We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great lodging, great "trip advisor"”
Beautiful Surroundings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Surroundings
Private Deck Quality Sofa Sleeper
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Beautiful Surroundings
Private Deck
Quality Sofa Sleeper
Full Accommodations
Clean & Cozy
Comfort
View the Range at Rangeview B&B
Birders Welcome!
Fish on the famous Homer Spit
Catch a floatplane sightseeing ride on Beluga Lake
See Mount St. Augustine volcano
Enjoy your very own private deck with a view
Kayak with the iceburgs at Grewink Glacier
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Homer, Alaska

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
game2go
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great lodging, great "trip advisor"”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Everything you need for a short stay in Homer. We'll echo others' reviews:
- Comfortable bedroom with effective blackout shades for the loooooong summer days.
- Nice-sized, convenient bath with thoughtful amenities (e.g., extra towels, q-tips).
- Tiny, but well-organized kitchen if you want to cook (but restaurants are tempting).
- Living room & deck that look out on the Ketchemak Bay and Kenai Mts. (even at 12:30AM!)
- Easy, fast wifi connection.
- Well-located for seeing Homer (though you may end up driving once you've done the hike back up the hill to the apt.).
- Bonus: continental breakfast with fresh fruit; dessert treat each night.

What's unique is the personable landlady/hostess. Kathy is "around," without being obtrusive. She knows Homer well and is generous with suggestions to help plan your day's events - and meals. We greatly enjoyed our stay at Rangeview as a base for visiting Homer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Had all the conveniences we look for in an apartment rental.
Liked least: The walk back up the hill from town.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cindywv
west virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Clean, Comfortable, Convenient.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We spent three nights at Rangeview while visiting Homer. It is located in a residential neighborhood close to the main business district and near the Pratt Museum. The neighborhood is quiet. The bedroom includes a closet and is a comfortable size. The windows had coverings which darkened the room for sleeping. The small kitchen area had everything we needed to prepare simple meals- a microwave, refrigerator, range with oven, toaster, and coffee maker (coffee & a nice variety of teas were provided ). There was something for breakfast, bagels, English muffins, homemade muffins, fruit & juice. The owner is a great baker and also left a yummy treat each day. The decor is cute and all furnishings were in great condition and comfy. Owners are good source of local information and had tourist info and books about Alaska in the cottage. The book "Two Old Women" a local story is a good quick read.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WalleyeLJ
Concord, NC
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Rangeview Bed & Dessert!”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in July 2012

The Rangeview B&B was our choice to stay for our first trip to Homer. Trip Advisor won't let us post reviews for them as a B&B because they only have one bedroom (TA requires the establishment to have at least two bedrooms available for multiple guests to list under B&Bs), so it’s listed under vacation rental.

Kathy & Dennis, the owners, were on winter vacation in Hawaii when I first contacted them. Kathy was very quick to respond via email and answered all my questions, setting us up for our stay later in the summer. Even beofre we arrived, she sent great directions and both Kathy & Dennis were very helpful in providing suggestions and directions for things to do and places to eat in Homer.

In this case, B&D would be a better description. Unlike a regular B&B, at the Rangeview, instead of breakfast it's a bed and dessert! While there were bagels and fresh melon for the morning, the evening treat was AWESOME! Chocolate covered strawberries greeted us the first night, followed by homemade rhubarb crisps and chocolate chip cookies. The accommodations were great as well. Unlike a traditional B&B, instead of a room within the home, we actually had our own little apartment adjacent to the main home, with a private deck & entrance.

Inside was a small living room with a chair and couch, a small breakfast table, cable TV, free wifi and a kitchenette with fridge & small stove and oven. If you wanted to cook your own meals there you could. There was also a large bathroom with a shower and a separate bedroom with a queen bed and full closet for storage. Moose themed items were everywhere. All in all a great base of operations - very comfortable and about 60 seconds from downtown Homer.

When we checked in our host Kathy told us that there was a moose cow with twins living in the neighborhood two streets down, and that we should keep in out for them. As luck would have it, our second morning we saw the moose family, right among the other homes in the neighborhood. Kathy & Dennis were terrific hosts with for us. They were warm, friendly, full of knowledge and suggestions, yet unobtrusive. The space was great for one or two people looking for both space and privacy. If we get to return back to Homer in the future, we’d love to stay at the Rangeview again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Great hosts, great location, clean comfortable space.
Liked least: Nothing - terrefic place to stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49er1969
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
“The description is absolutely correct: Cozy, Private, with a Spectacular View!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The Rangeview B and B is a wonderful place to stay. It's comfortable and roomy. It never felt crowded for three adults. Even in the cool, rainy Homer weather, we all enjoyed just being there, relaxing. The kitchen has everything you'll ever need to prepare meals. The hosts provide fresh, warm baked goods along with fresh fruit. You can't go wrong staying here . The hospitality provided by Kathy was incredible as was the view from the deck!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Delightful hosts, yummy treats and fruit, spectacular view from deck, very comfortable.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Reviewed 2 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Soozee
Frosterley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
619 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Welcoming and comfortable base in Homer”
Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Kathy made us welcome from the start - the cabin was well appointed, nicely furnished and very comfortable. Only problem we had was trying to find it as the sat nav refused to co-operate! She left us a homemade treat each day as well as breakfast, and the cabin had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay.
Larger than some other cabins we had stayed in, the view was lovely and we felt really rested and ready for more adventures next day.
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, space and view
Liked least: er, nothing, it was great
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing