We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 Night Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Shores
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“2 Night Stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Beautiful location, perfect spot in Homer. Great view, and great service from everybody we encountered. Did I mention great view? The best, clean, a great place, will be here again on our next trip to Homer. Mark and Ronda

Room Tip: Get down on the lowest level, closest to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    92
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
75
121
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The rooms where quite large, two double beds, shower with bathtub (after being on a cruise ship for a week with a tiny shower this is like luxury). Stayed two nights in Sept, so husband could fish. Stayed in the oceanview ( not oceanfront) rooms. They were fine, who stays in their room anyway?! The short walk down to the beach is well worth the price you pay, view priceless!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxsmom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager596, Front Office Manager at Ocean Shores, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love Homer and are always happy when someone has a great time in our town. I want you to know that we are in the process of modernizing our rooms. Our first step is to install flat screen TV's. We have more things planned throughout the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had an oceanview room with outside balcony just yards from the beach from where we could watch the bald eagles. The rooms are clean and comfortable although not the last word in luxury. Its position is its main advantage and if you value a beach front room, you will enjoy it here. I would very happily stay here again. There is no restaurant facility but there are some good ones within walking distance in the old town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria MN USA
Level Contributor
318 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was a pleasant place, but nothing special. Rooms were clean, but could use some updating. The view is good, but we did not get a front room...leaving the view average at best.
Just another average hotel in Alaska without king beds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
402 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I realize this is not a five-star hotel. Just understand you can hear everything above you and next to you. Tripadvisor should consider adding a noise rating. Housekeeping pretty sloppy - they merely lifted bed cover back over disheveled pillows (just like this bachelor does at home).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamAdamsGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

First of all, if you stay here go for the beachfront room otherwise your experience will be unacceptable for sure. The view will distract you from looking to the rest of the room and that’s a shame, especially when you take the rate under consideration. Charging US$200 a night for a classic roadside motel room reasonable clean with cheap furniture and a 20 inch TUBE TV for guest’s entertainment is possible only in places like Alaska, where demand surpasses supply, particularly during summertime. To make matters worse, the wooden floor is the squeaking type (probably due to lack of maintenance) and the walls are paper thin so you participate on the neighbors conversation, wanting or not. The sad news is I didn’t see many options in Homer, reason why I ended up here despite all other reviews alerting to the problems I confirmed during my stay. I will try someplace else next time, as I’ll surely be back in Homer to redo my memorable Bear viewing tour.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here, book a beachfront room. The view might compensate the lack of comfort an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredBueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia Island, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights here. Yes, it is overpriced. The view is great. No king beds. After not having a room with a TV or decent sized shower in our 2 week Alaska vacation, these features were much appreciated. Office and cleaning staff were very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: The $20 extra to get the rooms with the best view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLAmeliaIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.4 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
1.2 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bidarka Inn
0.2 mi away
Windjammer Suites
Windjammer Suites
#14 of 14 in Homer
14 reviews
5.8 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Shores

Property: Ocean Shores
Address: 3500 Crittenden Dr, Homer, AK 99603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Shores Hotel Homer
Ocean Shores Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing