We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place. Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paula's Place B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paula's Place B&B
Ranked #6 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charming place. Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were thrilled to stay at Paula's place. My sister and I traveled through Alaska for the week. This was our last stop. We had the whole downstairs of the house - we each had our own room, and the beds were comfy. The house is decorate tastefully Paula was delightful. She made a delicious (and enormous) breakfast that we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
40
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

My wife, daughters and I had a great 3 night stay with Paula. Breakfasts were the best of our trip and the downstairs private guest area was perfect for us. Washer and dryer, private bedrooms, big living area. Very clean and comfortable. Paula was an excellent host. Great way to spend my wife's birthday!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MisterDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xenia, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Although there are dozens of places in Homer with amazing views, I doubt many can compare to the service that Paula provides. The home cooked breakfasts are amazing, and she is more than willing to cater to any dietary needs. The living space is quite large, and the sheets on the bed are incredibly soft. Wouldn't stay anywhere else if we come back to Homer!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goodchees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenna, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We've stayed at at least 2 dozen B&B in Alaska over the last few years and Paula's in a class of it's own. She makes you feel like part of the family. With her excellent breakfasts, always something different and unexpected. The helpfull advice of what to do and see, and insight on the different options you will have is a real plus. The downstairs suite is very relaxing, with everything you need after a long day.
The only down side is that you get spoiled with the extra attention to detail she puts into running her "place".

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nebguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here two nights in August and had a wonderful stay even if we didn't have time for a sit down breakfast. Paula was such a gracious host that she even prepared a "to go" breakfast. The location is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The rooms are cozy and immaculate. If we need a two bedroom in Homer again, we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lonnie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauril, Owner at Paula's Place B&B, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Since I have only one group at a time, I am glad I am able to accommodate breakfast to my guests' schedule. They have come to Alaska and Homer to enjoy what it has to offer and shouldn't have to change their schedule for my convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We spent one night at Paula's and it was a wonderful stop on our vacation. We had everything we could possibly need in our suite downstairs. So much room and everything so comfortable. Paula was so friendly and so accommodating. The breakfast was to die for. We had fresh peaches and granola, then an egg casserole with hash browns and toast. We enjoyed talking to Paula so much. We were already a little tired from the first days of our vacation and we had a great night's sleep that night. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank VAturtlelvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauril, Owner at Paula's Place B&B, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
My chief goal in operating Paula's Place B&B is to make certain my guests can be comfortable in their suite in the evening and enjoy a good breakfast in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

All the reviews of Paula's Place are spot on. The B&B is roomy and clean and is within walking distance to some of the art galleries and shops. Like others said, you have the whole ground floor to yourselves which includes 2 spacious rooms a bathroom and living/tv area - the rooms, space and privacy are a welcome break during long tight travels. What made it the most memorable was/is Paula. What a warm, friendly and welcoming person. She serves a wonderful warm breakfast cooked all homemade and joins you at the table. She happily allow my mom and I to join her on a rainy hike with her quiet corgi then invited us to join her and her family in a homemade dinner.

What a welcome stop this was and it really stood out to me as one of the best ever. (I now regret many previous excellent ratings - they don't hold up to this).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksm67e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauril, Owner at Paula's Place B&B, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
I consider my guests as my surrogate families and with only taking one group at a time in my B&B suite I am able to thoroughly enjoy their visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.7 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bidarka Inn
1.2 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
5.7 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paula's Place B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paula's Place B&B

Property: Paula's Place B&B
Address: 4067 Calhoun St, Homer, AK 99603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This suite is located in downtown Homer on a quiet side street within walking distance of art galleries, restaurants, museums, hiking trails and the beach. Enjoy a view of the bay and mountains while dining on a fresh, hot breakfast, relax in the comfortable private guest lounge, complete with cable TV, WiFi, microwave,refrigerator and separate entrance or enjoy the BBQ/picnic area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paula's Place B&B Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing