B was less than expected. The directions to find the location were poor, but Pat gave clear directions on the phone. Once we arrived it was dismaying to enter their house into an extremely messy and cluttered "living room". We were given the house rules and shown to our room. The house rules were staunch, breakfast at 0800 sharp, not 0810! Our room was in the basement, so much for majestic views. We had wanted separate beds, one was a king and the other a murphy type bed. Once down, you could only climb on the beds to navigate the tiny room. The king bed howeveer was very comfortable. No help or offer of help with luggage.
A huge deficit is that the room was not cleaned or entered during our two night stay. We never got clean towels and the cups in the room were disgusting. A sign at all the doors indicated you MUST remove your shoes. A hopeful sign that this was an uber clean property. However, this was not the case.
All in all, not a good value and could not in clear conscience recommend the property to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawmsmirh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.8 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.9 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Juneberry Lodge
Juneberry Lodge
#5 of 40 in Homer
64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spyglass Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spyglass Inn B&B

Address: 385 E Fairview Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7612
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range: £80 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spyglass Inn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Spyglass Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spyglass Inn B&B Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing