We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely relaxing time.”
Review of Homer Roundhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Homer Roundhouse
Ranked #18 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Reviewed 9 February 2013

my time spent at the roundhouse was a much needed getaway from my otherwise full time working cite life , it allowed me to pretend for the week as if i had a care free, quite, cozy life with a lovely view and tranquil beach front walks. perfect location to all the necessary places such as store boardwalk, art museums, and my personal favorite stops such as the fringe boutique, and two sisters cafe'.
Just a wonderful time and well worth the price thanks so much johnny and lovely wife cant wait to stay again... ****** much love nessa :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Homer Roundhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed at the Homer Roundhouse for 3 nights last August and really enjoyed it. It was very clean and quiet and private. Great to have a full kitchen and to experience a Yurt for the first time, but it was essentially a real house. We had our 5 and 7 year old boys with us and they loved the loft space. The access down to the beach where we could walk for miles was great. There are cool leaf fossils if you head west along the beach and look for the flat sandy rocks poking out of the cliff face or near the face. If you aren't used to the long days in summer in Alaska, make sure to bring a sleeping mask or hat to pull over your eyes for this place. The central dome skylight is great for letting in light, but doesn't help for when you want to sleep. So it goes. The place was charming and the owners were very accommodating and helpful (despite just having gone through some surgery the week before!).

FYI, the homer spit is way over rated if you ask me. If you have kids, don't forget to checkout the Homer Playground; probably one of the best in Alaska outside of Anchorage.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_F_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

stayed here twice for long weekends, would stay again in a pindrop. such a unique and spacious dwelling. one time with four singles and one time as new parents. both times with the dog. both times spotted moose and eagles.
a very comfortable environment with a fantastic view of the bay. minutes away from the beach, coffee, alaska at its best.
kitchen, bathroom, dining area, all extremely well planned.
u'll leave wondering wut it will take for u to build an awesome getaway yurt yourself. enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ninjawidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights while visiting Homer and doing some halibut fishing. The Roadhouse is a yurt which is very unique. The yurt is very spacious and included everything you would need - kitchen, living room, large bathroom, etc. I would stay here again if we return to this part of Alaska. The location is close to town and the "spit" is a short drive. We rate it perfect for our needs and exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pgalagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Loved our week at the Roundhouse. The location was perfect! I agree sound carries but with just 2 of us, it wasn't bad. I enjoyed having the kitchen, it really helped save money and was convenient to make lunches or a quick breakfast before a long day trip. I enjoyed the open skylight, especially in the morning as the Sandhill cranes flew over. The light didn't bother us, we rather enjoyed it! I searched for months for a place like the Roundhouse and it exceeded my expectations! Pros: lots of living space, large deck, comfortable chairs. Artsy decor and wildflowers. Great location. Wonderful museums and shops. Warm friendly people (owners and everyone we met!). Lots to do, in any kind of weather! A week gave us some time to work with guides since some of side trips were weather dependent. We could easily spend another week at the Roundhouse and not repeat anything...except for another lovely time! Cons: none in my book.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank autumn_aspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This is a delightful, well-located, and affordable family-run rental. It has excellent decor, art, and attention to detail, and the owners provided abundant, helpful information on Homer activities, restaurants, and how to get there. The location is just perfect, with access to a lovely beachfront walk to the little downtown, including the excellent Two Sisters Bakery, plus a few bars, restaurants, and art galleries.

Pros: much bigger space and a self-contained rental, with full kitchen and large bathroom. Could sleep up to 3 couples (we had 5 people). Really unique and fun experience to stay here. Quite warm and comfy (we were slightly worried about lack of insulation but it was great), and did not even have to turn on the wood stove (this was late June). Beautiful sunny open space.

Cons: sleeping masks are necessary in summer due to uncloseable skylight at top of yurt. Rooms are not really divided by full walls, so sound travels easily within the yurt.

All in all, it was much nicer than most hotels, and probably one of the best values for the price in Homer. Would most recommend for couples or small families.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.3 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
0.1 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
328 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homer Roundhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homer Roundhouse

Address: 534 Hidden Way, Homer, AK 99603-7433
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Price Range: £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love this place to stay in Homer. The Homer Roundhouse is a perfect lodging choice for a couple, a small family or 3+ adults. The Homer Roundhouse is comfortable and convenient. It is across the small road from the beach and hidden right in town. It's a small, quiet neighborhood. You get your own place with all the privacy you desire. Almost everything is in walking distance. Full kitchen with appliances and all things needed. It also has a large modern bathroom. Queen bed in bedroom with ladder-stairs to loft with queen memory pad and futon in living room. Walk to the beach. Walk to Two Sisters Bakery, the Pratt Museum, Island and Oceans and the rest of town. And did I tell you... it's the only yurt in the world with a bay window. Everyone loves staying at the HOMER ROUNDHOUSE! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homer Roundhouse Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing