We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View great, room old and not clean, breakfast poor, price ok for Homer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Alaska Beach House
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“View great, room old and not clean, breakfast poor, price ok for Homer”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

First, it is probably one of the better places in Homer, but that says a lot about hosting there. To keep it short, the room Captains quarters is creatively furnitured, but needs an update urgently. Some of the decorations are dirty and seemed to haven't been touched and cleaned obviously for years. The carpet is just disgusting.
Sound proof doesn't exist in the house, for sure it was unlucky that our neighbour was snoring the whole night, but it just came along with the whole stay there.
Breakfast was a joghurt (strawberry only), a piece of cake (which does not belong to breakfast in my opinion) and a banana every day, so if you don't fancy banana, you start your day hungry.
The view is perfect, big plus for that.
It was really not what we have expected.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PnCKanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbum578, Owner at The Alaska Beach House, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your review. Guests comments are important to us. We are so sorry you did not care for the room. We have guests that love that room.
To address some of your concerns:
We do have sound proof in the rooms, but you can't always block out large snoring. We have tried.
We have housekeepers on site everyday and the rooms are totally cleaned. Our rooms are re done every season. Guest do not take off their shoes at the door which leads to mud tracking into the carpet. These too are cleaned, at the beginning of the season.
We do not advertise a breakfast. The fruit, yogurt, pastry/homemade breads are complimentary.
Again Thank you for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    22
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
134
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This was my third time coming to the beach house and once again, I loved every bit of my stay. When you're there there is a feeling of calmness and you just can't escape the view outside your windows. We couldn't stay inside, we kept our eyes on the water and watched as the tide came in, as well as the sea otters and a bald eagle flying close by. Thank you Doug and Sue for having such a great place to stay and enjoy beautiful Homer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had a wonderful time with Doug and Sue at the beach house! there is so much to do and see. The Beach house is clean and up to date with a wonderful coffee maker of your choice and home made muffins in the refridge! It is spacious yet- close to the homer spit! It is quiet and they are so giving of the hot tub and bar-b-que! Eagles fly over and the tide comes and goes! What a place of rest and refreshment! We look forward to our trip every year! What a wonderful place and the hosts are awesome! If you want to feel like your in a room on a ship- yet your legs are land-locked! Come see and experience the Beach house at Homer!

Room Tip: Oh no problem- my favorite is the room overlooking the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It's not about the spectacular view or the quaint home-like atmosphere or even the fact that Kachemak Bay is RIGHT THERE...It's about the people you meet! Thank you so much Doug and Sue. What fabulous hosts. Such a pleasure! I drove 1506 miles in 10 days. I met a lot of folks but ABH is top on my list. I would come back in a quick minute...well, make that a quick 10 hour plane flight as they are just the best.

Room Tip: Captains Quarters... spectacular view all around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parkers_Momma_48080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the cabin for two nights. The bed was so comfortable! The private deck is wonderful for views at all hours. You have access to the beach so you can go walk around when the tide is out. And there are great views of eagles up close. We would go back in a second if we come back. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AckIemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbum578, Owner at The Alaska Beach House, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
We loved having you stay with us. Thank you for a wonderful review. It was great meeting you and sharing our property with us. Have a great remainder of 2013.
Doug & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Alaska Beach House was the perfect choice for our stay in Homer. Our hosts, Doug and Sue, were wonderful hosts and by the time we left, like family. Their property is just beautiful, overlooking Kachemak Bay.

We stayed in the Kachemak Bay room which has wonderful views of the bay all the way around. It was very comfortable and had all the amenities we needed.

My husband wanted pictures of eagles and pictures of eagles we got as there are a couple that have a nest off the beach nearby. They could often be seen in the trees right above the property and off the deck that leads down to the beach. So that was truly an added plus.

Thank you Doug and Sue for making our stay in Homer so memorable and sharing your beautiful place with us. It was truly a blessing.

Room Tip: The views from this room are exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Printmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbum578, Owner at The Alaska Beach House, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank you for the review! We loved meeting you! We hope you enjoyed you time here at the Alaska Beach House and in Homer.
Have a great summer.
Doug & Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardnerville, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Compass Rose cottage is charming, relaxing and very comfortable, and the views cannot be beat. A perfect serene location in Homer and the perfect hosts! Doug and Sue were very welcoming and made our anniversary trip one to remember! We thank you and hope to visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JB1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbum578, Owner at The Alaska Beach House, responded to this review, 30 June 2013
We loved having you here. We hope your Anniversary was one you will remember.!
It was wonderful meeting you. Thank you for the review.
Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
1.2 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
0.1 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
0.2 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Best Western Bidarka Inn
4.4 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Alaska Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alaska Beach House

Property: The Alaska Beach House
Address: 1121 Seabreeze Ct, Homer, AK 99603-7935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Alaska Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breath taking luxury lodging, Alaska Beach House lodging on the water's edge. in Homer Alaska. Enjoy the sights and sounds of the waves. We offer beach access, Free High Speed internet, TV, 2 BBQ's, mini Kitchenettes, private entrances and baths. Each room has a wonderful comfy bed for your nights rest, with deluxe linens. Our rooms offer a TV, coffee pot, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, and bath soap, for your convenience. Patio furniture for relaxing outside and viewing the bay and wildlife. Coffee, and tea are available in your room each day. Only a light Breakfast Basket will be offered. Former name Beach House Bed & Breakfast, 8 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Alaska Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaska Beach House b&b
Alaska Beach House Hotel Homer
The Alaska Beach House Homer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing