We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homestead cooking”

The Homestead Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 76 Restaurants in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Casual Fine Dining restaurant serving delicious steak and fresh seafood, with a full service bar and Wine Spectator awarded wine list, with stellar views overlooking Kachemak Bay.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Homestead cooking”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Excellent Prime Rib steak and the desert was a killer to the taste buds,chocolate desert will never taste the same again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    33
    20
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago,IL
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fine Dining, Finer View”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Fine dining with a great Bay view. This is a special dinner kind of place. The food is exceptional and the service top notch. Expect to get what you pay for. Its worth the splurge. It's a bit out of town so a car or cab ride is necessary to get here.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DrShnaynay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, great owner”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We loved the food, but the owner was so knowledgable and shared some stories with us. It was a fantastic dinner. Also, great view from the restaurant!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ronitilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virum, Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent recommendation”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We have eaten kingcrab's 5 times during our vacation inAlaska, but the best served was at The Homestead Restaurant. We also got a lovely steak - prepared to our expectations - and very vins from a very good selection - The Happy Danes

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mevasseret Zion, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Terrible service.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

It should gave been different. After all the food is good, the setting is nice, and they do try to create an atmosphere of an upscale restaurant. BUT... Of the menu- 3 dishes we ordered - we were told they were out of it! Once we ordered, the waiter forgot to bring the wine, so we had to remind her. They rushed us all the time despite the fact that the place was > half empty, and brought entree before we finished the starters, and got our plates the moment we finished the last bite... And reading what others wrote- u find they had similar exp ... So... No need to rush there. Pick a different place for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Idit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Homestead Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing