We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit much for what we got” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beluga Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beluga Lake Lodge
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A bit much for what we got”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The staff was friendly. We had a room that took pets, but they forgot they had already had rented it. So we opened a door to find folks in there! Got it straightened out, and got into our room after a few tries with a finicky card key. Room was recently remodeled, that was nice. There was a fridge and microwave. No coffee pot? When I went to get into bed. I found black hairs on the sheets! Not to exciting at the end of a long day. Maybe they had cut staff after Labor Day? The bar and restaurant were closed on the two days we were there. Leaving us to find other excellent choices in town. A moderate experience for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcticharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    30
    31
    12
    11
See reviews for
13
45
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, Illinois,USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Staff was extremely polite and helpful. Woke up manager at 5 AM to see if we could get a room. They were very friendly and acommodating on labor day weekend. Room sizes are very acceptable, clean, with good ammenities. Only downside is no A/C. They have a free continental breakfast execpt on Sundays, when the restaurant/bar is close. Food was a step above most places in Homer! There is free coffee/tea 24/7 and a good laundry facility. Great value for the price. Would definately stay here on my next trip to Homer!

Room Tip: Would recommend rooms on top floor away from restaurant/bar if you go to bed before 10 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Pleasant staff, clean, nice location, dog friendly. Even though our room was on the highway side on a Labor Day weekend, it was not noisy. The location was next to a marsh for bird viewing -- and a pair of cranes routinely visited the lawn and seemed unalarmed by photographers. Continental breakfast indeed adequate although not spectacular. As an Alaskan I was impressed that it displayed more than the often found attitude that "we don't care how they do it Outside" without going to the lengths of the more expensive places. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alaskantraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a moderate category hotel by Alaska standards. Don't expect luxury, but it is acceptable. The restaurant is closed Sunday and Monday, we were there on a Sunday night, so no review for it other than the complimentary buffet breakfast and it was good.

Room Tip: Our room was quite small. It faced the highway but wasn't noisy. There is no air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SdPetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

I was pleased with my interaction with the staff both on the phone when making a reservation and at check in. Our adult daughter went up to the cafe for take out food, and the staff there were also personable and helpful, she said. Alaskans take pride in friendliness, and the team here seems to have that same pride.

Our rooms were clean with the usual amenities, but I was unimpressed with building care and maintenance, and some housekeeping details. The lodge is currently looking for housekeepers at this very busiest time of year, and that may explain some deficiencies.

I wouldn't object to staying here again if other accommodation was unavailable. However, i will try elsewhere next time because the good nature of the staff wasn't enough to outweigh the slightly sour taste in my mouth due to the negatives above.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidinRedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Homer hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Lyons, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the Beluga Lake Lodge in Homer, AK. Reviews I had previously read and customer submit photos did not indicate the motel to be highly recommended. More recent reviews however did say the place was okay so I decided to give it a try. The rooms appeared to have been recently renovated with new carpet, ceramic tile floors in the bathroom and new furniture. The room was very clean and quite and the bed was very comfortable. Showers were hot with adequate shampoos and soaps provided along with a hair dryer. The continental breakfast was not extensive but sufficient. Staff was very friendly. I had a little trouble with the internet connection but was told that it had been recently updated and was not compatible with older operating systems on laptops and ipads. This is not the Ritz-Carleton but a very good value for the quality. I would highly recommend this motel for your next stay in Homer

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klassyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms look like they were newly remodeled and the entire room was very clean. Rooms are on the small side, but have everything you need (medium sized fridge and microwave). The restaurant upstairs has really good burgers with good prices. Both winter and summer rates looked to be very good. Get an upstairs room for a little better view.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrillerAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
1.0 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
0.2 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bidarka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Windjammer Suites
Windjammer Suites
#14 of 14 in Homer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
4.6 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beluga Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beluga Lake Lodge

Property: Beluga Lake Lodge
Address: 204 Ocean Drive Loop, Homer, AK 99603-7964
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beluga Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Beluga Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beluga Lake Hotel Homer
Beluga Lake Motel
Beluga Lake Lodge Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing