We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best place I've stayed in Homer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, AK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best place I've stayed in Homer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I live in Alaska and travel to Homer as often as I can. I always stay at the Driftwood. The Inn is the best deal in Homer. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The addition of in-room Keurig coffeemakers was icing on the cake. It's in a great location near Bishop's Beach, galleries, and many favorite Homer spots. We've stayed in the lodges, too, and they are incomparable. They are beautiful, clean, spacious, and the views cannot be beat. The staff goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: Of course if you can pay a little extra, the rooms on the bay side are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    207
    41
    15
    5
See reviews for
216
218
59
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in the original part of the facility. The breakfast room was handy and very convenient. If we had leftovers from dinner the night before we would store things in the fridge and eat them for lunch the next day. We did not have advance reservations but the room was clean and comfortable. Staff was so wonderful and helpful. We will definitely stay there on our next trip.
Very affordable and location was great. The restaurant owned by the family had nice atmosphere and good food.

Room Tip: Make advance reservations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Loi31009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in the old inn and not one of the lodges, so the following comments apply to our experience.
I only gave 4 our of 5 stars as as warning to those who normally stay in upper tier motels. However, we loved it. It's in an older building, and the wooden stairs creaked a bit. I could have been staying at my aunt's house.
The facilities are family owned and run, and are very clean and tidy; homey might be a good description. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Coffee is always on, and you can use their refrigerator in the lobby to store your perishables.
Our second story room overlooked the bay, and from our window I could take some nice bay and eagle photos.
There are some good restaurants very near the facility, and we ate at one just across the street.
it's a nice stroll to be on the strand in about 5-10 minutes.

Room Tip: I'd pick second story and waterview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RDFarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We rented one of the lodges and also the cottage for our daughter's wedding this past July. We could not have been more pleased. The setting on Kachemak Bay provided one of the most beautiful views one could ask for. The houses were very clean and very well equipped for a large group. The staff was very eager to assist us with our needs. Great place for a wedding or group to gather.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBtee1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I've stayed at the Driftwood three times over the years, most recently this past June with my father. We were looking for a reasonably-priced place to stay in Homer (no small feat in the summer) and the Driftwood fit the bill. We stayed on the main building - our room had a bunk bed and we used the shared bathrooms (there are two). Clean and comfortable, no complaints. For the price, it's hard to beat for sure. The location is nice, right on the bay and not too far a drive from the Spit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJH-SFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Homer is a wonderful little town, and those people on here who expect things like an ice cube maker in the common room and are complaining that their room was recently painted seem really petty. You wouldn't have an automatic ice maker in your room in a hotel. We even got to see a gorgeous bald eagle who often rests and preens on the pinnacle of our very room from the back yard!
The room was clean, the house was wonderful, the bed was good, and I thought it was a good deal. The folks at the front desk were knowledgeable. We had a delightful time.

Room Tip: Ask when you call, because the rooms are each a little bit different. Ours was on the side of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We changed our travel plans last minute and drove many hours to Homer, not quite knowing what to expect. We got out of the car at the Driftwood Inn, amazed at the view, the space, and the peaceful nature of the place. I loved the kitchen in our apartment and coin laundry, and the way we could sit out on the communal deck to enjoy the summer sun. The staff were kind and helpful, and there were many small details that helped us feel comfortable and at home. You are within a short walk of the Three Sisters Bakery, which I highly recommend, and the Fat Olive, another good restaurant.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.9 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Bidarka Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Windjammer Suites
Windjammer Suites
#14 of 14 in Homer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges

Property: Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
Address: 135 W Bunnell Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Homer
#2 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer four distinctly different hotel, motel and deluxe lodge-style buildings. The Driftwood Inn is a charming, historic, hotel, motel, and Inn located in the heart of Old-Town Homer near the beach in Homer, Alaska. Located next to Bishop's Beach in a secluded area of Old Town Homer, we offer economy rooms and a relaxed, homey atmosphere with partial views overlooking beautiful Kachemak Bay with its mountains, glaciers and coves. The Seaside & Bluffview Lodges feature modern and spacious lodging overlooking Bishop's Beach with breathtaking views of Kachemak Bay. The seaside Kachemak Cottage and intimate RV Park are located adjacent to the Inn; just a few steps away. The Woodside Fishing Suites are located about a block away on Pioneer Ave and feature 1 and 2 Bedroom Suites with kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Hotel Homer
Driftwood Inn And Homer Seaside Lodges
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing