We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 40 Homer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just driving up the mountainside to this B&B is a joy. Scenery to die for. Use the directions that Maria, the proprietor, provides (not GPS) to find it. Everything you read on the Internet about this B&B is true. My husband and I ended up staying 3 nights in one of the rooms that face the mountains/water view. Couldn’t have asked for a nicer base as we explored Homer. From the minute we walked into this B&B and were greeted by Maria, we felt at home. She truly opens up her place to strangers and makes them feel at home and at ease within minutes. She is also highly regarded for her breakfasts – and yes, that’s the truth. One morning we were treated to her signature berry tart, kind of a large German pancake loaded with fresh berries. Mountain View is a great retreat to unwind in after a day bear watching, fishing or just walking around Homer going from art gallery to art gallery. A great choice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiaPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

After some research I had chosen Majestic View B&B for our lodging overnight in Homer. We were two couples traveling together and Maria offered us the two units in the cabin along side the house. Upon opening the door to our unit A, we were welcomed in as if it was home. Clean, fresh,stocked with those items we need to make our stay more comfortable. The view from the deck of the mountains and glaciers across the bay was so beautiful as was the split as we looked down on Homer. Maria's breakfast was more than we ever expected. French toast, bacon, rhubarb sauce, pancakes, smoked salmon, fruit, drinks and a interesting exchange of information with each other. We could feel Maria's kindness, see her pride, and felt very blessed to receive much more than we EXPECTED. While you are in Homer, the Majestic View is a great place to stay. P.S. ask Maria about the Norman Lowell art gallery out side of Homer.

Room Tip: The cabin units have decks and large sliding patio doors facing towards the mountains, glaciers, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rspete21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Maria was not there so we didn't get to meet her but she seemed really sweet on the phone. We paid for 2 nights but only stayed 1. We were not impressed with Homer or the Majestic View B&B. Virginia, the girl she left in charge of her B&B while we were there, was so sweet. She fixed a wonderful breakfast & answered any questions we may have had. Our beds had clean linens & we had clean towels but the B&B was not very clean. I think, from a note I read on the back of our bedroom door, that it had been an assisted living facility at one time. There were stains all over the carpets covered by a huge amount of throw rugs. It smelled like there was a dog in the house though we never seen one...there was, however, dog food scattered on the floor. It was not at all like the online website portrays. The view deserves a 5 star, though, because it was spectacular!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phyllis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Yes, a repeat customer! Couldn't wait to pay Maria a visit again. I knew what to expect, and once again she met and exceeded my expectations. Our rooms located on the second and third floor were clean, inviting and full of amenities, that you may have forgotten....
My sister-in-law and 2 sisters, throughly enjoyed our 3 day stay with Maria. Her breakfast meals were very filling, her Alaskan pancake was the envy of every cook at the table! With many oooohs and awwwws, and how did you make this? I suggest buying her cookbook, just as I did! It is "chocked" full of such recipes. She always had something cooking, from chocolate chip cookies, to salmon in the smoker.
Her place is a must stay in Homer!

Room Tip: stay in the rooms with windows facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArkansasSnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Maria made us feel welcome. We were travelling with another couple and we got a two room two bath suite on the main floor. We always felt welcome to spread out on the deck or make a cup of coffee in the kitchen and the baths had all the odds and ends you might need and the beds were comfy. Maria and her helper were full of information about the area. Breakfast was plentiful and just wonderful. They have the best fresh eggs! And the view was truly Majestic!
ps get the directions before you go, the road name skips around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urbanrenewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed two nights at the Majestic View B&B in Homer. The house is up on the mountainside so provides a beautiful view of the Homer Spit and the mountains and glaciers across the inlet. We were travelling with one other couple so booked the main floor bedrooms (Blueberry & Cottonwood) which were very comfortable, and private for two couples travelling together. One room had a great view, the other not so much, but we spent a fair amount of time in the social area of the house which had an even better view and was very pleasant. One day we were able to watch 2 eagles in the trees in the back yard. Maria prepares an excellent gourmet type breakfast and you definitely won’t go away hungry. We stayed at the Majestic View 6 years ago and when revisiting Homer in 2013 we booked again. A very nice stay one more time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceL1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Even I knew the view would be great, it still surprised me. We stayed in the Blueberry room, with is facing the glacier and Homer spit all the time. I got to take some dusk pictures right in bed. Maria was full of charm that make people feel like at home. She knows the town very well, a good information source if we have questions. Then the breakfast is too generous, and Maria kept them coming. I can easily skip lunch! Glad I pick this place to stay 3 nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Homer hotels
2.7 mi away
Driftwood Inn & Homer Seaside Lodges
2.5 mi away
Homer Inn & Spa
Homer Inn & Spa
#3 of 14 in Homer
152 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ocean House Inn Hotel and Condos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Land's End Resort
Land's End Resort
#2 of 14 in Homer
890 reviews
0.5 mi away
Halcyon Heights B&B / Inn
2.8 mi away
Ocean Shores
Ocean Shores
#4 of 14 in Homer
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1660 Race Rd, Homer, AK 99603-9393
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Homer
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Homer
Price Range: £117 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria's Majestic View Bed & Breakfast Homer, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing