We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definite recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2007

The driftwood was a great place to stay for us on a long weekend. The place was quiet as well as close to a lot of great shops and restaurants especially Two Sisters bakery right down the street. Adreanne the owner was a very helpful when we needed some unexpected business taken care of. The rooms were small but very efficient. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank jrojanjua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
There are newer reviews for Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2006

We stayed at the Driftwood Inn in Homer, Alaska, at the end of August 2006 -- very near the end of the tourist season. As noted by others, the rooms are small, with beds attached to the wall. That may be an impediment for older travelers or those who get up frequently, but it was fine for us. The shared bathrooms down the hall -- there are two, each with sink, toilet, and shower -- were clean, but both showers had low flow. Our room had a sink (I think most rooms did), so that was nice. In addition, the view of Kachemak Bay was terrific, and the beach was just a short walk away -- as were a number of restaurants.

It's not a B&B, but they do offer a variety of breakfast choices on the honor system, with suggested prices posted. There is a public refrigerator in which you could store things, i.e., if you bring back a doggy bag from a restaurant. The "lounge" with the fridge and breakfast table is quite small -- it might seat six friendly people -- so don't count on this.

The walls aren't thin, but the doors are; it was easy to hear conversation -- even walking -- in the hallway. Still, in our experience, even though people got up early (for fishing, we assume), they weren't noisy. And, typically, the bathrooms were both free at 7 a.m.

If what you want is a luxurious palace, this isn't the place for you.

However, if all you want is a nice, clean, reasonably priced room in which to sleep after you've spent a day on a bear-viewing trip, or kayaking, or fishing, or visiting the two great museums in Homer (Pratt Museum and Islands & Ocean Visitor Center), or any of the other numerous outdoor activities in the area, do consider the Driftwood Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cmhprh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2006

The Driftwood Inn turned out to be the nicest place we stayed on our whole trip. Our room was small, but clean and comfortable, with lots of storage. We stayed in the European style rooms, so we had to share two bathrooms on the floor. Although the hotel was always packed, we didn't have any problem with the bathroom except once in the morning. (I would suggest showering at night when it's more open.) There's a comfy little living room and they also have breakfast foods available for a small price. Although we weren't on the side with the view, the Driftwood is very close to the beach and has a gorgeous view. The only bad part of our stay was the first night when the bar across the street had a live band and it was kind of loud. The hotel also has an RV park and rooms with their own baths, so you can choose what you like and what you want to pay for. Overall, I was very happy.

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank tchr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2006

Cozy, friendly and a welcome respite from the road. The Driftwood sits atop a bluff and we walked down to the beach and found plentiful driftwood to have a fire on the beach and watch the sunset - beautiful! While it is not swank, it is a two minute walk from Fat Olives, a GREAT restaurant, and is a short walk to the movie theater and the Alaska Islands and Oceans Visitor's Center. Be sure to check out the Pratt Museum, too.

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank leehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2006

We were in Homer for fishing. Stayed at the Driftwood 2 nights and found it fairly quiet and clean. No air conditioning but didn't need it in May. Not a Hilton but convenient . Our room had a private bath, stayed on second floor. Building was quaint and well maintained.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mtorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Seattle, WA
12
Reviewed 22 July 2004

My family has stayed at the Driftwood many times over the last 40 years. We have always found the staff very friendly and helpful some of them have worked there for years. The rooms are always very clean. They have both rooms that share 2 bathrooms down the hall (which do have locks) and rooms with private bathrooms. One of the best features is that they are on bishop's beach and also close to many restaraunts, coffee shops, and art galleries. They even have a fish cleaning station which we use everytime we visit and of a great place on the deck to grill up the fish you just caught. If I recall correctly there have been 4 owners since I started visiting 40 years ago. The latest one has done some extensive renovations and yet as kept the same charming friendly environment that keeps me going back year after year. She has 2 little babies --- and brought out some of their toys for my grandaughter to play with. Wonderful Year-round, Alaskan Hospitality and as far as I know the best prices in town!!!

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Anchorage, Alaska
26
Reviewed 17 April 2004

Have stayed at the Driftwood in off & on for some 17yrs. Merlin, it's owner then (now?) was very nice, had a lovely puppy that we saw grow into a large friendly hound over the years (he has since passed away, I believe). However, the DriftWood is a very comfortable place to stay, centrally located in Homer. Within walking of the beach, a gallery, a lively little book store, a bar, and just about anything you night desire. The rooms come in all shaped & sizes, something for everyone, and the anemities are numerous. Enjoy!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
1.0 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
148 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
872 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#5 of 14 in Homer
328 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges

Address: 135 W Bunnell Ave, Homer, AK 99603-7826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Homer
#2 Romantic Hotel in Homer
Price Range: £46 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer four distinctly different hotel, motel and deluxe lodge-style buildings. The Driftwood Inn is a charming, historic, hotel, motel, and Inn located in the heart of Old-Town Homer near the beach in Homer, Alaska. Located next to Bishop's Beach in a secluded area of Old Town Homer, we offer economy rooms and a relaxed, homey atmosphere with partial views overlooking beautiful Kachemak Bay with its mountains, glaciers and coves. The Seaside & Bluffview Lodges feature modern and spacious lodging overlooking Bishop's Beach with breathtaking views of Kachemak Bay. The seaside Kachemak Cottage and intimate RV Park are located adjacent to the Inn; just a few steps away. The Woodside Fishing Suites are located about a block away on Pioneer Ave and feature 1 and 2 Bedroom Suites with kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Inn And Homer Seaside Lodges
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Hotel Homer
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing