We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at Majestic for the beginning of our trip to Alaska. It is set in this cute little town of Homer surrounded by gorgeous views.

Maria's B&B is awesome. Not only is she a fantastic cook, but her home is so nice and cozy and extremely welcoming. She is also very knowledgeable on the area and is great to help you decide what to do! We recommend a bear tour :)

We also got to see moose walking through the backyard!

We hope to be able to come back and stay at Majestic View another time.

Loved it!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talitha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

My son and I traveled to Homer and found Maria's Majestic View B & B more that we ever expected. A message was left at the door on how to find our room, yet they were home to greet us. The room was quiet and very clean and nice. Our room had a deck with a beautiful view. The first morning the breakfast was wonderful. The remaining three mornings since we were leaving the B&B before breakfast very early to go fishing, Maria had packed up wonderful sack lunches in an ice chest in liu of the breakfast. There were sweet rolls available for a quick breakfast which was more than we asked for, but very much appreciated.
One afternoon when we came back to the B&B there was a moose with baby grazing on the shrubs by the front door. For our safety we stayed in our car for about 20 minutes before they left. We took pictures and enjoyed watching them, and they seemed in no hurry to leave. We even tried honking our horn, and they were content to eat, so we just sat and enjoyed watching them at a closer than unusal view.
I enjoyed meeting Maria's sons. Very nice young men and made us feel quite welcome as well. Being refered to Maria's B&B by the Captain of our fishing boat, we were finding hotels in the area more in cost than the Majestic View B&B. This cost us less, furnished us a sack lunch, and was a lot more personal. I would highly recoment staying here and will again on future fishing trips to Homer. Maria was a great resource of information as well. We stayed a total of five nights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights. Arrived to empty home with sticky notes plastered all over the front door. The house and our room
do have an incredible view. The Rose Room is large with a small balcony and is the only room on second floor which was great for privacy. The open bathroom is separated from the room by only a sheer curtain ( not a problem for us, but might be uncomfortable for some). The room is more cluttered than decorated with no dresser or closet space. We were directed by sticky note to write down our choice for breakfast time.
Later Brie arrived as owner Maria was away. Her welcome was lukewarm Loud radio was turned on and left playing when Brie left fit the night. We did not feel comfortable and this was the only place in 17 days in Alaska were I felt a need to lock the door.
Breakfast all 3 days was very basic, eggs,sausage and pancakes. Chelsea was our hostess the next 2 days and was quite friendly and enthusiastic.
Overall I feel the website and video misrepresented the experience. Perhaps if Maria had been there it would have been different

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawaiiAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed at the Majectic View B&B our last full night in Alaska. Maria is a wonderful hostess and the view from our room was more than majestic! I took TONS of pictures from our room, and just sat outside and relaxed in the beauty. Our room was fantastic, and the breakfast was just as awesome as the view. Maria helped my wife and I with some very important information (we DID meet Andy's mom and step-dad Maria, they even let us take pictures with them!). We went out on the Spit, did alot (too much really) of shopping, and ate at Land's End. If you come to Homer, this is a definite must-stay becasue of the facility, the breakfast and the view. Thanks for a wonderful stay Maria!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed at Marias place the fourth day of our trip had not seen a moose as of yet, until we looked up on the hill directly behind our cottage, right there, eating away was a bull moose.
It was so awesome, it was far enough away to be safe, yet close enough to see and enjoy. Then we walked into our room, wow, what a view, amazing, the cottage was so cute, clean and quiet

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed at Maria's Majestic View for 3 nights as we explored Homer and the local area. I especially enjoyed being able to sit on the bed, read and relax, and look at the gorgeous view of the mountains and the spit. Even if it is cloudy, you will still have a view. It was a perfect first stop in Alaska.

The breakfast food (and occasional snacks) are so delicous. The other guests were very interesting and we had some great discussions as we lingered over breakfast.

Maria is so warm and welcome - I highly recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: The Blueberry and Rose rooms have great views. The Cottonwood room does not have a view, but the li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The place is amazing, view is the best and Maria is great, makes you feel right at home. We stayed in the cabin and the view from our balcony was amazing. Breakfast is probably the best i ever had (especially the Alaskan Pancake)
Worth the drive up hill :-)

stayed at June 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrDarom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
2.7 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
2.5 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
151 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
2.8 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1660 Race Rd, Homer, AK 99603-9393
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range: £116 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing