We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mostly Pleasant Accommodation with an Enjoyable...”
other travellers have booked this property
dining with a veiw
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dining with a veiw
full kitchen comfort is key
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
dining with a veiw
full kitchen
comfort is key
comfortable leather  furniture
comfort with blackout curtains
Plenty of room
bedroom 2
boat across the bay for dinner
this is your view
let's go fishinng
living room
Good Morning View
local neighbors
Sand Hill Cranes come for a visit
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
Pastel sunset
Hallway
Rainbow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Homer, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Scrivster
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mostly Pleasant Accommodation with an Enjoyable View”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife, teenage son, and I rented this place for six days/five nights. We arrived to find it clean and well appointed, with all the amenities that were promised. The lawn was well groomed. The furnishings were great. Jeannette, the owner, was a fine communicator, and very nice. We were surprised upon arrival to discover that this place was only the ground floor of a three-story structure, but that turned out just fine; we had our own private driveway, and the run of the front lawn and outdoor fire pit. We had no noise from upstairs; it was as if we were alone, just as we wanted it. One oddity was to find many leftover items in the bathroom medicine closets and showers as well as the refrigerator; would have preferred those were empty, but not a big issue. At the same time, the owner had stocked the place with plenty of toilet paper, bars of soap, and fresh towels/washcloths of nice quality; that was definitely appreciated. Three disappointments: 1) The TV's mentioned in the rental description were located in each bedroom, but were quite small. 2) The WiFi that was mentioned as part of the rental was very poor in the front room (which is the best place in the house to be due to the view). I was continually kicked off the network when in that room. 3) That front room gets very hot during the day as the sun blasts away, and none of the windows open. The two exterior doors (one on each side of that one room) have no screen doors, so you can't leave them open without getting bugs flying in all over the place. The addition of screen doors would be marvelous!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view. Definitely the view.
Liked least: The inconsistent wi-fi when in the front room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevrenuff
Savannah, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular view-Lovely hospitality”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wished we could have stayed here longer!. Very comfortable, clean, top of the line kitchen with everything you need to cook meals if you want. Immaculately clean full baths with nice fluffy towels, The bed was the most comfortable one we slept in our entire month in Alaska.Jeanette has put a lot of consideration into the little amenities that make your stay more pleasant ie set of binoculars in window for seeing glacier and wildlife, flashlights by each bedside, menus for near by restaurants, brochures etc.... Best part of our stay was waking up and having our coffee while watching two yearling moose munching on thier breakfast of fireweed right outside sitting room window. The view of the glacier and bay was pretty spectacular too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
San Marcos, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, beautiful house.”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband and I, along with our parents, stayed here while visiting Homer in July. While away, this was by far the best place we stayed. The house is up on a hill, and from the living room/dining room there are gorgeous views of the bay, mountains, and glacier. We also enjoyed watching birds hopping around the yard.

The space itself was very clean and comfortable. Being two sets of couples, we enjoyed that each bedroom had its own bathroom, and there was plenty of privacy. There are many maps and guidebooks available in the house to refer to as well. It was quiet and peaceful at all hours.

If you plan to visit Homer, we strongly recommend checking out this Glacier Vista house, you will not regret it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views.
Liked least: Wifi could be a littly spotty.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraDic...
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“We would have gladly stayed for a week”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our party of four (two senior-couples) really enjoyed our stay here. There was plenty of room and everything we needed inside. All appliances and furniture are first-rate. We especially appreciated Jeanette's attention to the decorations and artwork which beautifully represented Alaska. We enjoyed clear skies and sunshine when we visited so we were also able to take advantage of the outside seating. While the view from both the living room and the lawn is wonderful, a five-minute walk up the road presented even better photo opportunities, as well as a chance to observe a browsing moose. The house was easy to find, in a quiet area but just a ten-minute drive to Safeway and Homer's other amenities. Homer, by the way, is a REALLY fun place to visit with lots to do. Our only "complaint"... We could stay for only two nights. This was the perfect way to begin our Alaska vacation!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and peaceful
Liked least: No complaints whatsoever
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2015
Thank you for everything! Please come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Engadiner
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“Excellent view, excellent host and all you need to feel at home”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A really nice rental apartment with a stupendous view over the glacier and the bay. Contact with Jeannette was always very easy and efficient. She is a perfect host, always available and with a short response time and helpful with tips and suggestions.
The two bedrooms are dark – even with long daytime hours no blackout curtains needed. The matrasses are excellent and hard.
The bathrooms are well equipped and products are provided generously.
The kitchen has everything you may think of and then some more. Such a lot of items available that you just can check in with your fresh grocery and start cooking. A clean gas BBQ is at disposition. We enjoyed lots of hours at the dining table with a beautiful view. We liked it so much that we even took out lunch and dinner to eat “at home” instead of a restaurant. There is an excellent choice of seafood from the fish warehouse on the split – really good king crab legs – as well as fresh oysters which they will open for you for a minimal charge. Safe-u-more – a tip by Jeannette – had excellent local beef (Mc Neill Cannon meats).
We enjoyed our stay at the Glaciervista very much and dream about returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage...
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, quiet, comfortable and fully stocked”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just a few miles from town so access is easy with a car. Full kitchen, large living area, and two full bedrooms with bath - all were comfortable and clean. The view was beautiful and we enjoyed the outside firepit in the evenings. The kitchen is very well stocked and would work well for up to six people. The owner was close in case we had any issues. I would definitely recommend this quiet retreat in Homer.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
555666Mar...
Fenton, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The View! The View! The View!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

You walk into the first room and see this big window with a perfect view. You plop into a chair wishing you could stay for the whole summer.. I think the beauty of Homer is partly why you feel so good and understand why so many people chose to stay in Homer or choose to return over and over again.
The rental is clean and Jeanette is a wonderful host.
We had a rainy week and didn't care at all. Just put on the rain jacket and off we went exploring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and new
Liked least: Nothing I can think of
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2013
Thank you for your nice comments. Hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing