We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really wanted to give it a great review”
Review of Seaside Farm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaside Farm
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Seaside is an experience. Some good, some not so good. The view is amazing. No argument, it is incredibly beautiful. I am ok with $75.00 a night for a cabin with no facilities, but at least provide a clear path to the out house and clean it. I would agree with some of the other reviewers. If you are going to run a place of lodging, at the very least, have someone available to say hello. The summer staff had started just hours before we did and no fault of theirs, they didn't have a lot of information when we got there as to what we could and could not do, and just the basics you may expect in an area frequented by travelers.
If you want to experience laid back to the extreme, this may be your place, but there are lots of beautiful places to stay near Homer that may feel more welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTim53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Seaside Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2009

Well we never laid eyes on the owner only followed all the signs that were plastered all over the place--foyer, kitchen, bathroom, living room, outside. I kept thinking if I was going to make all these signs at least laminate them so they look professional and not all drippy and torn but I guess that's just the teacher in me. The house was from the 70's and just did not feel clean at all. In fact in our room I found some old kids underwear stuffed in a cabinet. I will say for the price the room was very spacious. My friend and my toddler were staying there but there was only 1 extra blanket and just one light blanket per bed. Did I say this is Alaska? Also there were no towels just 2 small washcloths. So skimpy was the owner that there was not even a box of tissues provided in your room. I don't know if this was a hostel or farm or what but I think I would have preferred a room in town. Even the horses seemed miserable stuck in a small enclosure deep in the mud. I hate to sound like I am complaining but I guess I expected something different, like to even meet the owner and have some one ask our needs. At the hostel we stayed in Seward at least there were hosts to tend to our needs and they provided towels, blankets, and books. Totally ridiculous, the owner just cared that you put your money in the box and that is it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank treasureAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

I selected "The Swallow House", a rural countryside cabin with an inspirational view of Kachemak Bay and the Homer "Spit". Outhouse. Kitchenette with bottled water for drinking and washing dishes. Sweet, homey interior. Clean. Quiet. Would have been happy to stay there a long time.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
1  Thank RockyRippleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Pros:
-Awesome setting.
-Really nice people work there.
-Farm animals abound.
-Easy walk to the shore.

Cons:
-A few miles outside of town (i.e. cannot easily walk to town)
-The cabin we stayed in was not very clean. (Kind of musty and dusty.)
-The bathroom (in the hostel) was also on the grubby side. (Made me want to pretend I hadn't seen the nice "Please remove your shoes" sign.)

In other words, it is a great place, but it's not for everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oksomtimesimpicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

we stayed in the wildflower cabin. even though the weather was still cold, the heater kept us nice and cozy! there was a loft bed and another bed downstairs as well as a table and chairs. cute little kitchenette with a fridge and coffee maker. we had our own little outhouse in the back as well as access to the facilities in the main hostel. the main hostel didn't seem so nice and there is only 1 bathroom and shower - not the cleanest. but the property itself is lovely, make sure you walk down to the beach - we saw a bunch of adorable otters! a great romantic little cabin with some amazing views. if you're a type-a personality be forewarned, check-in is pretty laid back - we had to track down the owner to get our room made up, but she was super accommodating with our plans.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabinfevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2008

Probably one of the greatest Hostels ever.

This place is Alaskan.

  • Stayed: March 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Happyalaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2003

Next time we go to Homer, we are definitely staying here again. This is an eclectic place from which you can choose any type of accomodation EXCEPT a true hotel room. It is a working farm situated at the top of a ridge overlooking Homer Spit and the coast. Except for B&B rooms in the house (breakfast is your responsibility, though), there is no plumbing in the cabins or at the tent sites, though there are outhouses. Rustic cabins have awesome views as they overlook the coast. Though this is a farm, the entire property is decorated with folk art, collected things, artistic junk, old photos, etc. Our cabin was very clean and comfortable with a gas stove, kitchen (with sink and drain but no running water) and outhouse.

4  Thank Gone_Fishing_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
5.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.8 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
148 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
5.4 mi away
Windjammer Suites
Windjammer Suites
#14 of 14 in Homer
15 reviews
5.2 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Farm

Address: 40904 Seaside Farm Rd, Homer, AK 99603-9460
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Seaside Farm Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing