We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alaskan Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alaskan Suites
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Champlin, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Absolutely fabulous spot! Our entire family stayed here in these great cabins with the most fantastic viewing vantage point! Loved every minute of our stay and were very sad when it was time to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernadette934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    21
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
87
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We throughly enjoyed Alaskan Suites. Beautiful view, clean, comfortable and charming.... and breakfast treats too. Convenient to the uniquely amazing city of Homer and other places of interest. Proprietor Larry is wonderful and attentive. Go There !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaGeology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The view here is amazing; it gives the impression of being much higher than it actually is. You see across Kachemak Bay and out toward volcanoes in the distance. Quite a sight. Last night there were two different views. In the west there were strong colors similar to what we often see in Florida. But in the east there were subtle pastels in the sky and on the mountains and Kachemak Bay below. At one point a volcano in the distance was surrounded by a light pink. There are only 5 cabins here, and Larry, the owner, is very personable and helpful. He gave us great tips about dining and bear viewing trips. It is true that it is on Sterling Highway, but the cabins themselves are very quiet, and there is nothing on the Bay side but a spectacular view!

Room Tip: There are only 5 cabins, all with basically the same great view. Ours, Moose, was the last on the we...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Leland A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed at Alaskan Suites for 2 nights in July, 2013. I would highly recommend it. It is really cute and the view is fantastic! Great waffles for breakfast (and I don't even like waffles!). There were 3 of us and the pull down bed was even comfortable. The kitchen was adequate and the gas grill was great for cooking fresh halibut!
Mary

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marbear1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

I got the Small Romantic package and was very pleased! Walked into a beautiful cozy cabin with candles casting a romantic glow and romantic music playing through the TV. The hot tub was perfect with an amazing view. Thoroughly enjoyed our time here and will return!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetohaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Love the cabin, love the service, and love the view! Whenever we travel to homer, I always stay at alaskan suites. The owner went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. Will definitely continue returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chur, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at several accommodations during our holidays in Alaska. All were good or very good. But the Alaskan Suite was definitively the best one. The cabins were clean and well equipped, just superb. We enjoyed the wonderful "million dollar" view. Thank you for your kindness and hospitality during our stay in Homer. We will recommend Alaskan Suite to anyone who is coming to Homer

Family Willi, Chur, Switzerland

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
3.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.5 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
4.3 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kenai Peninsula Suites
4.6 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaskan Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaskan Suites

Property: Alaskan Suites
Address: 3255 Sterling Hwy, Homer, AK 99603-9298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaskan Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Beautiful cabins and 1 house located on the bluff overlooking Kachemak Bay and volcanoes. Cabins have kitchenette, deck w/grill, big screen TV, 3 beds, access to a hot tub and a million dollar view. House has 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, full kitchen w/dining room, and living room. It has same million dollar view with private hot tub and is on a private lot. These are all 5 star units and we serve a free continental breakfast in the summer. You have to see to believe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Alaskan Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaskan Hotel Homer
Alaskan Suites Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing