We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whalesong Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Shores(Homer)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Land's End Resort(Homer)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$95
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
8
1
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
1
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Whalesong Bed and Breakfast. It's located just off Pioneer Ave., a main throughfare; shops and restaurants are within walking distance, though the Spit would be a bit far. The owner, Carole, is an excellent hostess. She had recommendations for restaurants (for lunch and dinner), things to do, places to visit, and scenic spots. We immediately felt like she was a friend. We stayed in one of the first-floor rooms, at a discounted rate because the bathroom was shared. It was cozy and comfortable, with beautiful wood fixtures made by Carole's husband. The food was quality, with fresh granola and fruit to eat and tea, coffee, milk, or water to drink. If we go back to Homer, Whalesong will be our choice for lodging.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We traveled to Homer at the suggestion of our adult daughter, who joined us at the Whalesong B&B, which I had found - online. This was her 3rd visit to Homer, our 1st. During her previous 2 visits - she & friends had camped out on the "Spit." The town is first rate - well worth the trip - off the beaten path! The B&B is run by a woman who is an empty-nester/grandmother. The house is a split level, so you can have complete privacy in the 2 guest rooms (1st accommodates up to 3, the other 2). They were her daughters' bedrooms. Guests will enjoy the company of Carole, the charming owner/operator - if they are looking for good suggestions of what to see, where to eat, where to hike, good places to shop or look at the work of local artists, etc. Or you can have your privacy. Carole & her husband, a deep-sea fisherman - live upstairs. Her husband is also a skilled wood-worker, so his attractive handiwork is EVERYWHERE in the house. Carole is an amazing baker - fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies were available upon our arrival & fresh-baked muffins with breakfast. Very homey, extremely clean, you can make your own coffee or tea (anytime of day or night). Great selection of books, if you like to read. Large map of Alaska on the wall of the common room. B&B is located off the main street - just a short drive into a middle-class, suburban-looking neighborhood.

Room Tip: not relevant
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Qbear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We are always looking for comfortable homey lodging in Homer for a reasonable price...we travel here often for birding. The Whalesong checks the boxes for us. The owner and hostess, Carole, is fun and friendly. The location is great...quiet, easy to find and close to the Homer amenities. The Whalesong has lots of charater with hand crafted woodwork adding a special touch. We like the breakfast of fresh eggs (just laid the prior day) ganola, etc - ready when we want it. We love the private entrance and great parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Whalesong B&B is a spectacular gem hidden smack dab in the middle of downtown, which made everything we wanted to see and do accessible with a quick walk...not that we had any reason to leave! Carole and Jack are gracious, knowledgeable and witty, and the thirty-five years they've called Homer home has made them resident experts on the area. Jack is an accomplished woodworker, and his pieces create a unique, fascinating atmosphere that Carole keeps neat, tidy and efficient. We make sure to come back once a year for a visit, and only wish we could make the trip more often.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pizza_princess333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Our experience at Whalesong B & B was wonderful! From the intial greeting by Carole, our gracious hostess, to the attention to detail provided for our comfort in the wonderfully appointed bedroom, very comfortable bed, and wonderful breakfasts, we couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay. Each restaurant Carole recommended was excellent, as were her recommendations for what to do and see in Homer. Her homemade granola is out of this world, and breakfast muffins she made us were delicious - with a different special treat for each morning! Not to mention Henrietta, who provided us with fresh boiled eggs each morning. Special yogurt and coffee were awesome, too! If you are looking for the best B & B in Homer, Whalesong is the place to stay! We will certainly go back if we have the opportunity to visit Alaska again.

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally nice. If you are traveling as a family or with two couples, renting the suite is the way to go! The spacious sunroom offers plenty of living space for relaxing and visiting, as well as for enjoying breakfast. TV, microwave and mini frig are provided. Hostess also allows laundry to be done on premises for a modest fee.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews