We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better to be Lucky”
Review of Alaskan Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alaskan Suites
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Sabillasville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better to be Lucky”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We thought our travel agent had made us reservations at another well-known property in Homer, but as we were driving toward town, I looked at our itinerary and noticed that we were booked at someplace called Alaskan Suites. Not being sure which was correct, we stopped in at Alaskan Suites (since we passed it first) and, sure enough, they had our reservation. This turned out to be the best place we stayed during our three weeks in Alaska! The views are magnificent. The cabins are large, clean, functional, modern-rustic and the staff is friendly and helpful. It is located just before Homer proper. Most people may think they want to stay on the spit, but we found that we preferred this location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
88
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
250 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

These luxury cabins are located on a high bluff overlooking Cook Inlet, the Kachemak Bay islands, and the volcanoes of the Aleutian Range. Eagles soar beneath you over the cliffs. There are two queen beds, a folding bed, and a great gas grill on the deck. Whales are sometimes visible in the distance. This is a great base for Homer activities, or even better to just sit and relax and enjoy one of the finest views anywhere.

Room Tip: The five cabins are identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskanSon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I almost didn't want to mention how amazing this place is because I'm afraid next time my Husband and I want to visit there will not be a cabin available.

The hosts were great. The hot tub was awesome. The view is amazing. The cabin was perfect and it was great to have a fire pit to make S'mores!

I accidentally locked us out and had to call around 1am - We are so grateful that Larry was available to give us a key to get in. (Thanks again, Larry!!)

Tip- Don't lock yourself out!!

I can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Moose Cabin - It is the closest cabin to the hot tub. You really can't go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureSkrVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This place turned out to be even better than expected. The cabin was large and roomy, upscale, well-maintained and nicely appointed. The best part was the amazing view behind the cabin from the deck and back windows. Enjoyed evenings on the deck watching the water and eagles soar above the cliff. Nice grill on the deck for grilling fresh fish from downtown. The freshly baked breads/cake at breakfast were delicious! Larry was a wonderful host and provided lists of useful information about Homer and the surrounding area. Sheila was also very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valparaiso, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

WOW !! It was THE perfect spot for us. Very clean and esthetic cabin with all the amenities. The view was breathtaking. Our comfort and relaxation was enhanced by the provisions of a hot tub, fire pit , breakfast, and nice gas grill. Our host , Larry , was very helpful and made sure that we had everything we needed as well as make many excellent suggestions on things to do and places to eat. This place was recommended to us by Steve and Elizabeth and we will certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool. Room service was provided by Larry on an as needed bases. He made sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickjcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was a beautiful place, with a great host and in a perfect setting! We saw whales, moose and eagles all from our front porch! We cooked our feahly caught salmon, roasted marshmallows in the campfire, relaxed in the hot tub and visited with our host, Larry. Larry was very kind, conversational and accommodating!!! The cabin was extremely comfortable and well stocked with everything we needed! This was the best place we stated in during our entire Alaskan vacation!! We wd love to come back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyerboegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Alaska Suites is the whole package; beautiful setting, class accommodations, comfortable beds, and great wildlife viewing. They have thought of most everything imaginable to make your stay exceptional from cooking your own meals in the cabin, BBQing on the front deck, enjoying the outdoor hot tub, or just relaxing while enjoying breathtaking views. We sat for several hours one morning watching 4 moose feeding in the lake below the bluff in our front yard as Eagles and other Alaskan birds were soaring around us playing in the thermals created by the bluff where Alaska Suites is situated. Bring your binoculars as there is constant activity on the water and surrounding scenery. Homer and the Spit are just a few minutes away by car and yet your stay at Alaska Suites makes you feel your in the wilderness. Enjoy, you'll be back!

Room Tip: They are all superb and same exceptional view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
3.4 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
4.3 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#4 of 14 in Homer
135 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#1 of 14 in Homer
743 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kenai Peninsula Suites
4.6 mi away
The Alaska Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaskan Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaskan Suites

Property: Alaskan Suites
Address: 3255 Sterling Hwy, Homer, AK 99603-9298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Homer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alaskan Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 Beautiful cabins and 1 house located on the bluff overlooking Kachemak Bay and volcanoes. Cabins have kitchenette, deck w/grill, big screen TV, 3 beds, access to a hot tub and a million dollar view. House has 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, full kitchen w/dining room, and living room. It has same million dollar view with private hot tub and is on a private lot. These are all 5 star units and we serve a free continental breakfast in the summer. You have to see to believe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Alaskan Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaskan Hotel Homer
Alaskan Suites Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing