We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
443
230
47
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
230
47
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrv parkeuropean stylecaptain shanewalking distancebishop's beachliving roomshared bathroomfishing chartercommon areasgreat viewfat olivesplace to staysmall roomhalibutdouble bedmain buildingprivate bath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
722 - 727 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2007

We ended up at the Driftwood as the accommodation we had booked let us down at very short notice so they booked the Driftwood for us. We had the cottage next door to the motel which was spotlessly clean, spacious and had stunning views over the bay. However the price was obscene - $300/night which we considered a lot for a family of four. (this didn't include breakfast) In addition the staff seemed competley uninterested in us - they didn't seem to care whether we were there or not. Overall I wouldn't recommend this place - I think you could get better deals elsewhere in Homer.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eluned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourInnkeeper, Your Hostess, The Owner at Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2009

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your visit with us. While most of our guests have a wonderful stay here, at the Driftwood Inn, we are always looking for ways to improve so that we can ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay.

I'm sorry you were not happy with the price of the cottage. I did take time to compare other 3 bedroom cottages with full kitchens to our 900 sq. ft. cottage and found that we were in line with others in the area. The difference is that we are located overlooking the beach within walking distance to dining, shopping and visitor centers while others at the same price are either located over a mile from town or do not overlook the beach.

I'm also sorry to hear that our friendly staff did not look in on you more. We do tend to respect the privacy of those booked into the private cottage. However, since receiving your feedback, we have started asking at check in if our cottage guests want more service than the normal, daily housekeeping routine that we offer.

Thank you for your positive comment on the cleanliness of the cottage and "stunning" views. We take pride in cleanliness and work hard to ensure that every room is cleaned to a very high standard.

Sincerely, Adrienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2007

The driftwood was a great place to stay for us on a long weekend. The place was quiet as well as close to a lot of great shops and restaurants especially Two Sisters bakery right down the street. Adreanne the owner was a very helpful when we needed some unexpected business taken care of. The rooms were small but very efficient. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank jrojanjua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2006

We stayed at the Driftwood Inn in Homer, Alaska, at the end of August 2006 -- very near the end of the tourist season. As noted by others, the rooms are small, with beds attached to the wall. That may be an impediment for older travelers or those who get up frequently, but it was fine for us. The shared bathrooms down the hall -- there are two, each with sink, toilet, and shower -- were clean, but both showers had low flow. Our room had a sink (I think most rooms did), so that was nice. In addition, the view of Kachemak Bay was terrific, and the beach was just a short walk away -- as were a number of restaurants.

It's not a B&B, but they do offer a variety of breakfast choices on the honor system, with suggested prices posted. There is a public refrigerator in which you could store things, i.e., if you bring back a doggy bag from a restaurant. The "lounge" with the fridge and breakfast table is quite small -- it might seat six friendly people -- so don't count on this.

The walls aren't thin, but the doors are; it was easy to hear conversation -- even walking -- in the hallway. Still, in our experience, even though people got up early (for fishing, we assume), they weren't noisy. And, typically, the bathrooms were both free at 7 a.m.

If what you want is a luxurious palace, this isn't the place for you.

However, if all you want is a nice, clean, reasonably priced room in which to sleep after you've spent a day on a bear-viewing trip, or kayaking, or fishing, or visiting the two great museums in Homer (Pratt Museum and Islands & Ocean Visitor Center), or any of the other numerous outdoor activities in the area, do consider the Driftwood Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cmhprh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

The Driftwood Inn turned out to be the nicest place we stayed on our whole trip. Our room was small, but clean and comfortable, with lots of storage. We stayed in the European style rooms, so we had to share two bathrooms on the floor. Although the hotel was always packed, we didn't have any problem with the bathroom except once in the morning. (I would suggest showering at night when it's more open.) There's a comfy little living room and they also have breakfast foods available for a small price. Although we weren't on the side with the view, the Driftwood is very close to the beach and has a gorgeous view. The only bad part of our stay was the first night when the bar across the street had a live band and it was kind of loud. The hotel also has an RV park and rooms with their own baths, so you can choose what you like and what you want to pay for. Overall, I was very happy.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank tchr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

Cozy, friendly and a welcome respite from the road. The Driftwood sits atop a bluff and we walked down to the beach and found plentiful driftwood to have a fire on the beach and watch the sunset - beautiful! While it is not swank, it is a two minute walk from Fat Olives, a GREAT restaurant, and is a short walk to the movie theater and the Alaska Islands and Oceans Visitor's Center. Be sure to check out the Pratt Museum, too.

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank leehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews