We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good, views were amazing.”

Happy Face Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 75 Restaurants in Homer
Restaurant details
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
285 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Food was good, views were amazing.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My hubby & I could not decide where to eat lunch while out on the spit, but we finally chose Happy Face Restaurant. Couldn't really tell what kind of place it was as you had to walk up a very steep ramp to get to the second story we the restaurant was located. We walked in and were seated right away. The place really didn't have a seaside feel to it, more on the Asian side, but they did have fish & chips on the menu. So we both ordered fish & chips, and lunch arrived in about a 1/2 hr. Well, I must say the food was really very good, no complaints here ,fish was very fresh and flakey. Being on the second story there were some very nice views out to the bay and the mountains.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JstLv2Crz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    12
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hope, Alaska
2 reviews
“Rip off”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We where so disappointed with our meal, the meals were so small i asked for another piece of halibut they wanted $11.00 what a rip off.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lileazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gadsden alabama
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fish n chips were great”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Can't wait to go back for fish ,great clean restaraunt. We were in homer in July and stopped by to eat

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
535 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great Place for Fish and Chips - Year Round”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

One of the few places open on the Spit in the Winter...and so glad they are! Reasonable and Tasty, always.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AKcabingirlA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“my home town place....”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

ive been eating at the happy face since the day i got on the spit. they are open most of the year when the wind is blowing and nothing else is open. elezibeth the owner used to let me eat when i had no money and pay her back when i got some money together - i swear sometimes i had over 10 tickets. i gave them a 5 because they are a part of the spit community and it woudnt be the same without them there. im sure the day i get back on the spit ill be ordering a happy face burger cooked by che- nice!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaiser616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Happy Face Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Happy Face Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing