We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Homer Spit Campground
Ranked #10 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“average”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were constantly being tortured by other campers and the campground had nothing special about it. The price was costly for what was offered. It is very windy and the pack you in tight spaces for large motorhomes.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank LukeD2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    25
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Forsyth, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We camped in a tent a night here, right on the beach! Awesome!!!! Beautiful! Beach just steps away. Close to shops, restaurants,clean area, showers, good people, excellent seafood. A great place to experience the Last Frontier-Alaska.

Room Tip: Beach Front-Awesome!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank CindySB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Great location, great views, reasonable rates considering everything.

I tented there for two nights, could have spent a lot more time.

Laundry rates are HIGH, but no big deal.

You are also close to various shops, restaurants, and more on the Spit.

Overall, A+

Room Tip: Give up on a hook up, and take a dry site on the ocean instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thifty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in a motor home. We took the OceanFront Campsite, these are all dry sites so no hookups. The views were amazing. There is nothing between you and the ocean when you are sitting around the campfire which is amazing. Our two boys 15 and 9 years old had a great time at the campsite and the beach. It gets windy at times. The main Homer Spit area with shops and restaurants is at walking distance. The showers though a bit dated are clean. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ansh_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is the best value on the Spit. Whether you have a Class A RV, a travel trailer or just want to pitch a tent, this is the campground for you. An incredible view everyday! There's a large, multi-stall men's and women's bathroom with shower facilities to boot, ($1.00 per shower). Just go to the end of the Spit and you're there! Easy walk to the shops, coffee shop and restaurants! Plus free wifi!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cparsons0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

One the nicest campgrounds i have ever stayed in Alaska. You are right on the beach looking at a live steaming volcano. Home of the Salty Dawg. Laundry, HOT showers and store. Its one of those you have go places.

Room Tip: The Eagle lady spot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

One of the best views we have experienced on this trip to Alaska. Right on the water, we had a full service site, all worked well. Plenty of fire rings, just to windy to use. It is also the Best location to all of the shops and restaurants on the Spit ! We left our unit hooked up for three nights, and walked every place we needed to visit. This is the best location to stay when visiting this area!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Villagesre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
5.3 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.2 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
4.4 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
0.2 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
832 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homer Spit Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homer Spit Campground

Property: Homer Spit Campground
Address: 4535 Homer Spit Rd, Homer, AK 99603-8004
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*Full Service Campground with camping options. *Beach Front with no services for tents and RV's *Beach View with electricity *Indirect View with or without electricity *Full Service; sewer, water, electric *Water Fill and Dump Stations on Site *Laundry *Showers and Clean Restrooms *Gift Shop *Firewood and Ice for sale *Room to Rent *Free Wi-Fi ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homer Spit Campgrounds Hotel Homer
Homer Spit Campground Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing