We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly staff and good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fresh Sourdough Express

Fresh Sourdough Express
Ranked #2 of 8 Dessert in Homer
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At the Fresh Sourdough Express, we offer food that is both good for you and the planet. ~ Since 1982 we have Served Healthy Hearty Alaskan Cuisine focused on using Local and Organic ingredients. We feature the best Alaskan seafood, pork, and beef plus plenty of Homer-grown vegetables. Offer delicious vegetarian & vegan options using as much seasonal Home-grown produce as possible. There is no skimping on the value you receive when you are served a delicious, robust meal, teeming with regional flavor and quality, from one of our smiling servers. We serve breakfast all day, hearty lunches, seasonal daily specials, to-go meals, and box lunches. Daily baked goodies including gluten-free options and a variety of baked goods made with organic ingredients. Drinks include a raw juice bar, smoothies, espresso drinks, milkshakes, Kombucha and natural sodas All in a fun and friendly atmosphere. Please check out our menu. We offer catering services planned with attention to detail for any event. Our Intentions, desires, and beliefs: Customer service makes all the difference in your experience while you dine. It is our intention to serve you in a manner that is welcoming and enjoyable. Buying local helps to build the local economy and assures freshness in all that we prepare. The food we consume directly affects our health and the health of the plant. We strive to be a zero-waste facility by composting all of our food scraps, recycling everything possible, and implement energy efficient appliances and practices into our establishment. Check out our website and find out how we started the Cafe with just $43 and the passion "to make the world a better place one bite at a time." We sincerely look forward to serving you and value your feedback. Open from May until October Summer Hours Open DAILY 8 am - 5 pm daily Off-season Hours 8-3 Closed on Thursday
sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“friendly staff and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

we called in to ask for directions and the staff were so friendly and helpful we went back again later!. we only had a snack of salmon pinwheel and rhubarb crumble -just out of the oven. both were really tasty and we were disappointed we didn't have time for a proper meal. If we're ever fortunate enough to visit homer again it will be top of our restaurant list

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HOBOsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, Manager at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Fantastic Review!!! Thank you so much.... We look forward to serving you many splendid meals next time you are in Homer... Thanks for sharing the love...
Cheers Kevin & Donna and the friendly caring staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    63
    28
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
fremont
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our tour bus stopped here, all 50 of us and had a Great Breakfast and great service. The interior is very comfortable, the kind of place you can sit and visit comfortably . They started out many years ago in a van making sourdough bread and now a very nice restaurant. Very clean and service was pretty fast for 50 of us. Prices are like $7 to $10 for a nice breakfast or you can go to the counter and get overwhelmed with baked goods.
This is where I will eat Breakfast when in Homer

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roger n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for the great photos and wonderful review. You guys where so much fun to have! We look forward to serving each and everyone of you again someday...
Hope the rest of your trip was a blast.
Cheers Kevin & Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“GET THE FRENCH TOAST! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Me & my wife stopped in for breakfast and it was awesome. I was here 4 years ago & it was just ok. Now it was excellent. The French toast was incredible. As was the coffee & service. See y'all next year.

Helpful?
Thank surviorRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
So glad you enjoyed the French Toast... :-) Nothing like organic bread topped with Real Maple Syrup. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Hope your trip to AK this year was terrific.
We look forward to serving you again real soon.
Its worth the trip. Cheers Kevin & Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pine hill, nj
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in 2 weeks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We came here a few years ago and it was pretty good but service was iffy. 4 years later, the French toast was heavenly, the coffee amazing and the service, well, fantastic!!! So glad we came back and indulged!! We will be back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tripgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a 5 star review... Its reviews like this and folks like you that keep us going after 32 years in the Biz! Look forward to serving you again soon.
Cheers Kevin & Donna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Organic and fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Everything here is as fresh and organic as possible. And it is good too. The reindeer scramble was awesome. It was the first time I had reindeer (I know...don't think about Santa). But it was really good. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NCphotogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, Owner at Fresh Sourdough Express, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed our place and appreciate that we are serving the best quality local and organic food. Look forward to serving you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fresh Sourdough Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing