We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“No Guarantees” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenglow Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpenglow Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“No Guarantees”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked in February for accommodation in July!!! - , went through the "process" online as explained via email from Liz/Lisa...? And got her promise for a reservation. We arrived early, thank goodness in Homer and on a hunch decided to call to see if the Glacier Cabin was ready for us. She had NEVER put us on her books for a reservation - spaced it.
Another party was in the room and she wouldn't ask them to leave, naturally.
SO,,, when YOU book, ask her if you are on the books, get an email conformation, check up often to confirm you didn't get forgotten.
We understand this can happen but it put us in a frantic search during the most busy season!
Luckily we got a fabulous place and are so very, very glad we found it by happenstance! Try the Halcyon Heights B&B.
Later we heard from locals that the website looks better than the actual cabin at Alpenglow.
Oh well....

Room Tip: Be sure you have a confirmation email and then call to be absolutely certain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunzanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz b, Owner at Alpenglow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
When a reservation request is submitted online, an automated email is sent out that specifically states that you will be contacted by the owner to confirm your reservation. None was ever sent to you since I inadvertently missed your email . I explained this to you, and apologized for the missed booking. When you arrived, you adamantly insisted multiple times that I should boot the current occupants out of the cabin. I told you that I could not do that. But I promised that I would immediately find you a comparable place and price to stay . You angrily left and insisted then that you would find your own place. I still called you back within 15 minutes to give you several other comparable places to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    2
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the lower floor. Pros: clean, neat, big space. Cons: no breakfast, no kitchen. no internet. Don't agree to stay if there are guests in the upper floor - Isolation is terrible (and loud noise from the water pump)...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz b, Owner at Alpenglow Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 January 2015
I am sorry your were unhappy with your visit to the lower level of our chalet. Noise can always be an issue with 2 levels, and though we specifically remind guests in the upper level to be quiet when guests are in the lower level, we cannot guarantee they will comply. We would hope that you would contact us at the time of the occurrence in hopes of remedying the situation.
The upper level has the full kitchen. There is no internet, kitchen, nor full breakfast on the lower level, and these are not advertised on our website for the lower chalet. But what is provided on the lower level is a coffee pot, microwave, toaster, toaster oven, hotplate , and BBQ grill outside . We do also provide coffee, tea, hot cocoa, and instant oatmeal/grits for both levels of the chalet. And on request for an extra fee, we offer a continental breakfast, which is also advertised on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Alpenglow was one of our favorite stops. The loveliest hosts, a beautiful panoramic house facing the glacier a few miles away from the hustle and bustle of summery Homer. A delicious homemade breakfast in glorious morning sunshine.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieNantes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We received a warm and friendly welcome from Liz & Rich when we arrived at their lovely home. Their house is located a short distance out of Homer in a quiet rural location, with fantastic views across the bay. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with our own separate bathroom. As first-time visitors to Alaska we were particularly grateful to our hosts for the useful information they gave us about the area and their advice on good places to eat. Our three night stay was too short to do justice Homer, definitely a place to stay for a few days longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard503956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We had 4 people in our party and the cabin was perfect for all of us. Good 2 bedroom space with privacy for all. Great view of the beautiful bay and surrounding mountains right out the living room window. Good window coverings kept out the "midnight sun" but were pulled aside in the daytime to catch the view. Liz and Rick were wonderful hosts and constantly working to make great improvements to the property. Sure appreciate their good advice on sights to see and terrific directions to all spots of interest. The short ride from town was easy with little traffic and so nice and quiet. We woke to beautiful bird songs each day. Very comfortable and a super clean, rustic spot, a little bit of heaven. Thanks a BUNCH.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nnmercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellinzona, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at the Alpenglow B&B beginning of september 2011 and enjoied the pleasant company of Liz and Rich. Quiet location with panoramic view. Delicious breakfast. Very helpful hosts!!
Thanks guys for the great stay in Homer!! This was the best part of our trip in Alaska!
Rosy & Paolo

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosy755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed for three nights in august. Liz is a great hostess and very friendly who knows a lot about the area. The room at the b and b was fine and clean. Breakfast was continental, a variety of sweet breads, fruit and toast. It's 6 miles from town buy that wasn't a problem for us. My only recommendation would be that somewhere on the web page they should say that they don't serve a full cooked breakfast. For two women it was fine, but most men would want a bigger meal. Overall, very positive.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbymcsnoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
6.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
6.8 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
6.6 mi away
Pioneer Inn Homer
Pioneer Inn Homer
#9 of 40 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Fisherman's Tales B & B
Fisherman's Tales B & B
#14 of 40 in Homer
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
2.0 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#5 of 27 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
6.8 mi away
Windjammer Suites
Windjammer Suites
#14 of 14 in Homer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenglow Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenglow Bed & Breakfast

Property: Alpenglow Bed & Breakfast
Address: Fernwood, Homer, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Alpenglow Bed & Breakfast Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing