We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Driftwood Inn with an RV”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2008

We actually parked an RV at the Driftwood Inn and RV Park. We paid about $33 a night for full hook-ups and a seaside view. It must be said that the RV park is nothing much more than a small parking lot stuff tight with RVs and it's really not exactly right on the water - there's a road in between; however, the showers, and laundry area were impeccable. The staff was friendly and helpful as well. It was also conveniently located across the street from Duggan's Pub! We would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank luckygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2008

Stayed at Driftwood Inn for 3 nights in early July. Very reasonable rates for peak summer period. We were in the original part of the Inn which is very old and nostalgic. European style shared bathrooms. Which were clean and easy to use never ran into anyone trying to use at the same time. Rooms are very small with bunk style bedding configurations (double on bottom twin on top). Sink in the room which was nice, had to go down stairs for coffee in the morning. We had a room over looking Kachemak Bay which was nice. Only thing that bothered us was the fact they did not put us in the room we booked originally room (7) on the corner with two windows and one double bed. Moved us to a bunk style (room 9) when we inquired about it they said they had already informed us about the move which they did not in any way, and were not accomodating in changing us back. Saying that the room was booked already (no one checked into room 7 until our last night there) so that was not a great part of our stay but not being in the room that much we got over it. There is a road in the back of the Inn facing the bay and it can be noisy as cars drive on it and park there for the Inn. Driftwood suited our needs and it was fair to say it was nice to stay there despite the problem with our room change.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mauidreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

The room rate was very affordable especially considering the Inn is a few hundred yards from the waters of the Kachemack Bay. It is very clean, the staff is friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is quiet enough so you can hear the water lapping the shore at night. One night, I was lucky enough to awake to the sounds of nearby glaciers "calving"! I would highly recommend this venue to a budget conscious traveler. Drawbacks are few but might be important to some - the bed in my room consisted of a box-spring mattress on a wood platform. Uncomfortable!!! And depending upon room choice - you may have to share the bathroom, which wasn't too bad - but can get a bit crowded during peak fishing season!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveling-Light-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2008

My husband and I and our 3 children stayed at the Driftwood in August. It turned out to be the best part of our Alaska vacation. My husband and son fished halibut with the hotel's charter and they are still talking about how much fun they had limiting out and can't wait to go back. The staff was very friendly and pointed us to great places to eat and fun things to do. The girls and I went horseback riding, we walked to the nearby visitor's center to go on the guided beach walk, and checked out all the art galleries. We stayed 3 days but wish we would have stayed 4. The location was great. We could walk to everything and the beach was so close the girls wanted to go every day. We stayed in the Inn's economy rooms but we did get a tour of the beautiful Lodge and Cottage. They were booked for a wedding there so we didn't get to see all the rooms but the ones we did see were huge with king size beds and views to die for. If I remember right those rooms were almost $100 more than what we paid but probably worth it if you had the money to spend. Traveling with 3 kids can be soooo expensive. We liked that they had cereal for the kids in the mornings for $1 or so and they just had you put the money in a "honesty jar". Alaska is just so friendly. I have to say this wasn't the fanciest hotel we stayed at but it was the cleanest, most friendly and the most affordable too. My husband would say the best part was the fishing of course. My kids would say the best part was the beach and the bunkbeds. Don't miss the Danny J to Halibut cove or Halibut Fishing!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tustumena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2007

We ended up at the Driftwood as the accommodation we had booked let us down at very short notice so they booked the Driftwood for us. We had the cottage next door to the motel which was spotlessly clean, spacious and had stunning views over the bay. However the price was obscene - $300/night which we considered a lot for a family of four. (this didn't include breakfast) In addition the staff seemed competley uninterested in us - they didn't seem to care whether we were there or not. Overall I wouldn't recommend this place - I think you could get better deals elsewhere in Homer.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eluned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourInnkeeper, Your Hostess, The Owner at Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2009

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your visit with us. While most of our guests have a wonderful stay here, at the Driftwood Inn, we are always looking for ways to improve so that we can ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay.

I'm sorry you were not happy with the price of the cottage. I did take time to compare other 3 bedroom cottages with full kitchens to our 900 sq. ft. cottage and found that we were in line with others in the area. The difference is that we are located overlooking the beach within walking distance to dining, shopping and visitor centers while others at the same price are either located over a mile from town or do not overlook the beach.

I'm also sorry to hear that our friendly staff did not look in on you more. We do tend to respect the privacy of those booked into the private cottage. However, since receiving your feedback, we have started asking at check in if our cottage guests want more service than the normal, daily housekeeping routine that we offer.

Thank you for your positive comment on the cleanliness of the cottage and "stunning" views. We take pride in cleanliness and work hard to ensure that every room is cleaned to a very high standard.

Sincerely, Adrienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2007

The driftwood was a great place to stay for us on a long weekend. The place was quiet as well as close to a lot of great shops and restaurants especially Two Sisters bakery right down the street. Adreanne the owner was a very helpful when we needed some unexpected business taken care of. The rooms were small but very efficient. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank jrojanjua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2006

We stayed at the Driftwood Inn in Homer, Alaska, at the end of August 2006 -- very near the end of the tourist season. As noted by others, the rooms are small, with beds attached to the wall. That may be an impediment for older travelers or those who get up frequently, but it was fine for us. The shared bathrooms down the hall -- there are two, each with sink, toilet, and shower -- were clean, but both showers had low flow. Our room had a sink (I think most rooms did), so that was nice. In addition, the view of Kachemak Bay was terrific, and the beach was just a short walk away -- as were a number of restaurants.

It's not a B&B, but they do offer a variety of breakfast choices on the honor system, with suggested prices posted. There is a public refrigerator in which you could store things, i.e., if you bring back a doggy bag from a restaurant. The "lounge" with the fridge and breakfast table is quite small -- it might seat six friendly people -- so don't count on this.

The walls aren't thin, but the doors are; it was easy to hear conversation -- even walking -- in the hallway. Still, in our experience, even though people got up early (for fishing, we assume), they weren't noisy. And, typically, the bathrooms were both free at 7 a.m.

If what you want is a luxurious palace, this isn't the place for you.

However, if all you want is a nice, clean, reasonably priced room in which to sleep after you've spent a day on a bear-viewing trip, or kayaking, or fishing, or visiting the two great museums in Homer (Pratt Museum and Islands & Ocean Visitor Center), or any of the other numerous outdoor activities in the area, do consider the Driftwood Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cmhprh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
1.0 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
906 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges

Address: 135 W Bunnell Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range: £47 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer four distinctly different hotel, motel and deluxe lodge-style buildings. The Driftwood Inn is a charming, historic, hotel, motel, and Inn located in the heart of Old-Town Homer near the beach in Homer, Alaska. Located next to Bishop's Beach in a secluded area of Old Town Homer, we offer economy rooms and a relaxed, homey atmosphere with partial views overlooking beautiful Kachemak Bay with its mountains, glaciers and coves. The Seaside & Bluffview Lodges feature modern and spacious lodging overlooking Bishop's Beach with breathtaking views of Kachemak Bay. The seaside Kachemak Cottage and intimate RV Park are located adjacent to the Inn; just a few steps away. The Woodside Fishing Suites are located about a block away on Pioneer Ave and feature 1 and 2 Bedroom Suites with kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn And Homer Seaside Lodges
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Hotel Homer
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing