We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only in a pinch.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duncan House Diner

Duncan House Diner
Ranked #13 of 73 Restaurants in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
anchorage
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only in a pinch.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

What did I like? I liked the kitschy atmosphere and by brother was pleased with his slab of ham. This diner serves frozen, re-heat food. This may not be a really big deal, but for the prices it was disappointing...especially when we knew we had other options in town where you get freshly prepared food. For example the gravy from my biscuits and gravy was from a can. The hash brown potatoes were the frozen cubes. And the serving size was tiny for the price (see photo) The coffee was also out of a can. Homer has at least 2 local coffee roasters, so I was disappointed that this diner didn't support a fellow local business. I will only return to this place if there is no other option.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank javaspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    70
    31
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Our Mainstay in Homer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had not returned to Homer in seven years; but beat a path to Duncan House for daily breakfast.

The faces change; but, the home-style cooking and ambiance has not. French toast, flap jack(s) the size of the plate, oatmeal or eggs were the usual fare along with mugs of fresh coffee. The biscuit here puts our “cat-heads” to shame! Yep, the reindeer sausage is caribou / reindeer meat so, Outsider, don’t act like a wuss. Sausage is sausage. Their bacon is even better.

If you are planning an off-season trip (after Labor Day) lots of attractions and restaurants hibernate; but not Duncan House. Good enough that you want to get back soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bertram28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We went twice this past weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Love the breakfasts here, also the lunch for that matter. I usually have breakfast and the country fried steak and eggs is awesome. The breakfast burrito is awesome, the french toast is awesome. They also have the best, and I mean best, oyster stew around. The strawberry shortcake is real strawberry shortcake. No angel food cake, they use the real buiscut. The service is very, very good. You can't go wrong with Duncan house!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Painted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brinkone2@aol.com
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I liked this family style restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We went here for breakfast and it was such a fun time! It was like an antique store inside and they had all kinds of cool stuff on the window sills and all over the place. The food was great and reasonably priced. I will return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brinkone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rural ak
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good breakfast diner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a good breakfast diner-type restaurant. I like the tunes they play and the staff is really nice! Definitely somewhere I return to for standard breakfast food.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Duncan House Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing