We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Alaska Beach House
Nearby Hotels
Ocean Shores(Homer)(Great Value!)
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Land's End Resort(Homer)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$95
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
189
25
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
25
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbald eaglesyogurtkachemak bayhomer spitnautical themeprivate deckthe eagle's nestlow tidemain buildingnice roomstayed two nightswe loved our staybear's denview of the bayfire pithostsproperty
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

One of the most wonderful "get aways" in Alaska is the "Beach House". We live in Alaska- but every year we make the trip to the Beach house. It is such a delight and retreat for our family. Doug and Sue are wonderful hosts and they have such clean and up to date rooms. All of the rooms are excellent, clean, and charming! You feel like you on a ship that is docked! Sue is an excellent cook and Doug will make sure you have what you need. We went fishing and he even offered up a bar-b-que for us! They are available for your questions and needs- yet they give you your space and privacy. This is one of our favorite family outings! Moose- eagles- tides- shell collecting! It is all here and all you need to come with is a toothbrush!

Room Tip: Choose the cabin over looking the tides. You cannot imagine the effect!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have stayed at the Alaska Beach House many times. Doug & Sue call it a B&B, but, I call it the Homer Hilton. They provide a few breakfast treats, so, i guess it is a B&B. Have stayed in a few of the themed rooms/cabins. Very unique. Out of this world cleanliness. You can here a pin drop at night. Have had moose peeking in the windows and enjoyed the resident eagles that sit in the near by trees.Doug and Sue provide a "homey" atmosphere, and go out of there way to take care of you. This past year, our yearly trip was a little late, and they stayed open a few xtra days to take care of our needs.Micro,fridge,sat tv,everything one needs to feel at home. You can't go wrong with a stay at the Alaska Beach House. WARNING!!! Do not stay in the Captains Room!!! We wouldn't want to have to kick you out to accommodate our stay!
Gary & Nancy Koska Cold Spring, Minnesota ....Halibut Fisherman...............

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbum578, Owner at The Alaska Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for the lovely review! We love seeing you each year. Have a wonderful fall and winter.
Blessings...See you next year we hope

Doug & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed at the Alaskan Beach house two nights in the Captain's Quarter room. The room was clean and homey. I loved the covered swing and view. At the time of my stay (July 2013), the owners had just sold the property and reportedly, the new owners were planning even a few more improvements. Pair of bald eagles kept me company while I sat on the swing and enjoyed the spectacular view.

Room Tip: Given the location of the property, I think any of the rooms would be a good choice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed in the Compass Rose cottage for 2 delightful nights. The room was homey, clean, and very comfortable w/ a great bed. The thing that makes this room so wonderful is the view. With the sun setting only a few hours each night in July, there was plenty of opportunity to soak up the surrounding beauty. The property was well cared for and the location was convent for driving into town.

I am rating this property strictly on the Compass Rose cottage. Without the view I would rate the property average, but the view from our room was fabulous. Do yourself a favor.. book early and
pay the extra for this cottage.....the view is priceless.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missmywolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a wonderful week in the Captain's room, even tho we had light rain every day. I loved the covered swing while my husband fished. the breakfasts were great and the views were outstanding. loved watching the eagles and the tides go in and out. the bed was very comfortable and i usually have trouble sleeping in a different bed. If we go back to Homer we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beachbum578, Owner at The Alaska Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. It was great getting to meeting you. Have a wonderful fall.

Doug & Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews