We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quiet location, perfect for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Our family of 4 for stayed for 3 nights in August. It's located on a quiet street next to Kachemuk Bay, but there are still some restaurants and shops within walking distance. The back porch has a beautiful view of the bay, could sit in the rocking chairs and read or just relax for hours. Our room had small spaces with sleeping areas (not quite rooms) but met the requirement of having 3 separate sleeping quarters: A small single bed in the back, double bed in the next room, and a sleeper sofa in the living room. The unit came with a full kitchen and in-room coffee. There is serve yourself breakfast in the lobby with an honor system ($1 for a small box of cereal). The main house has individual rooms upstairs.

This was just a perfect setup for our family for a very reasonable price (<$200 in high season), in a wonderful location. The other areas of town (Homer Spit, art galleries downtown) are quite accessible as well as a big Safeway nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

503 - 509 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

Six of us stayed in the cottage with beautiful views of the bay and mountains. Nice little kitchen, good for their coffee and teas, but didn't cook because of the great places to eat nearby like Olive's and Two Sisters Bakery. Nice deck and large lawn outside of patio doors. Easy to get to everything else Homer. We had a great time and would love to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tallmagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I was on a solo trip and stayed for four nights. I wanted something with character and comfort, not sterile and drab like my hotel in Anchorage. I wanted something in walking distance of good restauants and shops and the the beach. I wanted a room with light and something of a view. I wanted a place where I wouldn't feel too isolated as a solo traveller. I found the Driftwood Inn online and it looked right. It was right! The room was unpretentious and perferctly comfortable with everything I needed--light, a view, a sink, plus it was immaculate. The sink was missing a plug, but I was given one when I asked. The common areas were warm,comfortable and really welcoming. How often do you feel like sitting around in a hotel lobby? This one was that inviting, with hot drinks and snacks available and staff willing to help or just chat. You could meet fellow travellers there too. There are at least three excellent restaurants near by, and the beach is close. The Driftwood seemed to me something like an adult hostel--because of the friendly, relaxed feel of it. Unless you prefer fancier, more modern looking digs, I highly recommend the Driftwood. I can't think of one criticism (and I consider myself hard to please when it comes to accommodations). I will probably never be back in Homer, but I wish I were going to be so I could stay again at the Driftwood Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed two nights in September. The room was nice, the (shared) bathroom was clean, the lobby was cozy, and the location was great. Great spot to stay before and after a fishing trip or just to visit the shops and restaurants in Homer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennPSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Our first "official" night in Alaska and we had a wonderful experience! Close to the beach, cozy cabin, it was clean, comfortable, and a great way to start our driving tour of Alaska. We stayed in one of the small cabins but it was perfect. We would definitely stay here again if we are ever lucky enough to return to Alaska.
Terry B. , Idaho

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at the driftwood inn RV area. The sites were very close together and moving around in the RV area was tight. However, the staff was
extremely nice & helpful. The location was very good and the Inn itself
looked like a place we'd stay if we went back to Homer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We booked room & a space for our Class A RV and boat the end of July. The RV overlooked Kachemak Bay (million $ view at a fraction of other spots) and site had full water, sewer and electricity inclusive. Wi-fi too. The Inn had wonderful amenities for the children -- fenced in play area and swing set, covered barbecue area with tables. Also had laundry and showers on site. A freezer is available for your catch of the day!! Since they are open year round -- we stayed there when other RV sites had closed for the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
1 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
331 reviews
1 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges

Address: 135 W Bunnell Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Homer
#2 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range: £48 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer four distinctly different hotel, motel and deluxe lodge-style buildings. The Driftwood Inn is a charming, historic, hotel, motel, and Inn located in the heart of Old-Town Homer near the beach in Homer, Alaska. Located next to Bishop's Beach in a secluded area of Old Town Homer, we offer economy rooms and a relaxed, homey atmosphere with partial views overlooking beautiful Kachemak Bay with its mountains, glaciers and coves. The Seaside & Bluffview Lodges feature modern and spacious lodging overlooking Bishop's Beach with breathtaking views of Kachemak Bay. The seaside Kachemak Cottage and intimate RV Park are located adjacent to the Inn; just a few steps away. The Woodside Fishing Suites are located about a block away on Pioneer Ave and feature 1 and 2 Bedroom Suites with kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn And Homer Seaside Lodges
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Hotel Homer
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing