We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of old time luxury.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Town Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A little bit of old time luxury.”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This place was recommended to us and we were very pleased to be able to spend one night here at short notice. We just loved it and our hosts could not have been nicer.Would love to come back but will make sure to book in advance.

Room Tip: We had the room without the en suite bathroom but that really was no problem at all. We were so tire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceBrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
16
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

A very nice place. We had the end room and if you are not used to the continuous day light is very bright. The back
Room would be better. The only room with the two beds and private bath the best. Very clean and well taken care of. Hostess was terrific and made us very welcome. Breakfast lacking. We walked to the Three sisters for breakfast which was wonderful . Fun little place

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marti2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My 23-year-old daughter and I had a peaceful stay here for 2 nights. There was a lot of TLC put into the decor in this historic building, and breakfast was especially lovely. I wouldn't recommend this place, however, for people challenged by stairs. Access to rooms is by way of a narrow, crooked staircase--charming as an architectural feature, but not easy to negotiate even for the fully able-bodied. The mother-daughter caretakers were warm and wonderful. I recommend staying here, but, as other reviewers have noted, take care to confirm and reconfirm your reservations--I don't think paperwork is a strong suit here. We witnessed a mix-up with other guests who arrived--they were not happy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancorage, AK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Next month (June 2011), I will drive from Anchorage down the Kenai Peninsula to Homer, Alaska, to attend a writers' conference -- my third time to do so. Once again, I have chosen to stay at the Old Town Bed and Breakfast. Upstairs from the Bunell Street Art Gallery, which I always enjoy visiting, this B&B is a comfortable, visually welcoming place to call home for a few days. Located away from Homer's main street, Old Town B&B is near the beach.
The room I had last time and will have again this year has windows on both the east and the south sides. The east window looks out toward mountains with glaciers, and the south window looks out toward Kachemak Bay, with more mountains and glaciers across the water. One morning, I looked out the window early and saw a pheasant parading down the middle of the otherwise deserted street. Up in the sky, you're likely to see a bald eagles soaring over.
Homer, Alaska, is such a jewel, and Old Town B&B is a jewel within that jewel.
(No, nobody's paying me in any way, shape or form to write this. I just love staying there and want others to know about it.)

Room Tip: Just go to their website and take the photo tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We had confirmed reservations for June 2011. They took our credit card information and sent a confirmation for the room we requested. Then several weeks later, they sent us a emal cancelling our room because the people scheduled in that room prior to us decided to extend their stay. They offered to move us to a room without a private bath. They said that with the season so short they did not want to upset the other people. We refused their offer and are staying somewhere else. I don't trust them even with a confirmed reservation. Book at your own risk.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank aspen072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed in June of 2009 actually, but I really enjoyed our front room that shared a bath with another room. Quaint and cozy, but not off-puttingly feminine. Rooms can look out on the bay and the spit. A few blocks up the road is a great Italian restaurant (Fat Olives I think) and a great bakery next door- although the breakfast was really tasty.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aegault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luckykuching
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed a night in one of the rooms which shared a common bath. While the place was very well decorated and clean, we did not feel entirely comfortable in our room as it felt more like a museum/ art gallery rather than a cosy b&b room. For example, there was a huge vase of flowers placed on the sole desk in the room which most guests would have preferred to have been empty for some desk work (doing bills, using our laptop on, reading, etc). Also, the bed quilts while beautiful were very delicate and as a result, we had to take care that our luggage or anything for the matter was not placed on top of it. Also, the bathroom had hardly any hooks in place to hold towels and clothing. It felt as though more importance was placed on the aesthetics of the place rather than practical arrangements that would have made us guests feel more at home.
While staff members were very courteous and kind, they were pretty clueless when we had problems connecting our laptop to their Wi-Fi service.
Overall, our stay here was ok with very good breakfast. The staff could definitely make some practical changes to the rooms as well as to their Wi-Fi sevice to make guests feel more at home.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luckykuching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.1 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
0.5 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
1.1 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
311 reviews
5.4 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Bed and Breakfast

Property: Old Town Bed and Breakfast
Address: 106 W Bunnell Ave, Suite D, Homer, AK 99603-7851
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy quaint Old Town, Homer in the cozy comfort of Old Town Bed and Breakfast. Sea breezes fill our three guest rooms. Contemplate Kachemak Bay and the Kenai Mountains, comb Bishop's Beach and explore nearby Islands and Ocean Vistor's Center, visit Sea Glo Spa. Bunnell Street Arts Center, with frequent concerts is just downstairs. Breakfast, lunch and early dinner at Maura's Cafe, downstairs. Walking distance to Homer's top three rated restaurants, shops and services. Parlor with tea or coffee anytime, fireplace and books galore, terrific views and original oil seascapes by owner, Asia Freeman. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Old Town Bed And Breakfast Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing