We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”
Review of Paula's Place B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paula's Place B&B
Ranked #5 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We spent one night at Paula's and it was a wonderful stop on our vacation. We had everything we could possibly need in our suite downstairs. So much room and everything so comfortable. Paula was so friendly and so accommodating. The breakfast was to die for. We had fresh peaches and granola, then an egg casserole with hash browns and toast. We enjoyed talking to Paula so much. We were already a little tired from the first days of our vacation and we had a great night's sleep that night. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank VAturtlelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauril, Owner at Paula's Place B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

My chief goal in operating Paula's Place B&B is to make certain my guests can be comfortable in their suite in the evening and enjoy a good breakfast in the morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Paula's Place B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

All the reviews of Paula's Place are spot on. The B&B is roomy and clean and is within walking distance to some of the art galleries and shops. Like others said, you have the whole ground floor to yourselves which includes 2 spacious rooms a bathroom and living/tv area - the rooms, space and privacy are a welcome break during long tight travels. What made it the most memorable was/is Paula. What a warm, friendly and welcoming person. She serves a wonderful warm breakfast cooked all homemade and joins you at the table. She happily allow my mom and I to join her on a rainy hike with her quiet corgi then invited us to join her and her family in a homemade dinner.

What a welcome stop this was and it really stood out to me as one of the best ever. (I now regret many previous excellent ratings - they don't hold up to this).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksm67e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauril, Owner at Paula's Place B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

I consider my guests as my surrogate families and with only taking one group at a time in my B&B suite I am able to thoroughly enjoy their visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Paula makes you feel like you are part of the family when staying in her B&B. The breakfasts were outstanding and the best part is Paula joins you for breakfast with stories of Homer and advice on what to do and see. The location is great, just a few minutes from the restaurants, the Homer spit and the fishing charters and bear watching plane tie-ups. We even saw two sand hill cranes a few houses down the street in a neighbors front lawn. The room(s) include a large living room in addition to the bedroom so lots of space to relax in after a long day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: Only one room to rent so make reservations early
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Staying at Paulas is just wonderful. You have an entire lower level to yourselves. So extra room to watch some tv, relax etc. Paulas breakfast are awesome. The pumpkin walnut waffles, the homemade everything. Yum Yum. She will even get up early for you, if your the early fishing folk, and make that yummy breakfast before you head out for the day.
Everything is very clean and comfortable. Location is very nice. We choose Paulas because of the good reviews on trip advisor, but hope to return another time, because of our own personnal great expierence.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauril, Owner at Paula's Place B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

My guests have been such wonderful people - it's easy to be a good hostess when you can thoroughly enjoy being with them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have stayed here before and keep coming back. Paula does an excellent job running this place. The place is immaculate and her cooking is outstanding. She makes our stay in Homer special every year. The breakfast lasted all day...we were never able to have lunch after one of Paula's great breakfasts!! Very consistent in all that she does. The freezer space was very much appreciated as well!

Room Tip: There are two bedrooms, but we like the one with the sink in it. Washer and dryer are available as w...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula99603, Owner at Paula's Place B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

It's gratifying to have guests come back year after year. It means they realize how terrific Homer really is!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed at Paula's Place B & B for three nights in May. We were two couples in our fifties and sixties, travelling independently in Alaska for nine days following a seven day cruise, We loved our time in Homer and especially enjoyed meeting and talking with many people during our stay.Paula wasn't at home when we arrived but we were welcomed with a friendly note asking us to make ourselves at home in the lovely downstairs accommodation which was very spacious with two bedrooms, separate bathroom and a large living room.We joined our wonderful hostess Paula in the mornings for delicious breakfasts while admiring the stunning views of the sea and mountains. We took advantage of the clear sunny days to explore Homer and the surrounding areas including the spit and a drive out the East End road which provided lovely views of Ketchamak Bay. We were fortunate to get a closeup encounter of a mother moose and her baby in Paula's drive, which was one of the many highlights during our wonderful trip to Alaska. Thank you very much Paula (and Bear) for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChppLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula99603, Owner at Paula's Place B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

I enjoy hearing from guests who have thoroughly enjoyed so much of what Homer has to offer. Of course, if they can see moose in my front yard, it's always a plus!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

For 3 of us we had 2 great size rooms and our own living area not to mention the B&B to ourselves. Paula made a great breakfast for us on our last day in Alaska. The B&B is perfectly situated near down and a short drive to the spit. Definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissy0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paula99603, Owner at Paula's Place B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Isn't it wonderful to be in a business where you can meet all these terrific people?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.2 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
148 reviews
2.1 mi away
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fisherman's Tales B & B
Fisherman's Tales B & B
#12 of 40 in Homer
17 reviews
5.7 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
870 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paula's Place B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paula's Place B&B

Address: 4067 Calhoun St, Homer, AK 99603-7513
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range: £63 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This suite is located in downtown Homer on a quiet side street within walking distance of art galleries, restaurants, museums, hiking trails and the beach. Enjoy a view of the bay and mountains while dining on a fresh, hot breakfast, relax in the comfortable private guest lounge, complete with cable TV, WiFi, microwave,refrigerator and separate entrance or enjoy the BBQ/picnic area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paula's Place B&B Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing