We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly place out of town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crane's Rest B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crane's Rest B&B
Ranked #3 of 41 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly place out of town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hosts were very friendly and accommodating and the room was spacious during our two night stay. The B&B is 6 miles out of town, but is a nice rural neighborhood with great views. Still it was a little pricey for the location, though a nice stay overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamesdon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
65
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
swansea ma us
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in June while fishing and exploring the area. Julie and Steve, our hosts, were warm, welcoming and so helpful in recommending places of interest. The breakfasts were terrific. For our fishing expedition mornings Julie prepared a take-along breakfast and coffee setup to brew and go as we had to be on the docks early. The room was nice and clean. Private entrances to all the rooms is a plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wonderful owners provided a great stay for our family. We were offered the entire ground floor with a large private bathroom and a spacious bedroom that accommodated our three kids, my wife and I.

We stayed a total of two very restful nights and started each morning with a delicious breakfast prepared personally by Julie and Steve. The eating area was located on the top floor of the B&B and awarded us spectacular views of the surrounding countryside and the mountain range across the bay.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent 3 nights at this B&B and were delighted with our stay. The owners were delightful. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to inform us about the area, sites to see, and things to do. Breakfast was always very tasty. During our stay there the entire area lost power. Since the grocery stores and restaurants were closed we had no way to get dinner. Steve and Julie stepped in and made us salmon chowder out on a propane stove outside. When we went to leave the B&B we found a wire in our vehicle tire so they pulled out their large jack and helped us change the tire. Thank you for going out of your way to make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine4707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights last week. We had a nice modern clean double room with ensuite. The property has an amazing view of snowy mountains. There was lots of wildlife around including moose on the road. Couple who ran the B&B went out of their way to make us feel at home and tell us about the area. Breakfast was great - good veggie and meat options. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingcircus32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chappell, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at the Crane's Rest and had a marvelous time. Not only were the rooms outstanding, the hostess, Julie, was a wonderful hostess and cook and entertainer. With her knowledge of the area, she suggested different places to visit after marvelous breakfasts. Wine and cheese in the afternoon. Just absolutely fabulous. Can't wait until we can come back!!!

Room Tip: Look for rooms on the second or third floor for better vista views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This was our first trip to Homer and Crane's had the right price for the end of September. Julie and Steve are excellent hosts, very warm and welcoming, and they have the sweetest dog in Alaska. The room we had was big and had views of the glaciers from our window. A beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sm837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
7.2 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
6.6 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
5.2 mi away
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Spyglass Inn B&B
The Spyglass Inn B&B
#11 of 41 in Homer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
6.8 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Good Karma Inn
Good Karma Inn
#1 of 41 in Homer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crane's Rest B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crane's Rest B&B

Property: Crane's Rest B&B
Address: 39720 Sibson Dr., Homer, AK 99603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Crane's Rest B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been open since 2009 and love getting to know our guests from all over the world. There are 3 guest rooms (downstairs) with private entrances and bathrooms and, new in 2011, we offer a 2-bedroom suite (upstairs) with its own bath that will be great for families. We are open year round and offer reduced pricing in the Winter so check us out on the Web or on Facebook for more information! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crane's Rest B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crane's Rest B&B Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing