We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing and enjoyable experience.”
Review of Homer Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homer Inn & Spa
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Soldotna, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very relaxing and enjoyable experience.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The view was great, the room very comfortable and the place and nice charm to it. Quiet and serene I think was a good way to describe our visit and it was just what my wife and I needed. We had never been there but definitely plan on returning next time we need a getaway. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    14
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
74
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Talkeetna, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Highly recommend staying here. The view was spectacular! We booked a 1/2 day halibut charter followed by a 1 hour massage. It was AMAZING, and so fun having a girls fishing trip! The rooms are artsy with neat mosaics. We are the type of people that like things that are a little off the beaten path. Just beware of the eagle above the bench swing...he has good aim, haha! Priceless mom memory.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank Ali-McCullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We made a reservation by phone earlier that day before leaving town (from Anchorage, Homer is a 5 hour drive). We couldn't leave until late that evening so we called Homer Inn & Spa several times (and left messages) to try to either get there a day later, or make arrangements for our late arrival, but nobody picked up the phone or called us back. Due to the fact that our 2 nights were already paid for and we had no luck calling them, we headed out and got there at 1 in the morning. At their empty Reception area, there was a phone with a number to call. On the other side of the line Paul, the owner (with whom I talked earlier to make the reservation for the 2 nights): "I'm sold out and there is nothing I can do. I could try to help you find another place for the night".
My husband, our 3 children and I waited there, since he was going to "help us". Meanwhile we called all the accomodations with night staff in Homer and no luck, the whole town seemed to be sold out. We called him back and this time his phone went to voicemail, and the lights of the Owners' cabin went off. We left and it wasn't until 3:30am that we found a room to stay for the rest of the night. We, like you probably, thought this was going to be awesome... it was a nightmare. Since the owner was avoiding us (he had all our information if he wanted to reach us) we needed help to get a refund for the money that was paid. On the website, the price of the "Seaside Villa" we booked was $239.00 (plus 7.5% tax) but for whatever reason, our credit card was charged $599.85 for the 2 nights. Think twice before choosing this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paulina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homerinnandspa, General Manager at Homer Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Our sincerest apologies for the misunderstanding! When you canceled your reservation, we immediately refunded 100% of the charge on your credit card. When you changed your mind, our office was already closed at 8:00pm...and we had already rebooked the room to another client. We have had a successful, wonderful business for 14 years...we would NEVER purpose to hurt a potential client. Also, the amount we charged and refunded was the exact amount advertised on our website...the Seaside Villa plus three additional people and the added tax. But...please accept our apologies (even though we followed proper protocol)...we would never have canceled your reservation had we known you were going to change your mind and arrive at 2:00 am expecting a room. Allow us to gift you a two night stay for free, regardless of fault...come enjoy a glass of wine with us, and laugh off the misunderstanding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Palm Beach
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We unfortunately stayed only one night in this neat little place. Homer is a cute little fishing town with amazing views. This artsy place made us smile. The room was interesting like a artist who had a lot of free time on their hands and used it in the room. Free glass(es) of local wine in the lobby, spa treatment rooms right outside--waterfront. Beautiful views. We had wonderful weather, a nice spa treatment but unfortunately had to leave early in the morning for fishing and from the fishing went to another location. I would stay here again but for longer period.

Room Tip: All rooms have names and are unique. We only stayed in one so can't really recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nhirsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The rooms are unique -- funky and artsy, but not luxurious. The view and setting is to die for. We sat in the hot tub and watched a bald eagle come and go from its nest right above us. Very cool. The spa room was terrific, and the massage was the best I've had in a loooong time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dclm_ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I love everything about this inn. Great location, amazing view. Stayed at Glacier View Room for two nights and I didn't want to leave. Clean room, clean bathroom, and absolutely love the decor. Very close to good restaurants by car and the inn owners are very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mini_fish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed in Glacier for 3 nights recently. The location was great but hard to find and our GPS didn't really help because the Ocean Drive Loop is really not a full loop.

The room was ok. Some of the decorations such as the shell details in the shower and the wood support on the bed were actually hazardous to your health. The carpeting is old and shabby and warped. The plates in the room were not clean. There was netting over the bed for decoration but it was very dusty and had insects in it but management removed it when I complained.

Loved having a private patio but the furniture and table weren't clean so it was less appealing.

The hot tub was amazing with an amazing view. We watched a bald eagle in a tree on the property for about 30 minutes.

The lack of any food or snacks other than popcorn bags in the room was disappointing. Most spa/hotels offer some refreshments.

Overall not bad but not outstanding either.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veggievet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
homerinnandspa, General Manager at Homer Inn & Spa, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thanks for choosing to stay with us!
Sorry you had a difficult time finding us...and I wish we had the ability to alter the satellites that control your GPS...we just don't. The map on our website and our confirmation letter give vey clear directions...a much better choice than random GPS systems that will fail in Chicago as easily as Homer, Alaska.
Our rooms have many custom, artistic touches that are NOT hazardous to your health...we chose to be artistic over a sterile, plastic setting. We are VERY clear on our website that we have a very natural and artistic flow to our boutique resort spa setting. If you were looking for sterile, a room with a vinyl floor and linoleum counter tops would have been a better choice. In regards to the carpet...it is BRAND NEW and was in need of stretching...very common with new carpets in the heat of summer. Our outside furniture is cleaned on a regular basis...but reality is...we are OCEANFRONT in Alaska...again, we make that vey clear on our website, along with making it VERY clear on our website that we are an INN, and not a cutesy B&B with afternoon snacks and cookies.
Our advise? Please review a website carefully so you will know better your choice for accommodations. We obviously were NOT what you were looking for...but we take great pride and effort to carefully and truthfully represent ourselves to our potential clientele.

Thanks for your candid assessment of your stay~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
1.0 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
0.2 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
1.4 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#1 of 14 in Homer
745 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homer Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homer Inn & Spa

Property: Homer Inn & Spa
Address: 895 Ocean Drive Loop, Homer, AK 99603-7920
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Homer Inn & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homer Inn & Spa is a boutique hotel and day spa located right on the oceanfront in beautiful Homer, Alaska. The setting is nothing short of spectacular...unobstructed views of five glaciers, the wild and scenic Alaskan coastline, and a steady stream of wildlife...all enjoyed from the leisure of a beautifully landscaped oceanfront setting. All of our rooms reflect the majesty of the rustic Alaskan coastline, with a unique artistic flair in a luxury setting. As well, all of our rooms capture that beauty with wall to wall windows and oceanfront decks over the water. The Day Spa incorporates the elements of the majesty of wild Alaska into every treatment, as we celebrate the Creator's special touch on this Land! Find the ultimate in luxury and relaxation in one of the world's truly great settings...it would be our pleasure to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Homer Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homer Inn & Spa Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing