We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paula is great fun”
Review of Paula's Place B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paula's Place B&B
Ranked #8 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed for one night at Paula's in Homer and it was great. Pluses are that you can use her clothes washer and dryer, get on a hiking trail 1 minute from her place, walk to town and even the airport if you are traveling light. Her Internet is extremely fast. Safeway is not far. Good views of the water from her house. And a police officer lives 2 doors down! We would stay here again in a heartbeat. She said she is starting to take bookings into 2014.

Room Tip: You get the entire downstairs, but no kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tugokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauril, Owner at Paula's Place B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to my place and hope the rest of your Alaska vacation is filled with wonders! I would love to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We have stayed with Paula once before. Last year she was booked on our dates and we could not stay there. We REALLY missed her and her place. It has 2 bedrooms and worked really well for us with our grandson. Paula makes sure you are very comfortable and is very helpful on things to do in the area. She makes a TOTAL breakfast for you in the morning and her french toast this year was WONDERFUL! My grandson also loved her banana nut pancakes.
GREAT place to stay in Homer.

Room Tip: There is only one room, but it has 2 bedrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Paula takes on just one guest or group at a time, and you have the run of the ground floor of her house in a quiet neighborhood. We paid $250 (tax included) for two nights in a two-bedroom suite with private bath, large living room, fridge and microwave, flat screen TV with lots of channels. and a wi-fi connection with good speed. Breakfast is upstairs in Paula's apartment, where she will relate a lot of information about things to do in and around Homer. There is a nice view of Katchemak Bay and the mountains; look for the picture I uploaded of a moonrise over the bay. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoadTripRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Now, if you ever go to Homer and need a B&B, then this is the place for you!!! You have the whole downstairs to yourselves with two bedrooms,bathroom and huge living room and you can't beat the price!! Paula lives upstairs and is a very sweet lady with a warm heart and lovely breakfasts!!! We got some Halibut on our trip and she cooked some up for us and the two of us ate with her upstairs, another honor on our trip!!! She's a very fine cook and full of great stories of Alaska and the surrounding area. Her little dog "Bear" is about the cutest dog I've ever seen!! Thank you for the lovely three days with you!! You'll never be forgotten and if I ever come back you will be my headquarters!! Thank you again!! B&B2

Room Tip: Wonderful place to stay and plenty of room for an entire family!! Great view over looking Kachemack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Paula's Place is the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Her entire first floor is yours to invade, and we surely did just that. Our family thoroughly enjoyed spending breakfast with Paula each morning of our weeklong vacation in Homer. She served a fresh (and plentiful) hot meal each morning. Everyone in our family felt comfortable and enjoyed ourselves. She even had a beautiful back patio with grill and fire pit for us to use at our leisure. Her home is walking distance to downtown Homer, a nice, large park, and several walking trails.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gardnerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauril, Owner at Paula's Place B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

I love having families stay - the kids are so much fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Living in Alaska, we have been to Homer many times in the last 30 years. We were looking for a B&B in town, and Paula's Place fit the bill. The welcoming committee was there, including a moose in the front yard one evening and a sandhill crane crossing the road early on another morning! Paula makes the best breakfast (and we love breakfast!); she is very accomodating to dietary restrictions (one of us is gluten-free and is alergic to corn, onions, and garlic). And the food was both interesting, varied, and there was plenty of it. There is plenty of space in the downstairs part of the B&B and you can come and go through a separate entrance, whcih made it very convenient for us. And to top it off, Paula is a wonderful host! I can't think of one negative thing about this B&B. Oh, the hot water in the bathroom takes a minute to reach the faucet first thing in the morning....but who's awake for that anyway?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauril, Owner at Paula's Place B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

I consider dietary restrictions a challenge. I love to see if I can fix an interesting, delicious breakfast within the parameters of a guest's requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Paula's Place in May 2011. It was a very relaxing trip. The accommodations are in the basement of her home and we had two rooms and a living room all to ourselves. It was very spacious and could easily fit 6 people. We relaxed and on the day that we went fishing Paula made us breakfast to go. We had a lovely time and had a great time visiting with Paula and her little dog bear.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ana_belle03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauril, Owner at Paula's Place B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. The feeling was mutual. It's great to have a business where I get to meet such wonderful people!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
6.7 mi away
Crane's Rest B&B
Crane's Rest B&B
#1 of 40 in Homer
125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay Avenue Bed and Breakfast
5.7 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.3 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#5 of 30 in Homer
51 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paula's Place B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paula's Place B&B

Address: 4067 Calhoun St, Homer, AK 99603-7513
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range: £61 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 2-bedroom suite is located on a quiet side street in downtown Homer within walking distance of numerous attractions. Enjoy a view of the bay and mountains while dining on a fantastic hot breakfast, relax in the comfortable private guest lounge, complete with cable TV, WiFi, microwave, refrigerator and separate entrance or cook a salmon in the BBQ/picnic area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paula's Place B&B Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing