We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wrong choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Homer Floatplane Lodge
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was a disappointment. The location is quite nice with a lake view. We weren't made to feel particularly welcome, just handed the room key and told to take our bags to our cabin.

The standard cabin we were given was much smaller than we had been told by our agent- a quick word and we were allocated a bigger cabin at no charge. The new cabin needed to be aired so we were told to give them 15 minutes to get it ready: we can accept this, but rather than suggest we wait in the main lodge, we had to wait in the car.

When the cabin was ready we were asked if we wanted help with our luggage: a nice touch, only the offer was made by the young son who was smaller than our cases!

The new room was not good- it was not clean (the pans in the kitchen should have been thrown away) and it was freezing: we ended up having to use the cooker to get the room to a reasonable temparature. This took a while to achieve. The night was not a comfortable one.

After a fair bit of discussion, we decided to cut our losses and sacrifice our second night and check in to the Lands End Resort on the Homer Spit which, as it tuns out, was a great move.

Sorry- we don't like to give poor reviews, but in this case we felt that it did not meet our expectations. Basic we can handle- but we expect clean. Fortunately it did not spoil what was a great trip.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed in room #4 and loved it! There were homemade quilts on the bed and walls. Alpenglow shampoo and soap, all natural, homemade with local herbs and oils were wonderful. Coffee, Hot Chocolate and Popcorn were provided. The staff was very attentive showing us where the hot tub was and the WiFi password as well as providing recommended places to see in Homer. We wanted to book the bearview trip, but it was full and usually books up prior to the summer so we were disappointed; reserve in advance! We used the firepit by the lake and the grill.

We really enjoyed the Tundra Swans and their Cygnets laying in the grass in the morning. We can't wait to be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed in a room for three nights. the Lodge is in a nice location has a hot tub, and on a lake that the float planes take off from. When we arrived it seemed as if they were busy with something as they just gave us the key and didn't tell us where anything was. The room was nice and clean and it was a treat to have a tv in the room. Few things the shower although a good size is very dark when you close the shower curtain, we had room 4 and the bed needs to be changed out. I let my husband sleep in the bed (he can sleep anywhere) I had to sleep on the floor- that's how bad the bed is. It's nice they provide a refrig and coffee maker with all the fixings but it doesn't do you any good if they don't give you coffee cups-and we were 3 days no cups. We fished every day early 6am so the floatplane noise was not a issue but it could be if you don't get up early

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank califcruiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here and it was an absolutely wonderful Experience from the moment we arrived until we departed. The owners, Craig & Sarah are very customer focused and go out of their way to ensure that every aspect of your stay is exceptional. We booked the Floatplane bear viewing & Halibut fishing excursions with them as well. Both were 'fantastic', Extra value was provided during the FloatPlane bear viewing excursion as Craig (who is a great pilot) provided a fly over of a glacier and by postioning the plane so all onboard could see the many whales spotted enroute. Sarah served as our guide during the bear viewing. One could not leave without appreciating her knowledge, experience and wonderful attitude. Meals were provided for all activiites by Kyle-who is a wonderfully talented Chef. Our rooms were very clean and well appointed. This lodge was without a doubt--the highlight of our vacation in Alaska. I would highly recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Homer.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cabin 4 which has a great view. The couple that travelled with us stayed in cabin 5 wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranny-Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. They were very accommodating and let us checkin very early since the room was not used the night before. Since there was only two of us, we opted for the room and not the cabins. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The only thing we could even possibly mention for improvement was that the bed was rather old and you could feel the springs in the mattress.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HammockMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I spent two nights here in June 2012 while in town for a customer fishing trip. Our cabin was very clean and comfortable, nicely furnished and big enough for 4 grown men to not trip over each other. Service was friendly and accommodating of our needs. Only negative was small size of bathrooms, which could be an issue for "larger" guests. Can't wait to return!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
Thank BrentwoodBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My brother, dad and I stayed at the Homer Floatplane Lodge for three days, undoubtedly the most amazing three days of our entire summer vacation.

Craig and Sara were incredible hosts, joining us each evening for dinner to discuss the day's events. Chef Roland creates some of the most spectacular meals that rival the nicest lower 48 restaurants. His attention to detail and custom menu options are impossible to beat. The location on Beluga lake is picturesque and convenient, near the town center and the Spit.

Sara will arrange the daily fishing adventures for you. I absolutely recommend the bear viewing trip to Katmai. It's a once in a lifetime experience and the experience is unlike anything. The proximity to the bears and the heart stopping action is amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsmith031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
1.2 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.5 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
911 reviews
3.7 mi away
Glacier View Cabins
Glacier View Cabins
#5 of 30 in Homer
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
0.3 mi away
Beluga Lake Lodge
Beluga Lake Lodge
#11 of 14 in Homer
107 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homer Floatplane Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homer Floatplane Lodge

Address: 1244 Lake Shore Dr, Homer, AK 99603-7931
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Price Range: £93 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A full service fishing lodge in a convenient location in Homer, Alaska. Affordable all inclusive fishing vacation packages for groups, reunions, weddings, corporate retreats and fishing clubs. World Class halibut & salmon fishing and amazing bear viewing photo expeditions fly out from the lodge daily. There are non-fishing activities too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Homer Floatplane Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing