We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem in Homer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Shores

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Shores
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Hidden Gem in Homer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have stayed here two times, and was happy with my experience on both occasions. The view is wonderful, the rooms are clean, staff is friendly. The rates, of course vary according to the season, but were competitive and reasonable. The only downside was the front office kept banker's hours--and the in room coffee maker needed to be requested the night before, unless you were willing to wait til 9am to get one from the office. Since it is a kitchenette unit, I didn't understand why not just leave the coffee maker in the room? I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely request the Ocean View if scenery is important; Also, make sure to request your coffee m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowDaisy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    92
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
75
121
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
105 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Built on the banks of Katchamak Bay, this hotel is set up more like a traditional motel with separate buildings for different rooms. We didn't know what to expect when we booked here. The facility is definitely not fancy, but it was comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This was a nice surprise - roomy and very clean. Very well kept. Fridge and microwave in the room. Ground level balcony - our room was on the hill and had a 'partial view' of the ocean which we loved - room 51.
The staff are very friendly and kind. We loved this hotel and will return!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I toured Alaska in July with some friends and spent three days in Homer. We could not have been happier with our accommodations at Ocean Shores. We had an ocean view room with a balcony, and our friends had the room next to us. The hotel was full, but we still found it to be peaceful and quiet. The rooms were very clean and spacious, with the convenience of a dining table, small fridge, and microwave. The view was spectacular!! We wished we could have spent more time here. The location was convenient...close to downtown and to the Spit. The staff was very personable and helpful. The only thing I would have preferred would have been an actual coffeemaker in the room, rather than the packets provided for the microwave, but this is just a personal preference. We have recommended this hotel to friends and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean view room with balcony was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
188 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is o.k. It is more like a motel. The beds at comfortable and the location near the waterfront is excellent. The lobby is away from the main buildings and there is no internet or wifi, which I find unusual in today's hotels or any where for that matter. I god a room with a PARTIAL view - that is if I looked over the other house in front I could see the ocean - that was an UPGRADE room for over $170!

Room Tip: Only rooms from 30. - 40
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iris212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

These are simple rooms - didn't have black out shades.. but the rooms were clean and comfortable. I would definitely return and recommend to friends needing a night in Homer. Wi-Fi was a bit iffy. Ask for one of the lower levels - will have a better view of the Bay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horsemom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel had a great location and wonderful views. Some drawbacks.... The exterior was very basic looking but the room was clean and a decent size. Walls were also very thin so be prepared to here noise from the outside. Nice Alaskan hotel and would definitely recommended it. Owner were helpful.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Calico96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.4 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
1.2 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bidarka Inn
0.2 mi away
Windjammer Suites
Windjammer Suites
#14 of 14 in Homer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
5.8 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Shores

Property: Ocean Shores
Address: 3500 Crittenden Dr, Homer, AK 99603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Shores Hotel Homer
Ocean Shores Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing