We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arctic Sun Lodging
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Homer
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
18
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaptain gregcamp firehalibutfishing triphostshostessproperty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
17 - 21 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Huge thanks to Greg and Sheila who provide the best hospitality and fun times.
The boys went fishing with Greg and said it was the BEST day they had spent in the months holiday around Alaska and Canada.
The girls had a fabulous massage at a local spa - serinaded by a bald eagle - on sight!!
Caught so many fish. Varieties we had never heard of or seen previously but huge fish and such a thrill to be out and doing it, caught so much,
The spit is an awesome way to spend the afternoon, like a mini San Fransisco right there in Homer.
And the wildlife... we saw a MOOSE in the garden and lounging at the neighbours house.
Bears crossing the road with salmon in the mouth for breakfast.
Fabulous spot, great hosts, definitly recommend Captian North and First Mate Sheila for an Alaskan adventure.
Thanks so much - saving up for the next trip.

Room Tip: For a sttay away from home where the hosts are like valued family - this is the place.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CheryeandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Sheila and Greg were great hosts! Enjoyed the Alaskan fire pit and meeting new people. Cabins were clean and well maintained. Had all the kitchen amenities. Booked 2 fishing trips with Greg. Caught Rock fish, Halibut and Ling cod. Greg works hard to put you on fish. The boat is clean and well maintained. Will book with them again the next time I am in the Homer area.
Mike M.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights.
Wonderful cabin on the hillside above Homer. 5 minutes from the spit.
Sheila and Greg are wonderful and helpful hosts!
Gave us suggestions for various activities.
They were available whenever we needed them.
Cabin was two story with two bedrooms, three beds. Nice kitchen. 1 shower downstairs.

Small but nice TV with more channels than I expected.

Hosts showed a genuine interest in our activities.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is a cute little property with three cabins available for rent. The cabins are spacious and well built, very quiet, clean, and completely comfortable. They're basic, with a simple little kitchenette, but that's fine and appropriate - you're in Homer, Alaska, and things don't need to be (shouldn't be) hoity-toity.

The property is close to town, nestled just above on a tree-filled hillside. The grounds are well kept and cute, with loads of trees and bushes, etc, and a nice little fire pit, good for enjoying a fire while sharing stories and beers, or even making smores.

The owners, Sheila and Greg, are awesome! They're exceptional hosts and are very sincerely interested in you and your trip, they want to be of assistance if they can, and they're sociable as all get out. My wife and I really enjoyed their company and may just visit them again, just to see them and enjoy their good conversation. And this is coming from an introverted anti-social type (me, not my wife).

Greg has a boat in Homer and is a registered Captain. If you want to fish for halibut or salmon, he's your man. He's a helluva guy and his New Zealand sensibilities (sense of humor, ability to enjoy himself, etc) are a bonus for us Yanks. And his wife, Sheila, is a real firecracker, a fine woman and somebody you could easily call your friend.

Whether you're a couple looking to enjoy a little romance, a pack of dudes or a pack of chicks looking to fish your guts out, or a quiet little family looking to study and enjoy the area, you'd do well to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews