We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, free internet”
Review of Beluga Lake Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beluga Lake Lodge
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Convenient location, free internet”
Reviewed 3 August 2010

On short notice a hotel was required they were polite and eager to provide competitive rates. The wireless was sufficient speed and free. The location of the hotel is right at the end of the spit but on the mainland. The hotel is older. The breakfast is pretty lean on selection but there is a McDonalds across the street and bakeries down the road. This hotel worked out well. However things to be aware of if you stay downstairs you will hear the people above your and the housekeeping staff leaves notes requesting tips.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    32
    32
    13
    11
See reviews for
14
46
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, AK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The location is convenient but in no way makes up for the rest of the experience. Management was less than helpful. In fact when I suspected a light was out in my room management was put off that I would not change my own light bulb. My travel companion did not received their wake up call and if it were not for the use of a personal alarm we would have completely missed our fishing charter. Rooms had an odor and the hotel was very loud with inadequate soundproofing of the rooms. Overall a horrible, smelly and loud experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spivey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Homer hotels

Auburn, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Management was absolutely unprofessional. Rooms are UNSAFE with wires hanging out of the heaters that didn't work. Connecting doors between rooms left unlocked even when we complained...strangers came into our room at night twice! Every review I read says they are remodeling and they have been saying that for over 2 years. The rooms were dispicable, no emergency contacts for nightime and walls paper thin. And did I say the Manager was absolutely unprofessional....we left 6 days early- almost ruined our whole vacation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twomanics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lugalady, General Manager at Beluga Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 8 July 2010
I am sorry this guest had a bad experience here. WE are in process of upgrading and remodeling the property. As everyone knows it takes money to get things done. The economy has made us slow down a bit with things. We are in process of putting in a new heating system. That is why the heaters look the way they do. We also have the heat turned off, because the building stays too warm. We have small heaters to offer if someone needs it. As always, we try to accomodate to the best of our ability. Customer service is a large part of the tourist industry, however, there still remains things we can't change. We have had many positive comments about the changes we're making and hope people will still consider visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The property is very close to the Split and is conveniently located if you have to catch a plane to bear watch, but it is very exepensive (450 USD for 3 nights) for what it has to offer. The decor is clearly updated and the rooms are quite small and a little bit smelly. Our TV did not function properly but it id not bother us very much, the bar and restaurant were closed for the season (late August) and the room service lady did not show up one Sunday. When I complained about it to the manager she was not very helpful, and only offered fresh towels. I did not want to argue as we did have a great time in Homer, but we had to tidy the bed ourselves. Choose somewhere else in Homer if you can, but visit Homer anyway.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lugalady, manager at Beluga Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2010
As with any type of business that deals with the public, we are aware that you cannot please everyone. We strive to help guests to best of our ability. There are just some things we have no control over. Our local cable company had just switched our service to using the digital converter boxes and they were complicated to many people, so we printed instruction sheets for each room.
We would like to advise anyone experienceing a problem or concern to ask the front desk for assistance and give them a chance to rectify the problem. Our goal is to do our best to make sure your Alaska visit is what you hope it wll be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

For the relatively low price and because we spent very litle time in our room it was worth the price. Good location - midway between the Homer Spit and downtown. When they finish their remodel project, the dining room and deck should be nice. It has a nice view of the marsh and the lake. We opted for the single queen bed room and it was tiny. Therefore, if staying there again we would choose to spend a little extra to get a larger room, on the second floor, facing towards the lake, rather than the parking lot. Also, I would agree that there is little sound insulation between the rooms. But, we would stay there again at the price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very small room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Drkbjk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

Hoping for a quaint and quiet stay. While quiet, hotel was anything but quaint. Nasty manager. Dark, basement room and smell of mildew in the hallway (despite claim of recent renovation) only added to disappointment. The bathroom shower even has a hand soap dispenser bolted into the wall - can you say classy? Would highly discourage anyone from staying here - simply not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wearytraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

When you approach this hotel from the outside, you might be reluctant to go in. But please do go in - you will not be disappointed.

As noted in some other reviews, this hotel is in a state of renovation. The owners seem to be starting with the rooms, which are something similar to what you would find in a more upscale hotel. The beds are very comfortable, the furniture and television are great. The size of the room is a bit small, but the bedding and amenities are quite nice and comfortable.

The outside of the hotel looks a bit like a roadside motel, and I did not see the sign as I drove past the place. The parking lot is unpaved, and this all leads to a bit of concern as you get near the place. But once you enter the door, the people are friendly, the rooms are terrific, and you feel very welcome.

I stayed there during the height of the summer season, and I found the rates to be very reasonable for the quality received. My room was quiet and everything worked well.

I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Bed was comfortable and the room was quiet.
  • Disliked — From the outside, the place looks less attractive than the rooms.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bobby_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
1.0 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
1.4 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
0.2 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
147 reviews
4.6 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
823 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beluga Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beluga Lake Lodge

Property: Beluga Lake Lodge
Address: 204 Ocean Drive Loop, Homer, AK 99603-7964
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beluga Lake Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Beluga Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beluga Lake Hotel Homer
Beluga Lake Motel
Beluga Lake Lodge Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing