We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Homer Spit Campground
Ranked #9 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 30 October 2012 via mobile

Pulling our RV up on the Homer Spit for the first time was an awesome experience! It was dark and clear - after we parked, the first thing we did was walk around photographing the sights. We stayed 2 nights, and although the park is basically a parking lot with fire rings, the location is killer. We kayaked to Halibut Cove and had a ridiculously beautiful day, drank at the Salty Dawg, and made new friends around the fire, and never had to start up the RV until we regrettably started the 5 hour drive back on Sunday.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank HoboHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    23
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Prepare to be nicked and dimed. Expensive camping, and then charged for firewood, towels, showers, etc. Internet password was nowhere to be found and the lady on duty was not interested in helping anyone. Loud campers were clowning around 1 night. The only redeeming factor was the bathroom and view.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tbott91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I feel sorry for all those people that come to Homer and stay in Hotels. Great opportunity to really soak in the beauty. Rough but so pretty.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawyer Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Halibut, otters, good food, nice shops, spit is a madhouse.

Room Tip: Try Rosy's B&B on the hill. She is awesome and her little house is really a home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We stayed two nights at the Homer Spit Campground in our 32 foot RV. It certainly is not fancy, and the RVs are parked right next to each other, but you are right on the beach, the view is spectacular, the staff is friendly, and you can easily walk to the boardwalk and all the shops and restaurants just down the spit. There are nice, clean hot showers where you can stay in as long as you'd like for just $1, and a laundry room. We took a water taxi across Kachemak Bay to Kachemak State Park and hiked to the Grewingk Glacier, a nice easy hike that our three young kids enjoyed. I would definitely go back.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank jeannie2nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

The Homer Spit Campgrounds is not a luxurious RV park and for me that is good. Located just a couple hundred yards from the Salty Dog Saloon, Coal Point, the harbor and a cool expresso shop. The park offers tent camping, RV sites with water and power and without. For RVs there is an centrally located dump. There are showers for only a buck with lots of hot water.

The highlight is the view is every direction. We saw sea otters regularly swimming by. The place is family owned, very friendly. The atmosphere is casual.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BRTHGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Homer Spit Campground is great! You couldn't ask for a better view. Close to the quaint shops. Right on the beach. We hated to leave, really enjoyed our stay. Owner was more than accommodating. We had problems with our electrical hookup and he helped us out immediately even though it was after office hours. Hot showers for $1.00 unlimited time, unlike many other RV parks in Alaska. Eagles right on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RosieOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
5.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.4 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
142 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
0.2 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
789 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homer Spit Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homer Spit Campground

Property: Homer Spit Campground
Address: 4535 Homer Spit Rd, Homer, AK 99603-8004
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Full Service Campground with camping options. *Beach Front with no services for tents and RV's *Beach View with electricity *Indirect View with or without electricity *Full Service; sewer, water, electric *Water Fill and Dump Stations on Site *Laundry *Showers and Clean Restrooms *Gift Shop *Firewood and Ice for sale *Room to Rent *Free Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homer Spit Campgrounds Hotel Homer
Homer Spit Campground Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing