We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/ decent rooms”
Review of Pioneer Inn Homer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pioneer Inn Homer
Ranked #10 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Its an inexpensive place to stay in Homer. There are lot of breakfast/restaurant places located very close to the inn.

The rooms are decent. We asked for a King bed but they attached 2 double beds which was very uncomfortable. So, make sure you ask them for a room with a King bed if you need one.

No breakfast is provided, but they have a mini fridge and microwave in the room itself.

The owner is very helpful, she left the room open for us as we were arriving late. Gave us great suggestions for breakfast.

Overall a great inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krits27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Pioneer Inn Homer
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2013

Rich & Amy are great hosts. The Pioneer Inn is simple, clean, affordable & comfortable, just as advertised. They have a great location with views of the bay. Try to book early enough to get a 2nd story room. And ask Rich to show you the boat he and his sons built.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghoulwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

right downtown in Homer.....very comfortable rooms....the manager/owner is so very sweet and kind....she goes all out to see that everything is just right! She recommended a great place for dinner, shopping, and seeing moose! it was a wonderful experience for us....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dixieland8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

A home away from home. My family stayed in the guest house during our short visit. The house has unbelievable views of the Kachemak Bay and Homer Spit. The owners Rich and Amy were warm and inviting; I had a wet load of jeans and Amy helped me out by drying them! My family fell in love with Homer.
The Pioneer Inn is definitely a place to stay!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank CynthiaCruz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed at the Pioneer 2 nights while fishing out of Homer. The room was great, and Amy was very helpful. She steered us to quality resturaunts and answered all of questions about the local culture.
If ever in Homer, don't miss out on an opportunity to stay there.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a beautiful view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

During our great Alaska trip we happened to stumble upon this place. We were visiting my wife's cousin and her family in ANC and we spent two days in Homer. We were four adults and six kids and we all fit comfortably in their guest house. What a pleasure. All the comforts of home. We look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95markb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Jim & I traveled to Homer, Alaska summer of 2012 in our 1959 Ford. Since there was no room at the Inn, Rich & Amy opened up their home, literally, to us. We stayed for three days. It was a wonderful experience. The view was magnificent! I saw an eagle soar outside my window with the mountains & Kachemak Bay as the backdrop. I tell people who ask about our trip about the clean, friendly & inspiring accommadations we found in Homer, Alaska. I tell them IF I moved to Alaska, Homer would be the desired location. Rich & Amy and their excellent accommodations would make any trip to Alaska memorable. Gracious Hosts! Clean, homey accommodations! What more could a person ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.2 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
5.7 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Inn Homer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Inn Homer

Address: 244 W Pioneer Ave, P.O. Box 1430, Homer, AK 99603-7526
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range: £69 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pioneer Inn Homer 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful family owned hotel in downtown Homer is in one of the most convenient locations in town. Located next to the award-winning Pratt museum, you can walk to some of Homer's best restaurants. Most rooms have views of the bay and glaciers. All units have full baths, cable TV, wifi and in-room coffee. Kitchenettes available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pioneer Inn Homer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Inn Homer Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing